PDA

View Full Version : Changed ECT and still have erratic gauge reading

intactradio
01-15-2010, 07:11 AM
Hi - I recently bought a 99.5 A4 with a coolant temp gauge which would rarely display any temperature. I did some reading and all signs pointed to the ECT sensor which I changed this morning. Since changing, I'm getting more activity on the gauge, but it's still not warming up to 90 degrees and it seems to cool down pretty quickly while driving. I'm trying to figure out what to check next. Should I look into changing the thermostat or could it be that my new sensor is faulty? I'm a bit of a novice at this sort of thing, but I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty.

Thanks for any help and advice!

suju82
01-15-2010, 07:22 AM
I'm having same problems. I've replaced my CTS as well and it takes forever to get to 90 and at other times it's quicker but not as quick as it should be so i'm replacing the thermostat+coolant today. When was yours last replaced? I will let you know how it goes.

Poopie
01-15-2010, 08:42 AM
yes replace the thermostat and coolant. Sucks to do on an AEB. Might as well do a whole timing belt kit while you are in there.

hiwords1
01-15-2010, 10:44 AM
definitely the thermostat

suju82
01-15-2010, 12:36 PM
I just did mine and all is back to normal so i suggest you replace yours as well since you've already done the CTS, it's most likely the thermostat.

intactradio
01-15-2010, 03:15 PM
Thanks everyone. I just bought the car, so I've no idea when the coolant was last changed. I'll buy a thermostat and coolant tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

intactradio
01-15-2010, 03:17 PM
yes replace the thermostat and coolant. Sucks to do on an AEB. Might as well do a whole timing belt kit while you are in there.

Is the timing belt something which I can do myself? I don't know when it was last changed, so I was going to take it in somewhere to get it done, but if it's a viable project then perhaps I can give it a shot...

suju82
01-15-2010, 04:53 PM