PDA

View Full Version : Tips? About to replace bose head unit with after market



zeemonee
10-02-2009, 02:15 PM
About to replace stock bose head unit with an Apline CDA-105. Adding the Alpine bluetooth 400 adapter. I got it all from Crutchfield, so have the brackets and wiring harness they provided. I'm assuming this should be pretty straight forward, but wanted check and see if there was anything I should be aware of. So far I've seen the following things:

1. Disconnect the negative cable on the battery before starting.
2. Possibly have to clean the throttle boddies with carb cleaner when done, due to disconnecting the battery.
3. Anything else???

Something I noticed was that I have a microphone grill in the front-left drivers side piller. Looks stock, but I haven't been able to find anything about it in the manual that I have. I was hoping to use that if there was a mic already in there for the bluetooth adapter. Any recomendations on placement of the bluetooth adapter and microphone that came with it?

Thanks guys [evilsmile]

zeemonee
10-03-2009, 12:06 PM
The wiring harness that I received didn't really work with the audi bose connection. It fit, but it was like a double din harness (not sure if that's what you call it), but the stock connector fit in the bottom and the harness had a top and bottom to it. Still working on it.. .

zeemonee
10-04-2009, 09:44 AM
Got it installed. Needed 2 x RCA noise filter adapters.

Alpine CDA-105
Alpine KCE-400BT (bluetooth adapter)

Before Pic:
http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/2446/stockstereo.gif (http://img156.imageshack.us/i/stockstereo.gif/)

After Pic (sorry a bit blurry):
http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/5131/stereoalpine.gif (http://img169.imageshack.us/i/stereoalpine.gif/)

Still waiting on my itouch car mount, then it will be set. [drive]

DenisA91
12-18-2009, 10:00 AM
Hi, I have a 1998 Audi A4. It has the Bose Concert sound system. I want to upgrade my stereo with CDA-105. I took a look at the back of both units and I do not think the Audi/Bose connector will fit the Alpine connector. Do I need some sort of adapters? Also, will I still be able to use my 6cd changer in the trunk? Last, I couldn't help but notice that your left buttons on CDA-105 are red instead of blue. Is there an option to change the button lightning? It looks exactly what I am trying to go for!

Thanks

8520
12-18-2009, 01:16 PM
Hi, I have a 1998 Audi A4. It has the Bose Concert sound system. I want to upgrade my stereo with CDA-105. I took a look at the back of both units and I do not think the Audi/Bose connector will fit the Alpine connector. Do I need some sort of adapters? Also, will I still be able to use my 6cd changer in the trunk? Last, I couldn't help but notice that your left buttons on CDA-105 are red instead of blue. Is there an option to change the button lightning? It looks exactly what I am trying to go for!

Thanks

Yes, you need a metra 70-1787 or the equivalent.

You will lose your changer.

Most alpine hu's give you the option of a few colors.

DenisA91
12-18-2009, 03:02 PM
Thanks so much for a quick reply! This might be a little off topic, but will I need to rewire the whole car if I want to change the stock Audi amp?

Thanks

8520
12-18-2009, 11:33 PM
Thanks so much for a quick reply! This might be a little off topic, but will I need to rewire the whole car if I want to change the stock Audi amp?

Thanks

Technically, no, but it is generally not a good idea to add an aftermarket amp to stock speakers.

diagnosticator
12-27-2009, 10:57 AM
Thanks so much for a quick reply! This might be a little off topic, but will I need to rewire the whole car if I want to change the stock Audi amp?

Thanks

No, you don't need to rewire the whole car, just the amp wiring.[;)]

You can probably reuse the existing amp wiring depending on compatability with the new amp.

DenisA91
12-29-2009, 12:07 PM
Thanks so much for the info. Ordered CDA-105 and the Metra adapter. I am guessing the installation will be straight-forward.

DenisA91
01-05-2010, 11:41 AM
Hello, I recieved my CDA-105 in the mail today. Waiting for Metra adapter though. CDA-105 is smaller in dimensions than Concert radio. Do I have to buy some sort of dashboard kit? If so, what kind should I get? Would Best Buy have them? Thank you

NastyNice
01-08-2010, 02:23 AM
^^^ yea, u need something like this, its called a metra kit

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Metra+-+Installation+Kit+for+Select+Audi+Vehicles+-+Black/9435845.p?id=1218104799469&skuId=9435845&st=metra kit audi&cp=1&lp=1

DenisA91
01-08-2010, 09:03 AM
Thanks a lot, ordered!

DenisA91
01-14-2010, 05:02 PM
Hi everyone, I am having some problems installing this headunit. I connected the stock wiring from Bose to the Metra adapter. Then I started connecting the color wires to the headunit. Connected everything that needed to be connected and the unit would not turn on. As I understand the yellow wire is the power wire but the unit will not turn on. I thought that the installation would be easy. Going to Best Buy to see if I have defective unit or adapter...[:(]

DenisA91
01-16-2010, 06:50 PM
Disregard my last comment. I did not connect the ground wire properly. Great sound from Alpine. Thanks to everyone for info.

8520
01-18-2010, 06:08 PM
Disregard my last comment. I did not connect the ground wire properly. Great sound from Alpine. Thanks to everyone for info.

No problem.

tbird236
03-06-2010, 06:35 PM
just picked up the same HU but didn't do the install yet because i've been having trouble getting the stock one out (i guess i need the din tool), but i didn't get the wiring harness to connect the stock amp im going to run the speakers off of the headunits 200 watts which i was told was plenty to power the factory non bose speakers. will i have to re-wire the back speakers directly to the head unit or will the speakers still work even though the stock amp is not hooked up?