PDA

View Full Version : quick chipping question



Dynamite
06-22-2009, 12:22 AM
I have been told that i need to have my car tuned before i have it chipped to make sure the AF ratio etc is right. is this correct or just someone wanting money? i thought the chips gave new maps (so wouldn't that be a little pointless). im looking at a giac chip if that matters.
thanks for any help

biketsai
06-22-2009, 12:24 AM
quick chipping answer: you dont need to have it tuned! haha, a chip IS a tune. The chip itself will reprogram the whole computer to be capable of running with more power.

Dynamite
06-22-2009, 12:27 AM
exactly what i thought thanks for that

Jeff
06-22-2009, 01:04 AM
You obviously have to make sure your supporting hardware is in good condition (O2 sensors, MAF, clean/unclogged fuel supply, etc). In a normal stock car, this is not as crucial, but with a chip tune, they will expose their problems if they are bad.

jturnbull
06-22-2009, 07:14 AM
upgrade your diverter valve too

InTTruder
06-22-2009, 11:19 AM
Tuneup is good: plugs, DV reworked (cleaned/lubed), and all the other wearout items should be fresh (air filter for example).