PDA

View Full Version : FAST ANSWER: What type of battery does A4 remote take?



Fartsniffer
01-03-2005, 06:21 PM
I just bought a used 1999 A4 and the remote has no batteries inside. I'm trying to replace them tonight at Radio Shack or something but nobody knows what kind the remote takes. thanks

Fartsniffer
01-03-2005, 08:31 PM
bump

Brrman
01-03-2005, 08:54 PM
You'll need two 3 volt batteries
I found mine at Radio Shack.

Fartsniffer
01-03-2005, 09:00 PM
any idea what the battery type is?

Daft
01-03-2005, 09:29 PM
I believe it's a CR2016.

AKIDD'SA4
01-04-2005, 09:46 AM
I think its a 3Volt CR1620

AKIDD'SA4
01-04-2005, 09:57 AM
or he could just right down the number from my last post.....just changed mined two days ago...

Zodiak
01-04-2005, 10:00 AM
stop using sense and reason, both of you.

oobnuker
01-04-2005, 10:07 AM
It's 1620 I just did this. 2016 is the larger size I believe. 1620 is correct. Trust me.

Oh - at least one my 98.5 3 button switchblade remote.

AKIDD'SA4
01-04-2005, 10:13 AM
Yeah, I changed mine ...in hopes of it extending the distance at which my keyless entry / alarm would work..thinking that they were going bad.....and I am not impressed with the range.... as well I learned that pressing the button too many times while out of range can cause it not to unlock/lock properly......it then must be reset....

F16HTON
01-04-2005, 10:48 AM
If you put it against your chin while pressing it, the range gets extended greatly.

Fartsniffer
01-04-2005, 11:20 AM
damn.. I tried a pair of 1620's last night and nothing happened.

I'm going to Audi today though, hopefully they'll have the right ones.

jefferson88
01-04-2005, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by b6quattro
If you put it against your chin while pressing it, the range gets extended greatly.


so true.... been doing that for years.

drlandry00
01-04-2005, 12:00 PM
haha the chin method. CLEVER GIRL. Hey the 1620's are the right battery, you have the start your car then turn it off. atleast that worked for me. the remote didnt work right when i put the batteries in, but after i drove it for a few minutes and got out, it worked again!!!! Giddy up.

DaveL.

Zodiak
01-04-2005, 12:24 PM
Originally posted by Fartsniffer
damn.. I tried a pair of 1620's last night and nothing happened.

I'm going to Audi today though, hopefully they'll have the right ones.
you reset it properly right?

AKIDD'SA4
01-04-2005, 12:54 PM
FARTSNIFFER, you can reset it by using the manual unlock button on the drivers door....then it should work.

Also make sure the + side of the battery is facing down....

Fartsniffer
01-04-2005, 01:50 PM
OK- went to Audi and bought the right batteries. Everything work fine. yeehaw.

Hassmeister
01-04-2005, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by b6quattro
If you put it against your chin while pressing it, the range gets extended greatly.
And open your mouth too... for some weird reason it even goes farther.