PDA

View Full Version : T3/t4 Turbo For A4's????



BoostinA4
01-08-2005, 07:06 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7945411294&category=33742

how well will this work, if it will work....

what kind of software would be needed to get the maximum power out of this turbo
???

94jedi
01-08-2005, 08:34 PM
Looks like a cool deal but that manifold looks iffy. It's going to have to be custom software I'd assume. Lots of dyno time, and lot's of $$$. Let me know how it works! maybe I'll follow your lead!

OutkastSL
01-08-2005, 09:01 PM
that manifold does look sweet but what type of metal are they using. that thing might crack. also the wastegate is the cheap version of a tial wastegate. 94jedi is right on the custom program. even better run a standalone engine management for that. And DAMN .70 AR trim? that's gonna have a f*cked up turbo lag, can we say full boost at 6000rpms jk, but it'll be bad. if i went t3/t4 on an a4 i wouldn't go with that turbo, it'll be a .50 trim and 60 ar wheel ball bearing of course.

audlman
01-08-2005, 09:20 PM
looks like an interesting setup, id like to see it on a car.

audlman
01-08-2005, 09:28 PM
i do not know much about aftermarket turbos... would this work on our cars? http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=33742&item=7946021714&rd=1

OutkastSL
01-08-2005, 09:32 PM
audlman...that t3 turbo would be better than that t3/t4 in my opinion. it'll work but you'll need the atp t3 turbo manifold and then everything associated to the turbo will need to be custom. i think the t3 is slightly smaller than the gt28rs and t28 turbos available for our cars. i'd rather get one of those.

aaafour
01-08-2005, 10:14 PM
It looks really nice, but always be wary of cheap ebay items. $900 for an entire kit, including the manifold, etc. when a simple K04 kit sans manifold is 1700..? Also, notice his feedback...6 negative in the last month...

Let us know how it works if you buy it though.

audlman
01-08-2005, 10:39 PM
Originally posted by OutkastSL
audlman...that t3 turbo would be better than that t3/t4 in my opinion. it'll work but you'll need the atp t3 turbo manifold and then everything associated to the turbo will need to be custom. i think the t3 is slightly smaller than the gt28rs and t28 turbos available for our cars. i'd rather get one of those.
yea sounds better...

.48 COMPRESSOR WHEEL TRIM

.42 A/R COMPRESSOR

.50 A/R TURBINE


and that will work if i get the atp manifold and stuff? im guessing a software upgrade from my pchip would be needed too.

AB18
01-08-2005, 10:42 PM
If you want a bigger turbo then get one of the t-28 serios, something that has software. It will be much more reliable.

Quattrocket
01-08-2005, 11:53 PM
why does he list a new BOV??? our cars have DV's. the pic also has a BOV in it so he didnt just mess up the words. also i checked out xs-power.com and there was no listing there for Audis not even for VWs. sound kinda weird to me...

A4Jon1.8t
01-09-2005, 10:48 AM
One of our guys in Jaxdubs has a T3/T4 on his GTI. Last time he dyno'ed he put exactly 300whp at 19psi running REVO big turbo software. Yes, it is an expensive setup but it has potential to make lots of power.

EVIL-AUDI
01-09-2005, 12:37 PM
To make that work it's going to cost you more than you think. Not worth it IMO especially the fact that you will need software. There is a reason why you don't see these setups on our cars.

A4Jon1.8t
01-09-2005, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by EVIL-AUDI
To make that work it's going to cost you more than you think. Not worth it IMO especially the fact that you will need software. There is a reason why you don't see these setups on our cars.

Did you read what I just posted above you? There is software for the T3/T4 for our cars made by REVO.

HotSauce
01-10-2005, 04:28 AM
Mayble it's just me, but I wouldn't want to be the first to try something from this scrub. Seems to me, this kit wouldn't work well with the A4.

offroader1006
01-10-2005, 06:39 AM
id like to try it out, seems cheaper than the KO4, but who knows could end up costing more and doing less powerwise

EVIL-AUDI
01-10-2005, 10:11 AM
Originally posted by A4Jon1.8t
Did you read what I just posted above you? There is software for the T3/T4 for our cars made by REVO.

Really? hmm, funny how when I contacted REVO they said themselves that they only have it in Beta testing right now and have nothing for final release for the B5 platform cars. They also said they have no idea if it would be released at all. They said they do have VW cars running software, but not ours as of yet. So yeah I read what you wrote, I simply had my own information from REVO.