PDA

View Full Version : Navi head unit/ amp and sub question



bode
10-27-2009, 12:14 AM
I just instaled the avic-u310bt from pioneer. Its great! I got everything to work but the sub/amp. all the wires have been ran. the remote and power down the right, gps and rca on the left. I had to tap in power from the steering column as well for the HU. first off, when I turn the headlights on, I can hear the humming of the alternator im guessing? anyhow, its annoying and I dont know where to start. To get rid of it. (this is without the amp/sub plugged in)

second, when I plug the amp/sub up, the rear speakers get a mad crazy feedback noise, I've never had this stuff happen before. Also the HU has two outputs on the back one is for left and right front, the other is for rear right/left AND sub out...I put a Y splitter there for both, at least thats what i was told and thats how i wired it..

One last thing..when I turn the car off/on the speakers pop really loud even with the volume at zero. with and without the sub/amp connected.

FINAL question...where is the radio anntenna? does it come out by the fuse box on the drivers side by chance? I saw a thick black wire cut and taped off right there and my radio doesn't work at all, even with stock HU. I figured this could be it? (i just bought this car 2 weeks ago, comming from an E36 bmw)

suggestions?

htfan
10-27-2009, 09:45 AM
I want to make sure I understand your situation.... so, you chose not to use an aftermarket harness adapter from Connects2 or Metra?

bode
10-27-2009, 05:18 PM
I want to make sure I understand your situation.... so, you chose not to use an aftermarket harness adapter from Connects2 or Metra?

I used the one from Metra. I had the symphony two unit with bose upgrade...the owner before my added some parrot bluetooth thing, so it had an extra harness...took that out, plugged up the metra stuff...no power, nothing turned on. after wondering what I had done wrong I realized there was no red power wire from the car..I went to see a friend at best buy, he said you have to tap a power wire from the steering column..we tested wires, found it, and i tapped it...everything was on and working! so right now everything works except for my aftermarket sub/amp and this annoying whinning, especially when i turn on my headlights. The other problem is I get mega feedback when i plug in the sub, and everytime i turn the car on and off the speakers pop pretty loud.

htfan
10-27-2009, 05:38 PM
I used the one from Metra. I had the symphony two unit with bose upgrade...the owner before my added some parrot bluetooth thing, so it had an extra harness...took that out, plugged up the metra stuff...no power, nothing turned on. after wondering what I had done wrong I realized there was no red power wire from the car..I went to see a friend at best buy, he said you have to tap a power wire from the steering column..we tested wires, found it, and i tapped it...everything was on and working! so right now everything works except for my aftermarket sub/amp and this annoying whinning, especially when i turn on my headlights. The other problem is I get mega feedback when i plug in the sub, and everytime i turn the car on and off the speakers pop pretty loud.

Sounds like whatever you tapped into is causing the issue! Most of us use the wire from the aftermarket HU for the amp switch. In addition, the newer A4s provide the ACC signal (switched 12v) from the CAN-BUS.. so no RED wire on the harness. You need to purchase another adapter (Connects2 or SWI-CAN) to provide the switched RED ACC wire.

bode
10-27-2009, 08:14 PM
hmm, is that going to solve the amp/sub issue as well? I tapped that wire because a guy with an s4 told me to, ha. So there is two harnesses comming from the car, both have something in them already with the aftermarket HU, with yet another harness for power, where is it going to go? im not sure what the CAN-BUS and the SWI-CAN are either..and I just used the blue wire as the remote, which is the same thing as the amp turn on im assuming?

htfan
10-28-2009, 08:26 AM
hmm, is that going to solve the amp/sub issue as well? I tapped that wire because a guy with an s4 told me to, ha. So there is two harnesses comming from the car, both have something in them already with the aftermarket HU, with yet another harness for power, where is it going to go? im not sure what the CAN-BUS and the SWI-CAN are either..and I just used the blue wire as the remote, which is the same thing as the amp turn on im assuming?

If you have a B7 or newer, then you have a CAN-BUS. I'd recommend spending some time getting up to speed on the Connects2 product for your car.

Usually the blue wire is for the antenna booster turn-on and the blue/white wire is for the amp turn-on.

You can also ask Enfig to build you a plug and play harness for clean install. Contact Mike @ Enfig if you want to go this route.

bode
10-31-2009, 11:35 PM
So I fixed the speakers popping, it was the ground behind the head unit. There is still alternator humming, and I am almost positive it is from the power wire behind the steering wheel. So question number one is where else can I tap into power that turns off and on with the car...The other situation is I am only getting 4 volts of power to the amp..I tested the battery, before, and after the fuse, and everything is normal. I just figured it was a bad ground, so I sanded down part of the frame and put a bolt through it nice and tight...still only 4 volts (my friend was testing on the allen bolts that crimp down the power wire on the amp.)

htfan
11-01-2009, 10:09 AM
... So question number one is where else can I tap into power that turns off and on with the car...The other situation is I am only getting 4 volts of power to the amp..I tested the battery, before, and after the fuse, and everything is normal. ...

What year and model do you have?

Your questions should have already been answered in earlier posts (above)

... If you have a B7 (2005.5+) or newer, then the switched 12v for the HU is provided by the CAN-BUS.

You can tap other locations on the vehicle, but it is problematic as you have demonstrated.

bode
11-02-2009, 10:11 AM
sorry I have been running around in circles with this and everybody has been telling me diffrent things.

I have a 2003 a4 quattro. It had some old car phone from the previous owner, that was hacked up and replaced with a parrot bluetooth, which has wires EVERYWHERE (I am removing the carphone and bluetooth). So I have been finding random harnesses and wires all over the place. But there is no power behind the headunit, at least power that is made for the headunit. I was told to tap under the steering wheel.. this works but has feedback. I just need a cleaner power source. Id rather stay away from more harnesses and more money. just a clean power wire that goes on and off with the car, with no alternator noises or anything of the sort.

htfan
11-02-2009, 11:25 AM
sorry I have been running around in circles with this and everybody has been telling me diffrent things.

I have a 2003 a4 quattro. It had some old car phone from the previous owner, that was hacked up and replaced with a parrot bluetooth, which has wires EVERYWHERE (I am removing the carphone and bluetooth). So I have been finding random harnesses and wires all over the place. But there is no power behind the headunit, at least power that is made for the headunit. I was told to tap under the steering wheel.. this works but has feedback. I just need a cleaner power source. Id rather stay away from more harnesses and more money. just a clean power wire that goes on and off with the car, with no alternator noises or anything of the sort.

I thought the B6 provided a switch 12v wire in the HU harness? Oh well! We'll have to ask other B6 owners to chime in...

Sorry to hear the previous owner made a mess of your harness.

htfan
11-02-2009, 12:59 PM
Just found this post in the B6 forum... this should help you - some good info here!

http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=175690

bode
11-02-2009, 07:53 PM
Thanks! that helped with some other problems too, like the auto-dim. Audi's are so confusing to me!...or maybe its just because it is a newer car. As for power, seems like most tie into the ignition, which is where i did it, or the homelink....since the ignition is giving feed back, looks like I will have to try to find the homelink power wire..

+rep for helping me out.

I noticed you lived in OC, I keep trying to find excuses to move that direction! or find a solid job out that way.

htfan
11-04-2009, 09:41 AM
Thanks! that helped with some other problems too, like the auto-dim. Audi's are so confusing to me!...or maybe its just because it is a newer car. As for power, seems like most tie into the ignition, which is where i did it, or the homelink....since the ignition is giving feed back, looks like I will have to try to find the homelink power wire..

+rep for helping me out.

I noticed you lived in OC, I keep trying to find excuses to move that direction! or find a solid job out that way.

Glad the other post helped.

Atlanta is beautiful too! I've spent a lot of time in your town. Many trade shows and conferences. One of the companies I worked for had a training facility there so I would be in Atlanta weeks at a time.

Wait a little to see when the job market picks up in OC... right now we have record unemployment [o_o]