PDA

View Full Version : Security code on head unit?



TypeRx
06-21-2009, 06:26 AM
I have 2007 RS4 with the RNS-E Nav Unit. I am going to install an amp soon and need to disconnect the power. I got the car used and have no idea what the security code is for the headunit, if there is one at all.

Does this head unit require a security code after power loss??

05.5SilverS4
06-21-2009, 11:06 AM
I dont have the RNS-E unit but i know if it does require the code it will be in your owners manual set, i believe in one of the supplements. Check there before you disconnect, or im sure a call to AOA will help you out too.

bavaria75
06-23-2009, 10:32 PM
If the code is not in the manual, I know you can let it get read out over the vag com connector at your beloved Audi dealer. Properly will cost you.

Titanp321
06-23-2009, 11:50 PM
don't hold me to this but I have taken out my RNS-E head unit with no problems of the security code being triggered. The condition I followed: I never turned the car on while the radio was unplugged. I have removed the head unit a few times now with no problems.

I had really wanted my code, just for safety of having it, so I brought the audi in for a "loud noise in the rear end" under warranty and asked if they could pull the RNS-E security code while they had the car hook up. Of course, there was no noise and I got a my code.