PDA

View Full Version : S4 Swap into A4

shownomercy
09-24-2009, 07:54 PM
If i could get my hands on an 02 S4 for cheap, how difficult would it be to swap the drivetrain into a 97 A4? Would it matter that it's i bit newer? What about other things like the interior and the brakes? Can anyone point me in the right direction? I am a mechanic but have never messed around much with S4's.

Jason

Richard
09-24-2009, 08:00 PM
I dont have the link off hand, but I know there are a few A4 to S4 builds that have been done in the Build Forum. Check it out.

shownomercy
09-24-2009, 08:07 PM
I will check it out. Another thing i was wondering was, how will change the cars ECM affect inspecting it in NY?

audi til I die
09-24-2009, 08:21 PM
Umm... what's wrong with the S4? [confused]

shownomercy
09-24-2009, 08:26 PM
Umm... what's wrong with the S4? [confused]

He rolled it.

Militant-Grunt
09-24-2009, 09:14 PM
The swap can be done, on a 97 its a bit more difficult but a friend of mine has a 97 A4 that you'd swear is a S4 inside and out.

Is your car a 1.8t or a 2.8?

Everything can be swapped over, its just a matter of how much time you want to spend on it.

shownomercy
09-25-2009, 12:11 PM
The swap can be done, on a 97 its a bit more difficult but a friend of mine has a 97 A4 that you'd swear is a S4 inside and out.

Is your car a 1.8t or a 2.8?

Everything can be swapped over, its just a matter of how much time you want to spend on it.

My car is a 1.8tq, don't worry i'll find the time. I'll stay at the shop till midnight everyday until it's done.

Siena
09-25-2009, 12:50 PM
It doesn't matter how old the recipient car is, or how new the donor car. They're both B5's, it's no different to installing the engine and drivetrain into a gutted S4, especially as you have a complete car.

Just get on with it!

Militant-Grunt
09-25-2009, 03:24 PM
My car is a 1.8tq, don't worry i'll find the time. I'll stay at the shop till midnight everyday until it's done.

For a 1.8t it is more work.