PDA

View Full Version : after fueling up... gas smell?

'98-B5
11-24-2009, 08:18 AM
i don't know if this issue of mine is normal or abnormal.. but whenever i fuel up my car.. and i garage it.. the next time i go into my garage--the air is filled with this gas smell. there's no gas smell inside of my car, but my garage just reeks of this gasoline... does anyone else have this problem?

mrk3nn3dy
11-24-2009, 08:49 AM
I have that problem as well, I am no expert but I am going to change my fuel filter as well as take a peek at my fuel pump gasket. There is a diy somewhere out there for the fuel filter. Good luck!

clconversion
11-24-2009, 08:55 AM
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/eng.html

Audiworld the king of DIY haha but make sure when replacing this to get the banjo bolts as well for the cost of them not worth doing the job twice we have seen them get pretty corroded

'98-B5
11-24-2009, 12:10 PM
is it going to be a big problem if i don't treat it anytime soon?

calvin1.8t
11-24-2009, 04:03 PM
fuel leak possibly? check the ground for gas marks.

mholme
11-24-2009, 04:09 PM
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/eng81.shtml

'98-B5
11-24-2009, 05:19 PM
fuel leak possibly? check the ground for gas marks.

checked.. don't see any liquid spills on the floor.

http://www.audiworld.com/tech/eng81.shtml

when it says to start the car and let it run out of gas.. does it mean the gas flowing? or... the tank? haha.

mholme
11-24-2009, 05:38 PM
when it says to start the car and let it run out of gas.. does it mean the gas flowing? or... the tank? haha.

I think the general idea is to relieve some fuel pressure, but don't count on not taking a shot in the face anyway.

'98-B5
11-24-2009, 06:20 PM
I think the general idea is to relieve some fuel pressure, but don't count on not taking a shot in the face anyway.

i guess i'll try this out when i'm almost near empty.

dangerous_dave
11-24-2009, 06:57 PM
i guess i'll try this out when i'm almost near empty.