PDA

View Full Version : Kenwood DNX7140 Navigation/DVD Radio installed into B7



advan24r
07-09-2009, 03:26 PM
After debating between either the RNS-E or aftermarket, I finally decided to go with aftermarket just because it can play DVDs, has Parrot Bluetooth and GARMIN navigation. I know the RNS-E can play DVDs but that requires other software and hardware to make it work. I'm very happy with the Kenwood. I also chose it over Pioneer because of the Bluetooth and GPS makers. Thanks to Mike for the connects2 steering wheel module as well. Works great and better than the PAC modules that are out there.

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/752/dsc04208h.jpg
http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/6263/dsc04211.jpg
http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/7572/dsc04212r.jpg
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/5273/dsc04215b.jpg
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/2845/dsc04216r.jpg
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/9564/dsc04217u.jpg

mattiouti
07-09-2009, 05:54 PM
very nice! i am getting that same one for my b6

prisch
07-10-2009, 08:05 AM
Looks great--congrats.

A few questions?

Where did you get the mount surrounding the radio (or does it mount directly into the space left by the Symphony unit)? It looks great.

Did you do the install yourself? If so, how difficult was it---and did you do the backup camera yourself as well?

advan24r
07-10-2009, 09:54 AM
The dash kit is made by Metra. It is their single din dash kit for Audi's but you have to cut the middle bar off in order to fit the double din.

I did not install it myself, a shop here did it. Took them 4.5 hours w/the backup camera.

oc-drop
07-15-2009, 12:10 PM
Lady Gagga on the Ipod ?

juggaKnot
07-15-2009, 01:48 PM
good choice...I love my 7140

Chachie
07-17-2009, 01:26 AM
Hey thank you for posting pics. The unit looks awesome with that carbon fiber trim! I have a 2008 S4 too and hope to have a 7140 installed soon.

Where they able to use your sharkfin for the GPS? Or did they mount a GPS antenna somewhere?

Did you keep your stock speakers?

Thanks!

Justin220
07-17-2009, 01:34 AM
Very nice! But I'm using Eonon HU (http://www.eonon.com/?utm_source=audizine.com&utm_medium=forum&utm_campaign=forum), which is more cost effective [:p]

mikevets68
07-17-2009, 02:29 AM
is your kenwood a 7inch screen?

NetLogic
07-17-2009, 07:16 AM
is your kenwood a 7inch screen?

Double DIN 6.95" Monitor w/ CD, DVD, MP3, WMA, AAC Receiver, Built-in Bluetooth and GPS Navigation System

advan24r
07-17-2009, 11:54 PM
The GPS antenna is posted under the dash supposedly behind the cluster. I'm still using my BOSE speakers and amp.

crusader
07-18-2009, 09:58 AM
Had this installed yesterday. Looks, sounds and works great. If you're around Edmonton, Alberta look up Adrenalin Audio. Great guys, fair prices and they care.

beegeezy
07-23-2009, 12:45 AM
I like the 7140 and the 9140 but I don't have steering wheel controls and can't get past the tiny volume buttons. I like my 5120 with the easy to use rubber coated volume knob. Sometimes its the little things that you really appreciate.

cyberob
07-30-2009, 08:02 PM
Very nice! But I'm using Eonon HU (http://www.eonon.com/?utm_source=audizine.com&utm_medium=forum&utm_campaign=forum), which is more cost effective [:p]

Am curious which model did you buy?

advan24r
07-31-2009, 01:24 PM
Just found out that I can change the oem kenwood/garmin startup screen!

1) press and hold SRC and Volume Down Keys
2) then press reset button
3) release the reset button (continue to hold SRC and Volume Down until illumination activates)
4) connect USB thumb drive containing image file in the root directly (same as older versions)
5) press "OEM image", the selection button will be grayed out until the files are seen on the USB device
6) select the image you want to use
7) press the reset button when you're all done to reboot the unit back in to the normal mode

Here is the new startup screen that I put on.

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s121/sportscards4sale/audi.jpg

pit viper
07-31-2009, 02:04 PM
nice. :)

LondonRS4
08-02-2009, 04:05 PM
And my startup screen. My own picture of the front grill logo. Reflections are from the screen, not the pic.


http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/L1010144.jpg

aleicgrant
08-02-2009, 04:58 PM
do you have any pics of the install process. I was hoping to see how easy the connects interface is. Did you get the din install kit from connects as well?

fit and finish?

diablooffire03
08-02-2009, 09:39 PM
Ide like to know as well how the wireing went. Does the stock sub still work? I ordered the plug and play harness, but am still doubting its gonna work right.

advan24r
08-02-2009, 10:43 PM
It's the metra dash..not connects2. No problems running w/the stock bose speakers and amp.

LondonRS4
08-07-2009, 10:06 AM
So do you have text-to-speech working on the 7140 ? I noticed last night in my first usage that I was gettng generic "turn left" or "turn right" commands, not "turn left at Pinnacle parkway". My 2 year old Garmin spoke the names of the streets. Is there a place to set this ? I can't find it in the manual.

juggaKnot
08-07-2009, 10:19 AM
So do you have text-to-speech working on the 7140 ? I noticed last night in my first usage that I was gettng generic "turn left" or "turn right" commands, not "turn left at Pinnacle parkway". My 2 year old Garmin spoke the names of the streets. Is there a place to set this ? I can't find it in the manual.

yep have mine working...it's somewhere in the navigation settings. I believe it's when you set the person's speech where it'll allow you to choose street names.

Kruat
08-07-2009, 10:50 AM
How bright is the screen at night? Does it dim alot, or is it still bright and annoying at night?

LondonRS4
08-08-2009, 04:29 PM
The contrast switches to a black background at night. I still find it a bit too bright, I didn't hook up the remote illumination wire. I'll wait and see whether it grows on me.

aleicgrant
08-08-2009, 04:38 PM
what back up camera did you buy?


I am going back and forth between a license plate one and mounted




After debating between either the RNS-E or aftermarket, I finally decided to go with aftermarket just because it can play DVDs, has Parrot Bluetooth and GARMIN navigation. I know the RNS-E can play DVDs but that requires other software and hardware to make it work. I'm very happy with the Kenwood. I also chose it over Pioneer because of the Bluetooth and GPS makers. Thanks to Mike for the connects2 steering wheel module as well. Works great and better than the PAC modules that are out there.

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/752/dsc04208h.jpg
http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/6263/dsc04211.jpg
http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/7572/dsc04212r.jpg
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/5273/dsc04215b.jpg
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/2845/dsc04216r.jpg
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/9564/dsc04217u.jpg

pinkslip
08-08-2009, 07:35 PM
I'm looking hard at this or possibly the 6140, but I have a few questions for you Kenwood ppl:

1) What is the difference in the 6140 and 7140? Is it just the screen size and volume knob or am I missing something?

2) I've heard the album art on the iPod really slows down the "next track" feature/scanner. By not selecting "Display album artwork on you iPod" in iTunes, does it also not display anything on the Kenwood, therefor not causing any lag. Is there always lag, regardless?

3) Do you need any extra harnesses/wires for Sat radio and Pod connectivity?

4) How much do the bezels, iPod wire harness, Sat Radio harness, and install (typically) cost?

5) How long do these models take to boot up? 5 sec? 10 sec? 30 sec? 1 minute?

I've never done a Nav HU before, and don't want to get cleaned out by the installer simply because I'm uninformed.

Thanks a bunch!

Leechiro
08-10-2009, 01:33 PM
is there a way to change the stations (presets) while on the NAV screen? or do i have to use the remote or go the tuner screen each time?

advan24r
08-10-2009, 05:20 PM
License Plate Camera - BOYO brand is what I have

1) What is the difference in the 6140 and 7140? Is it just the screen size and volume knob or am I missing something? - NOT SURE, screen size, aesthetics, and pre outs I believe.

2) I've heard the album art on the iPod really slows down the "next track" feature/scanner. By not selecting "Display album artwork on you iPod" in iTunes, does it also not display anything on the Kenwood, therefor not causing any lag. Is there always lag, regardless? -NOT SURE..I use an iTouch w/one of the oldest firmware (I haven't even updated it), and the album pics lag about 2-3 sec after each track ends.

3) Do you need any extra harnesses/wires for Sat radio and Pod connectivity? You need the SAT radio components if you want those features. iPod connectivity you just need the Kenwood iPod cable

4) How much do the bezels, iPod wire harness, Sat Radio harness, and install (typically) cost? Varies for all audio shops since they have different labor rates. I paid $85/hour. Took them 4 hours to do the rear back up camera and the deck/ipod cable install. the ipod cable was just a plug into the usb port in the back.

5) How long do these models take to boot up? 5 sec? 10 sec? 30 sec? 1 minute? I'd say 10 sec.


Changing the presets you have to go to the source to change it. You can't do it on the NAV screen unless you do it through the remote. I do mine through the steering wheel.

aleicgrant
08-10-2009, 05:39 PM
would you happen to have a picture from the back of the actual License plate cam?

advan24r
08-11-2009, 04:09 PM
Sorry, no picture of the back of the license plate frame.

Mark.
01-09-2010, 12:22 PM
getting one of these this weekend,can't wait

ahhhudi
01-09-2010, 12:38 PM
getting one of these this weekend,can't wait

Nice. Post pics once the install is complete.

moosehead
01-12-2010, 02:07 PM
I just bought the pioneer AVIC-x710BT and got the connects2 harness kit,metra dash kit, and pioneer connects2 lead and the antenna adapter from enfig. Advan24r I have the B7 S4 with the symphony2 bose system like yours does your kenwood unit improve the sound of the bose system compared the the original symphony deck?

ahhhudi
01-12-2010, 07:35 PM
I have the B7 S4 with the symphony2 bose system like yours does your kenwood unit improve the sound of the bose system compared the the original symphony deck?

I would be surprised if it didn't.

moosehead
01-13-2010, 08:56 AM
I'm just wondering how the Bose amp reacts to the new head unit with all the eq settings these new navi units have

8520
01-13-2010, 01:17 PM
I'm just wondering how the Bose amp reacts to the new head unit with all the eq settings these new navi units have

Aftermarket hu's from reputable manufacturers have better digital>analog converts so as a general rule, the aftermarket units will sound better, as long as the install was done correctly.

IllusionalTA
01-14-2010, 05:15 PM
shame we can't adapt our steering wheel controls... :(

moosehead
01-15-2010, 08:29 AM
You can adapt the steering wheel controls with the connects2 steering wheel control harness that enfig has

NothingBUTasian
02-11-2010, 08:02 AM
The dash kit is made by Metra. It is their single din dash kit for Audi's but you have to cut the middle bar off in order to fit the double din.

I did not install it myself, a shop here did it. Took them 4.5 hours w/the backup camera.

I know I'm bring this up from the dead....but there are a few double din dash kits out there...some are multiple peices and some are just 2 or 3 peices....do you know what model number metra kit they used?...I'm going to be doing this install soon and don't want to waste money on a product that doesn't have everything I need.

Joshua

vin0305
03-10-2010, 10:37 AM
Big thanks to both advan24r and LondonRS4 for all of their efforts and posts.
I've been searching off an on during the cold winter months for the answers to the below questions but haven't had any luck and with the weather turning, I'm ready to head back outside and get to work finishing the job!

I've got a 2006 A4 and I installed a Kenwood DNX7140 following advan and London's write-ups, but ever since I wired everything I've lost cruise control. I'm using the Connects2 harness for steering wheel controls and suspect it has something to do with that but have no clue how to troubleshoot this. [=(]

I'm also trying to figure out if it's possible to connect my Sirius and GPS modules to the Audi's sharkfin antenna rather than running the Kenwood antenna.

Speaking of Sirius modules, any suggestions for where to mount that?

Thanks all!! [:D]

Jer
08-06-2010, 04:35 PM
Big thanks to both advan24r and LondonRS4 for all of their efforts and posts.
I've been searching off an on during the cold winter months for the answers to the below questions but haven't had any luck and with the weather turning, I'm ready to head back outside and get to work finishing the job!

I've got a 2006 A4 and I installed a Kenwood DNX7140 following advan and London's write-ups, but ever since I wired everything I've lost cruise control. I'm using the Connects2 harness for steering wheel controls and suspect it has something to do with that but have no clue how to troubleshoot this. [=(]

I'm also trying to figure out if it's possible to connect my Sirius and GPS modules to the Audi's sharkfin antenna rather than running the Kenwood antenna.

Speaking of Sirius modules, any suggestions for where to mount that?

Thanks all!! [:D]

Were you able to figure out your issue with your cruise control? I'm about to order a Connects2 harness and if this is a known issue then I don't want to order a defective item. I haven't seen this yet in my searches so I'm assuming it was an isolated incident and am just wondering what the end result of this was or what the fix was. Thanks!

b8ascrub
08-27-2011, 02:59 PM
I am also getting ready to install a kenwood DNX5180 in my A3 8P that has a concert radio double din. I have a couple of questions about what I need to complete the install. 1) I have an OEM sirius tuner in the trunk. Can this be routed to the kenwood or do I need a new sirius tuner?

I dont have steering wheel controls or the cd changer or bluetooth installed. I was reading that I need a c2r-audi cable and everything should be plug and play into the new HU. Do I need anything more than that?

I have now in my possession:

Kenwood DNX5180 Nav
Metra 99-9104 bezel
C2R-audi hardness

Any help would be awesome! i dont want to destroy my car..LOL

A4 Centaur
09-06-2011, 08:08 AM
Hey, after seeing your install I am going with the Alpine unit. Looking at a pair of Alpine amps and a custom 10" enclosure as well. I will add the camera too. Very nice looking set up you have. Hopefully you got cruise control sorted out by now. Any updates?