PDA

View Full Version : Key battery...WTF



Calabria
06-17-2009, 03:05 PM
So my keys battery I thought died...slowly started to not unlock/lock with the remote, and then 1 day, it stopped all together. Simple fix right, just bought 2 new lithium cr1620's from Radioshack ($12). But after putting in these new batterys, still my remote doesnt work, does it need to be reprogrammed just cause of the new batterys?

Patorious
06-17-2009, 03:11 PM
No you dont have to program them if its just the batteries. It may be the transmitter itself. Then you would need to reprogram, yes

Calabria
06-17-2009, 03:12 PM
How can I test if its the transmitter or just the batterys...if it it the transmitter, a new remote will be needed?
Volt meter Im guessing

McGovs2.7TB5
06-17-2009, 03:21 PM
You actually do need to reprogram

-key in ignition turn accessories on, hold unlock button 3 secs
-put key in door and lock with key
-key still in door unlock with button

and you should be good to go.

mholme
06-17-2009, 03:23 PM
Or press the lock or unlock button on the remote, stick the key in door and turn to lock or unlock. Remote should be synched now. It's in the manual.

stormscr3
06-17-2009, 03:27 PM
To test if it's sending a signal out go to Autozone/Advanced Auto and there is a Energizer display unit that will pick up signals your keyless entry sends ... just my 2 cents

mholme
06-17-2009, 03:32 PM
To test if it's sending a signal out go to Autozone/Advanced Auto and there is a Energizer display unit that will pick up signals your keyless entry sends ... just my 2 cents

Yup, just did it yesterday at advancedauto after changing my batteries.

Calabria
06-17-2009, 03:41 PM
You actually do need to reprogram

-key in ignition turn accessories on, hold unlock button 3 secs
-put key in door and lock with key
-key still in door unlock with button

and you should be good to go.
Worked [up], thanks

McGovs2.7TB5
06-17-2009, 04:30 PM
Worked [up], thanks

No problem