PDA

View Full Version : Holy crap this is irritating!!! Audio specialist help please!



Leeer73
10-03-2009, 12:19 PM
Hey guys, I am having this problem where my amp keeps blowing the amp fuses. They were originally 2x20A and I bumped them up to 2x30A (I know not to smart).

Anyway I can play the amp all day under a moderate load, but once I turn it loud enough to get some serious bass, it cuts both fuses. Here is exactly what I am running:

[headbang] AMP: PHOENIX GOLD OCTANE R5.0:1 [headbang]

http://i392.photobucket.com/albums/pp6/leeer73/amp.jpg

Type
Component

Amplifier Type
Mono Channel

RMS Power at 4 ohms (Watts x Channels)
200 x 1

RMS Power at 2 ohms (Watts x Channels)
400 x 1

Bridged RMS Power
Not Bridgeable

Peak Power Output
500 watts

Frequency Response
20 - 350 Hz

THD at Rated RMS Power
<1 %

Signal to Noise Ratio
90 dB

Built in Crossover
Yes (LP)

Low Pass Crossover
30 - 300 Hz

Low-Pass Slope (dB/octave)
18 dB

18 dB Subsonic Filter
20 - 55 Hz

Bass Boost 0 - 15 dB
Bass Boost Frequency 45 Hz
Min. Impedance Unbridged 2 ohms
Min. Impedance Bridged Not Bridgeable
Speaker Level Inputs No
Preamp Outputs Yes (1 Pair)
Protection Circuitry Advanced overload and thermal
Terminals Silver high-current power and speakers terminals
Fuse Rating 2 x 20 AMP
Fan Cooling No
Width 10.875 In.
Length 12.675 In.
Height 2.25 In.

[headbang] My speakers are: Massive Audio QC 122 [headbang]

http://i392.photobucket.com/albums/pp6/leeer73/speakers.jpg

Details

SKU SKUQC12
Weight 50.00 Pounds
Size 12
Watts 1600
RMS 800
Cone Finger "V" Ultra Light
Voice Coil 3.0" Dual 2 Ohm
Surround 1" Tall Santoprene
Magnet 180oz Flux Ferrite Y40
Terminals Push-In or Bannana Nickel Plated
Basket Aluminum Die-Cast
Tinsel Leads Woven Silver Plated
X-Max 40mm peak to peak
SPL 95.6 dB
Box Size 14"h x 18"d x 20"w
PORT: 12.5" x 2.50" x 13.5"

I am not sure, but I believe I am running them parallel. I am running one set of wires from the bridged terminals into one speaker, then running the set of wires for the second speaker from the first speaker. Should I just not run them bridged like that and run each speaker to the amp?

Any one gots any suggestions for me?

naiku
10-03-2009, 04:11 PM
I think, the way you have it wired is putting a 1ohm load on the amp, hence the blowing fuses. Make sure they are wired like this:
http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/ca/learningcenter/car/subwoofer_wiring/2DVC_2-ohm_mono.jpg

and see if that makes a difference.

The other thing is that maybe that amp is too small for those subs, 800 RMS for both subs, and the max your amp is able to put out is 400 RMS, so each sub is only getting around 200 RMS.

Leeer73
10-03-2009, 05:23 PM
YES! That's it! I went out and re-wired them and NO MORE BLOWN FUSES! Granted, the bass doesn't seem to hit quite as hard but it still slams pretty hard. Thank you!!!!!

naiku
10-03-2009, 05:50 PM
YES! That's it! I went out and re-wired them and NO MORE BLOWN FUSES! Granted, the bass doesn't seem to hit quite as hard but it still slams pretty hard. Thank you!!!!!

Glad to hear that you got it working [:D]

Leeer73
10-03-2009, 08:43 PM
Thanks Naiku, I appreciate the help! BTW, would you mind giving me your opinion on the speakers and amp? I paid about $300 so I'm just trying to find out if I got a descent deal or not.

naiku
10-05-2009, 07:10 AM
Thanks Naiku, I appreciate the help! BTW, would you mind giving me your opinion on the speakers and amp? I paid about $300 so I'm just trying to find out if I got a descent deal or not.

I don't know much about either, but as far as I know the subs are decent, and I know older Phoenix Gold stuff was also good. $300 seems like a good deal, looks like the subs go for $400+ each. If I were you though I would be looking for a considerably more powerful amp, the one you have looks a little underpowered for the subs.

NoTec
10-05-2009, 10:33 AM
I don't know much about either, but as far as I know the subs are decent, and I know older Phoenix Gold stuff was also good. $300 seems like a good deal, looks like the subs go for $400+ each. If I were you though I would be looking for a considerably more powerful amp, the one you have looks a little underpowered for the subs.

Very true. I'd be using a bigger amp to power just 1 of those speakers.
I remember when I was young buck and into this stuff. LOL

Leeer73
10-05-2009, 01:07 PM
Thanks for the opinions guys! I guess I could get alot more out of the speakers with a bigger amp. The problem is that I'd need to get a second amp to drive my mids/highs if I got a bigger one for the bass. Right now the set-up with the subs off of this amp and the mids/highs off of the deck sound okay. When I get some money to play with, I figure out a better set-up!