PDA

View Full Version : B6 Symphony II - Where is a good ground?



haroulli
10-18-2009, 03:03 PM
Guys i recently bought an iPod/Aux kit for my Symphony II http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=316241
and I'm getting that electrical whine. I'm pretty sure its the ground as I just used a bolt on the DIN Cage as there isn't anywhere obvious to connect it to the chassis.

Can anybody tell me what they have done or point me in the right direction?

Thanks,

koolade9
10-19-2009, 01:42 PM
Once you have the radio out, there's quite a few open places right behind the radio to ground to. There's also a few bolts under the driver's knee bolster to use, and a few behind the glovebox as well... pick your poison, they're all over!

haroulli
10-31-2009, 07:02 AM
Thanks for the reply, I actually attached it to the back of the stereo too and I'm still getting noise through the chassis.

I think i'm just going to splice into the existing radio harness and ground it that way.

Unless anyone thinks thats a bad idea or has a better idea?

koolade9
11-02-2009, 12:14 PM
if you're only ground is to the radio chassis, you're definitely creating a nasty ground loop. There's a bunch of metal to ground to back in there. Or just use the factory ground (brown)