PDA

View Full Version : Question on Boost with GIAC Chip



JoBuNY
11-30-2009, 01:34 PM
I did a search and I couldn't find anything like what I have going on.

So I got a GIAC flashed ECU from the classifieds and installed it around May or June. I knew at first the ECU had to learn everything so the car wouldn't boost as normal so I just let it go. Then for a while I had some things to fix on the car so I didn't try to drive it hard. But now I would like to fix my boost issue.

In first gear if I get close to redline the highest boost I get is maybe 10
In second gear highest I get is 10
In third gear I can spike to 12/13 but then it settles down to 10
In fourth & fifth gear I can spike at like 18 and then it settles down to 15/16

I have new plugs, gapped at .28 as well as a Bailey DV installed. Just wondering if anybody has any insite as to what my problem may be? From the reading I have done during my searches it appears most people site around 16 PSI in every gear so I'm guessing I have a problem some where.

Thanks for any suggestions

lawnferie
11-30-2009, 01:39 PM
are you stock ko3?

because it can make a difference if you're ko4 or pc16ko4 blah blah...

JoBuNY
11-30-2009, 01:41 PM
Yes sorry about that. Car is stock except for exhaust, chip & DV.

spaded
11-30-2009, 03:18 PM
Sounds normal. Ko3 cant flow that volume at high RPMs.

lawnferie
11-30-2009, 03:22 PM
In first gear if I get close to redline the highest boost I get is maybe 10
In second gear highest I get is 10
In third gear I can spike to 12/13 but then it settles down to 10
In fourth & fifth gear I can spike at like 18 and then it settles down to 15/16


i had GIAC on my first audi (and ko4 now GIAC) and these numbers look about right.
1st and 2nd you wont get more then 10, so thats fine, but by 3rd i believe it should get up there where 4th and 5th gears are. i wouldn't be too worried. you're on stock ko3 so can't expect much more unless you get different tune.
having any other issues with the car?

biketsai
11-30-2009, 03:44 PM
The main thing is that after 5k rpm, which is far from redline, your K03 cannot move enough air to make more power

lawnferie
11-30-2009, 04:00 PM
The main thing is that after 5k rpm, which is far from redline, your K03 cannot move enough air to make more power

agreed. +1

JEmm
11-30-2009, 05:49 PM
I don't know about the other people saying that's normal but I make much more boost than that on basically the same set up. Have GIAC flash, forge 007, evoms intake and borla exhaust.
1st - basically the same
2nd - peak ~15 hold ~10
3rd - peak ~20 hold ~16
4/5th - peak ~25 (hit that yesterday, was pretty amazed) hold ~18

Seerlah
11-30-2009, 05:58 PM
Give it more throttle[drive]

lawnferie
11-30-2009, 08:30 PM
I don't know about the other people saying that's normal but I make much more boost than that on basically the same set up. Have GIAC flash, forge 007, evoms intake and borla exhaust.
1st - basically the same
2nd - peak ~15 hold ~10
3rd - peak ~20 hold ~16
4/5th - peak ~25 (hit that yesterday, was pretty amazed) hold ~18

you have a 2000 which has a different file i believe. pre-2000 and that file there's no way you'll get into 20's unless you have unitronics tune or boost controller

JoBuNY
12-01-2009, 05:20 AM
thanks for the info guys - I thought I was having some type of boost issue.

Good to hear it's actually just running the way it should be

JEmm
12-01-2009, 07:39 AM
you have a 2000 which has a different file i believe. pre-2000 and that file there's no way you'll get into 20's unless you have unitronics tune or boost controller

O ok. Good to know. I was amazed when I hit (and held for a little while) 25 psi the other day.

spaded
12-01-2009, 09:05 AM
O ok. Good to know. I was amazed when I hit (and held for a little while) 25 psi the other day.

IIRC the GIAC tune is "aggressive" but 25 psi on a Ko3 may kill that turbo a lot faster than you want.

JEmm
12-01-2009, 09:20 AM
IIRC the GIAC tune is "aggressive" but 25 psi on a Ko3 may kill that turbo a lot faster than you want.

I figured, but I've hit that like twice and since I'm at school I don't drive it too often right now so I'm not TOO worried about it. And I plan on going bigger as soon as funds allow [up]

maxspeed
12-01-2009, 09:21 AM
i was hitting 16psi in first gear, 18psi in second and 21 - 23 in all the other gears when i was running a k03

lawnferie
12-01-2009, 01:43 PM
i was hitting 16psi in first gear, 18psi in second and 21 - 23 in all the other gears when i was running a k03

2000 again completely diff file.
http://giacusa.com/software.php?make=audi&modelid=2