PDA

View Full Version : Where am I at? hp/tq



gmx
01-16-2010, 05:51 PM
I did some pulls with a Nissan 180SX.
SR20DET with a T25 @ 11psi, FMIC, full TBE, stock ECU
145rwkw (200rwhp) on a dyno (Other 1JZs were running on this dyno on the same day and getting quite low figures in their opinion..)
1220kg (2690lbs) curb weight


My mods in sig, stock SMIC. Temps were 70F out.
I'm 1402kg (3084lbs) - on weigh bridge no driver


from a 5 mph pull in 1st, I put about a carlength on him till I let off at the top of 3rd (93-94mph~).
We went 3 times [from a roll] and all were the same. I mis-shifted 2nd in the last & final run from 15mph. I only had my nose in front at the top of 1st.

We tried to eliminate traction issues on our runs. 5mph was no problem. The road surface is abrasive and quite grippy. We both had trouble from a dig initially.. it was THAT grippy.

Question is, where would this put me in power/tq

dangerous_dave
01-16-2010, 06:07 PM
Who knows, get dynoed you cheap bastard.

blmlozz
01-16-2010, 06:10 PM
I would say faster than a stock A4.

Lou_B5
01-16-2010, 06:30 PM
GT71r???

blmlozz
01-16-2010, 06:31 PM
GT71r???

GTi71TypeR

Seerlah
01-16-2010, 06:31 PM
Looking at your sig, get a good intercooler, up the boost, and hit the dyno up. Just be sure to run safe boost if you have not done rods yet.

Edit: You guys know he meant GT2871R. But yeah, a GT71R would mean the turbo is a GT71xx. OP, is it an eliminator or a full frame? Either way, you can get anywhere from 200-300whp, depending.

Stumanbmx
01-16-2010, 06:42 PM
Could be a 30r [:p]

soundspeedstyle
01-16-2010, 07:48 PM
If it was a 30r he shoulda pulled more

Seerlah
01-16-2010, 08:13 PM
A GT30xxR runs on 630cc injectors, and he is on 415cc injectors. And the GT30R is a GT3076R, not a GT3071R.

gmx
01-16-2010, 08:50 PM
GT71R - I thought this was a well known nomenclature for 2871R Eliminator.

Dyno time is $130USD, so no!
Besides they're hub style
I go to a dyno day once a year and it's mid year and usually a full day waste of time (usually 30-40 VAG cars).

Well since he put down 200rwhp on THAT dyno. I know I'm higher awhp on THAT dyno.
By how much I don't know. Where are the mathematicians...
Carlength by 94mph.
The gear ratios are similar in both cars, maybe a tad longer in the S13.

The same people that say dynos are useless for measuring whp, now recommend to go get dyno'd. Funny.

andyrew
01-16-2010, 09:24 PM
13psi on that turbo? I'd say probably 250-275hp.

But your keeping up with the nissan makes it seem like 275-300hp.


ASSUMING that the nissan was actually making 200whp while you were racing him.


Bump up your boost to 17lbs or more and see what your car REALLY has..

gmx
01-16-2010, 10:04 PM
Yea 13 psi, N75 connected = overboost. Tune is written for a 10lbs WG spring.

EBC is on the way with lightweight rear rotors [:D]

Seerlah
01-16-2010, 10:47 PM
^It is written for 21psi in conjunction with the n75 and the MAP sensor will tell you if you overboost (which people usually don't even experience unless they boost over 17psi). I think you may have a different issue altogether. The n75 will act as a boost controller and you can usually boost to double the spring rate of the wastegate. So, if it's a .7bar spring (if that's what it is) then you should be able to boost 20psi via boost controller.

What happens when you overboost? Partial throttle cut? With 13psi and no boost controller, what happens when you reach 13psi? The tune is supposed to be written for 21psi.

PoormansA4
01-16-2010, 11:03 PM
http://www.ecodetuning.com/shop/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=553


they call it a gt71r as well.

gmx
01-16-2010, 11:13 PM
^It is written for 21psi in conjunction with the n75 and the MAP sensor will tell you if you overboost (which people usually don't even experience unless they boost over 17psi). I think you may have a different issue altogether. The n75 will act as a boost controller and you can usually boost to double the spring rate of the wastegate. So, if it's a .7bar spring (if that's what it is) then you should be able to boost 20psi via boost controller.

What happens when you overboost? Partial throttle cut? With 13psi and no boost controller, what happens when you reach 13psi? The tune is supposed to be written for 21psi.

I've already spoken to unitronic about this and discovered the issue.

Our cars are different to yours. We never got DBW Quattro B5 1.8Ts.
We got a AJL 558DA box ECU, my car is DBC.. I don't get throttle cut.
We don't have smog /SAI crap, we don't have secondary O2 sensors.

The problem is the 14.7 spring in the eliminator.
With the N75 connected I get 25-26 psi (I let off way before redline). It ramps up super fast after hitting 20.
For the time being I've left it electronically unplugged until I get my EBC.

it runs off the MAF, so even though the tune is written for 21psi, technically it's within the scope and fine as advised by unitronic themselves and other well known 1.8T DBC people :)
Theoritically I should be hitting 1 bar /14-15psi. I guess the wastegate has been slightly adjusted like that and 13 is the result as measured on two gauges (VDO & VEI dual)

The reason I mentioned AEB in my sig, is because mechanically the head/bottom end/intake mani are most similar (infact the same) as the AEB. A few accessories and ECU is slightly different.
When I mention AJL to countries outside of the UK/AU, they flip out and get confused.

Seerlah
01-16-2010, 11:15 PM
Oh! And I calculated wrong with the .7bar. I was thinking 10psi, for some odd reason. At least now I know the eliminators have a 1bar spring in the wastegate (I thought that's what it was).

Mawhitey
01-17-2010, 08:22 AM
Yeah we have the same ECUs in our cars mate and tuning sucks. When i stick my outlaw in i am gonna use a DBC MK4 Golf/Rabbit ECU as they can be bench flashed at least

gmx
01-18-2010, 02:34 AM
Yeah we have the same ECUs in our cars mate and tuning sucks. When i stick my outlaw in i am gonna use a DBC MK4 Golf/Rabbit ECU as they can be bench flashed at least

Yup, I was following your posts on Audi-Sport about that.
keep us updated :)
I may consider it too. Not only does tuning sucks. VAGCOM support for it sucks. I can't rad CFs, I can't do anything really. I've got a WB hooked up and run some BTDC logs and they look ok. (But I don't know what the unitronic file runs?? So i'm a bit of a loss here)

Also, keep us updated about B6 uprights? I desperately want to save some weight over the front end.