PDA

View Full Version : Tips for timing belt change

Quattrocket
01-07-2005, 03:19 PM
Im about to tackle my timing belt soon, does anybody have any tips for me? things to watch out for do's and donts, etc. this is my first time doing a TB myself. Also, why is it a belt and not a chain??? wut up wit dat!

timdtracey
01-07-2005, 03:56 PM
Best Tip: Get the ultimate timing kit from ECS and a factory water pump gasket. The gasket supplied with the replacement pump is total junk. The factory gasket is aluminum with a silicone bonded to the outer edge to seal. This helps the gasket keep it's shape when tightening WP bolts. The aftermarket gasket is some flimsy rubber thing and no matter how careful you are to evenly torque the pump, it still ends up squirting out the sides of the pump flange.

Second best tip: Follow the write-up on AW and you will have no problems.

Also, get G12 coolant from dealer and mix with distilled water. You will only need one gallon if you mix 50:50 with water. Don't even think about reusing coolant!

The trickiest part of this job is installing the new thermostat and gasket. If you are patient it will work out fine. I used an extremely thin layer of silicone to hold the gasket while installing and it went much easier.

I also did an APR snub when I did the TB. It is the best time to do it and it makes a world of difference when it comes to drivability. Shifting action is greatly improved and the on/off throttle surge is all but eliminated.

As for the chain versus belt debate: The reason most manufacturers use a belt is to reduce noise. If our cars had chains they'd sound as if they had roots blowers on them. The other, maybe even more important reason, is cost. Another benefit of the belt is that it is lighter weight and thus robs less engine power to rotate equaling more power to the wheels!