PDA

View Full Version : Wideband conversion questions??



The*Fall*Guy
10-03-2009, 12:57 PM
im in the marrket for a new b5Q and i want to go wideband this time around for obvious reasons.. Im not finding many desirable 2001's in my project price range so im thinking about just buying an aeb car and converting it.. whats involved?? ive heard conflicting info and need to know for sure.

The*Fall*Guy
10-03-2009, 01:16 PM
no wideband dbw ecu.... im aware that i will need to swap out the tb, and pedal cluster.. however some have said that only part of the engine harness needs to be swappred out as well as the ecu.. others have said everything needs to be swapped.... im trying to figure out what i need to buy, and whats involved so i can get ready

lowandslow4now
10-03-2009, 05:29 PM
What kind of tune are you going to use? I have looked into doing this and IMO its to much work. I would go with the tapp tune for 630's or 1000's depending on what you are going to do. I would stay away from unitronics unless you are already stuck with them. If you do get an AEB and decide to tackle this please do a write up.

The*Fall*Guy
10-03-2009, 05:49 PM
What kind of tune are you going to use? I have looked into doing this and IMO its to much work. I would go with the tapp tune for 630's or 1000's depending on what you are going to do. I would stay away from unitronics unless you are already stuck with them. If you do get an AEB and decide to tackle this please do a write up.

I'm planning on using the Tapp Maestro suite. I will be using it on my 30r Jetta build first..

Then I plan on again buying the Maestro suite for the B5.. My last B5 was an Aeb with a 28rs on GIAC.. This was years ago..

I like the accuracy and tuning potential of the wideband Me7 not to mention the option of going mafless..
I really just want a complete parts list.. Harnesses needed, pedal, tb, ecu, etc..

And if anyone can link me to a thread of someone elses wideband swap it would be great.. Wideband is the only option for me after owning both.. Any help would be greatly appreciated... Thanx for steppin in bro..

maxspeed
10-03-2009, 06:20 PM
too much work? it takes 45 minuets and two wire splices to setup a zeitronix wideband (has a lambda out wire...) as your primary o2 in place of the stock narrowband..

Jake39454
10-03-2009, 06:54 PM
He's talking about converting from ME5 to ME7, not installing a wideband.... I heard the fuse box, dash harness, gas pedal, throttle body, ecu and engine harness will have to be replaced. But I haven't done it myself, so I can't confirm. It looked like WAY too much work so I decided to buy an 01' and part out my 98.5'

Lou_B5
10-04-2009, 01:23 PM
How soon do you want to do this? Before doing a full me7 wideband swap why not hit the pause button and get more realistic timeframe on me5 maestro availability.

The*Fall*Guy
10-06-2009, 06:35 PM
How soon do you want to do this? Before doing a full me7 wideband swap why not hit the pause button and get more realistic timeframe on me5 maestro availability.

im aware that the me5 version of maestro will be available soon.. However. me7 will still be better in every way.

does anyone else want to chime in??

The*Fall*Guy
10-09-2009, 11:52 AM
up... I know that people have done this.

mike-2ptzero
10-09-2009, 01:30 PM
too much work? it takes 45 minuets and two wire splices to setup a zeitronix wideband (has a lambda out wire...) as your primary o2 in place of the stock narrowband..

He wants a setup that allows the ECU to use the wide band 02 during WOT and that is not something that is possible on the narrow band cars. THis is why no one offers mafless tunes for the narrow band cars.

The*Fall*Guy
10-10-2009, 11:51 AM
He wants a setup that allows the ECU to use the wide band 02 during WOT and that is not something that is possible on the narrow band cars. THis is why no one offers mafless tunes for the narrow band cars.
Thanx Mike... Its a better setup all around. Easier to tune, more accurate a/f ratios can be maintained, mafless tunes can be used to further simplify things underhood also eliminating all maf headaches 100%.. When I finally find the right car the engine will be removed to be built, and at that time I will carry out the conversion..

I still need advice from guys who have done it though...

Storx
10-10-2009, 03:07 PM
to do wideband conversion all you have to do is replace wideband ecu/throttlebody to dbw/wideband accessory harness. I was told by someone that already converted an 2000 model that the gauges work fine with an AWP ecu.

The*Fall*Guy
10-10-2009, 07:16 PM
Thanx[up] ive heard that the 2000 model was the easiest to convert

Storx
10-10-2009, 07:41 PM
ya, i been looking out for an Audi A4 myself cause the possibilities for performance is alot greater... wish there was more room in my Audi TT engine bay.. aswell i wish the haldex quattro was more usefull on launching..

mike-2ptzero
10-10-2009, 08:15 PM
ya, i been looking out for an Audi A4 myself cause the possibilities for performance is alot greater... wish there was more room in my Audi TT engine bay.. aswell i wish the haldex quattro was more usefull on launching..

GT30r on a Full-race manifold will fit, the HTA30r might fit and if that fits a full GT35r should fit.

Storx
10-10-2009, 08:23 PM
the gt35r will fit on a Audi TT cause its been done.. but the turbo i want to run is a little larger.. and more benefit to me...
http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs274.snc1/10133_185910032574_564827574_3920886_4127401_n.jpg
http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs254.snc1/10133_185917902574_564827574_3920933_8356253_n.jpg

Storx
10-10-2009, 08:25 PM
I was all the sudden sent to Korea so i not been able to continue messing around with it.. I am going to pull the engine and tranny with the awd diff and see if i can maybe fab it up with the engine out and try putting it back in the car without having to take the turbo off when i get back to the states in April.

The*Fall*Guy
10-11-2009, 12:29 PM
i know for a fact that Arnold at pagparts has made the gt35r and the larger bullseye turbos fit the 225q with his cast, vband, bottom mount mani..

The*Fall*Guy
10-11-2009, 12:31 PM
in fact one of his v-banded 3076r 63ar kits will be finding a home in my Jetta in the near future...

That being said.. Lets get back on topic here guys...

B5 wideband Me7 conversions... whos done em??

Crispy222
11-25-2010, 04:00 AM
I want to DO THIS!!!

black99.5a4
11-25-2010, 04:39 AM
Good luck. If you would search, you would see what is involved.

Its not simple, noway around it being simple. It requires changing all the wiring harnesses in the car, if you want shit to work 100%.

EuroDriven
11-25-2010, 12:12 PM
Good luck. If you would search, you would see what is involved.

Its not simple, noway around it being simple. It requires changing all the wiring harnesses in the car, if you want shit to work 100%.

x2, I asked about it once and thought I was told you need to swap the climate controls as well. Just looking at cost alone of all parts you are better off buying the 2001.