PDA

View Full Version : any chipped automatics?



A4_wantanabe
12-06-2004, 10:49 AM
i was just wondering what you automatic guys have and how you like it? Do you notice a change in gearing?


thanks

Rieger_RS4
12-06-2004, 01:15 PM
i have the Dahlbak chip anong other bolt ons, and the only difference i notiace is that the shifts a lil harsher at times. A snub ount helped out a lot.

A4orce84
12-06-2004, 02:06 PM
Rieger,

Do you have the tipchip as well? I have heard that is supposed to smooth things out as well. Currently I have the ECU chip, and at times when I get on it it can be a little rough when it downshifts. But overall it is a great upgrade for us auto/tip guys, really wakes up the car.

--Asif

Rieger_RS4
12-06-2004, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by A4orce84
Rieger,

Do you have the tipchip as well? I have heard that is supposed to smooth things out as well. Currently I have the ECU chip, and at times when I get on it it can be a little rough when it downshifts. But overall it is a great upgrade for us auto/tip guys, really wakes up the car.

--Asif

I'm still debating whether to get a tip-chip or a do a manual swap and get a GT28R kit.

Pureaudi
12-06-2004, 03:51 PM
Originally posted by Rieger_RS4
I'm still debating whether to get a tip-chip or a do a manual swap and get a GT28R kit.


that manual swap will be so expensive dude. then to het a GT28r set up....man....thats hella dough

skene
12-06-2004, 04:10 PM
Adding a chip does not change the gearing of the transmission itself.
If you add a Tip Chip it shortens the shift timing from ~1 second to ~.2 seconds between gear shifts.
Think of it as a short shifter for Tiptronics.

audlman
12-06-2004, 04:41 PM
Think of it as a short shifter for Tiptronics.
nice way of putting it skene.

skene
12-06-2004, 05:03 PM
I know.

Thanks.

A4_wantanabe
12-06-2004, 05:34 PM
i know there isn't an actual difference, but some times the transmission learns new gear patterns (i've only heard this). Is there a big difference with the chip, even for automatics? (refering to power output)

Rieger_RS4
12-06-2004, 05:53 PM
Originally posted by Pureaudi
that manual swap will be so expensive dude. then to het a GT28r set up....man....thats hella dough

Not too expensive if I find a donor car to get all the parts from.......

A4_wantanabe
12-06-2004, 06:06 PM
Originally posted by Rieger_RS4
Not too expensive if I find a donor car to get all the parts from.......


this is true

pheebau
12-06-2004, 07:30 PM
Anyone with a Neuspeed 1.1 P-Chip + Giac Tip Chip? if so - is that a decent combo?

ECA4
12-06-2004, 07:31 PM
Yea I was actually planning on the swap for '05, but well have to see[:D]

Pureaudi
12-06-2004, 07:39 PM
how much would the swap be if you found a tranny?

so tranny + install/swap=???

i might be intrested, but ive herd horror storys about it costing hella dough.

Howard Hughes
12-06-2004, 07:46 PM
Originally posted by A4_wantanabe
i know there isn't an actual difference, but some times the transmission learns new gear patterns (i've only heard this). Is there a big difference with the chip, even for automatics? (refering to power output)



Of course you will get more power, you are getting more boost when you chip it. And I believe you are correct, when you chip a car it takes awhile to learn the new program.


But did you chip your ride and are not happy with it or something?

ECA4
12-06-2004, 08:16 PM
Tranny swap prices vary, if you can get a good price on a used tranny and also if you know anyone that works at a performance shop.

Pureaudi
12-06-2004, 08:19 PM
Originally posted by ECA4
Tranny swap prices vary, if you can get a good price on a used tranny and also if you know anyone that works at a performance shop.

like whats best case senerio and worst

A4_wantanabe
12-06-2004, 08:20 PM
no, i just wanted to know if i would get less results as if i was to have manual. I don't want to go through the hassel of chipping the car if i'm not going to get results.

ECA4
12-06-2004, 08:25 PM
You will deffinatly feel the result without a doubt. It will transform any 1.8t 5 spd or auto.

I was talking to one of my friends who could help with the tranny swap and he said that I would probably be looking at somewhere around $1,500, possiblly less.

4ingDrive
12-06-2004, 08:59 PM
GIAC K04 with a tip chip. The tip chip definately made the car feel like it has more power. But not just in tip mode. Before the chip it felt like the tranny gradually slipped power in. Especially noticable between shifts. I was skeptical of the tip chip at first but after realizing the benefits I highly recommend it.

Rieger_RS4
12-06-2004, 09:05 PM
is $250 the best price for one?

I called Dahlback and they have one too, but for $499[rolleyes]

A4orce84
12-06-2004, 09:42 PM
What if you don't use tiptronic that much? Will I feel a difference if 75% of my driving is in D?

skene
12-07-2004, 06:24 AM
ok enough.

This thread has gotten ridiculous and you are all starting to read as repetative.

Search!
Use it!
Love it!

ECA4
12-07-2004, 10:40 AM
I think the Dahlback ecu is going for $275 somewhere. If thats true I might just spend the extra $25 to go the Dahlback route.

petenice00
12-07-2004, 01:22 PM
A4_wonton,

Please Get the GIAC tip chip - you'll be quite happy. Also, why the hell aren't you in Tip Mode more often?

ECA4, Rieger -

1500 bucks for a tranny swap seems like a hell of a deal but I assume that has to be best case scenario?

fanuvbrak
12-07-2004, 01:30 PM
i, personally, can't drive in "D" because my auto SUCKS!!!

but my dealer doesn't believe me. even though he's been in it and experienced the rapid shifts to 5th at a dizzy 25mph. unless i'm WOT, it just shifts like crazy.

skene
12-07-2004, 02:46 PM
Then you probably have a problem with either a switch or the ECU on your vehicle. I would suggest that you speak to them about reflashing the ECU to see if that helps alleviate that problem.
If that isnt the case... You can probably have them swap out the multi-function switch.

Rieger_RS4
12-07-2004, 02:49 PM
Originally posted by ECA4
I think the Dahlback ecu is going for $275 somewhere. If thats true I might just spend the extra $25 to go the Dahlback route.

where is that?

ECA4
12-07-2004, 02:56 PM
I'm not sure, but i remember someone posting that price on another thread. I think that if you buy the Dahlback ecu they will sell you the tcu for another $275. There was a long conversaton about the price on vwvortex.

fanuvbrak
12-07-2004, 03:05 PM
Originally posted by skene
Then you probably have a problem with either a switch or the ECU on your vehicle. I would suggest that you speak to them about reflashing the ECU to see if that helps alleviate that problem.
If that isnt the case... You can probably have them swap out the multi-function switch.

thank you.
i will print this and next time i go in i will read it verbatim. if they still say nothing's wrong, i will roll it into a nice little tube and shove it up his a**.

Pureaudi
12-07-2004, 05:24 PM
Originally posted by fanuvbrak
i, personally, can't drive in "D" because my auto SUCKS!!!

but my dealer doesn't believe me. even though he's been in it and experienced the rapid shifts to 5th at a dizzy 25mph. unless i'm WOT, it just shifts like crazy.

ya dud mine dost that too. it shifts hella fast. i jsut have auto though. not tip. what about you?

fanuvbrak
12-08-2004, 07:01 AM
Originally posted by Pureaudi
ya dud mine dost that too. it shifts hella fast. i jsut have auto though. not tip. what about you?

i have tip, which i drive in 100% of the time.

i just made made an appointment for Dec 29, so i'll post a recap.

OutkastSL
12-08-2004, 08:30 AM
yeah i agree i don't like the fact the tranny shifts to 5 gear even at 25-30mph, i try to stay in tip mode as much as i can, i really don't like how the tranny has to shift so much from 5th gear.

4ingDrive
12-08-2004, 04:15 PM
A recode helps a lot.

Pureaudi
12-08-2004, 04:42 PM
yea? how much for a recode, can it be dont to autos not just tips?

4ingDrive
12-08-2004, 05:37 PM
Yep, you need a vagcom.

pheebau
12-08-2004, 07:51 PM
All of you guys with the 5th gear issue, what chip are you running?

Even stock the auto tranny tends to shift quick even at 25mph - I like the new 'S' auto mode on the b6 sport...would a Vag allow me to reprogram the default auto to behave more sporty _or_ will the GIAC tip chip mod fulfill this (unless this mod only affects tip mod which I think it is)...

4ingDrive
12-08-2004, 08:14 PM
Searching is your friend. This has been discussed numerous times.

fanuvbrak
12-09-2004, 08:37 AM
Originally posted by 4ingDrive
Searching is your friend. This has been discussed numerous times.

to save you a search: you can recode 2001 and up B5 A4's. it won't take on older models.