PDA

View Full Version : t3/t4 hybrid



djtr
06-15-2009, 06:44 PM
Anyone done it? bolt up to stock manifold?

Sorry I know this is sorta a newbish question but hell I am a newb to this forums so why not lol

PoormansA4
06-15-2009, 06:48 PM
if i remember correctly 4inmaf has one a 50 trim, and I think the k04 is bout th o nly thing that will bolt up besides the ko3 could be wrong though...Search

lowandslow4now
06-15-2009, 06:50 PM
It has been done plenty of times. It doesn't bolt up to stock manifold you will need a turbo kit or you can piece one together.
You can Search and you will find many answers

DUDEFROMRI
06-15-2009, 06:50 PM
Any Garret Eliminator Series will bolt up... No T series..

lowandslow4now
06-15-2009, 06:51 PM
I forgot to put this in http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=266477 this is good if you want more info on different kits

djtr
06-15-2009, 07:00 PM
cool looking at the kits now :) anyone have a walkthrough of what they did for the upgrade?

PoormansA4
06-15-2009, 07:53 PM
Any Garret Eliminator Series will bolt up... No T series..

wow I cant believe I forgot about those lol [headbang] ya 034 some pretty cool elim kits. I think low and slow has there stage 3 kit form them (not a elim tho) if i remember correctly

lowandslow4now
06-15-2009, 08:36 PM
Yeah I have there stage 3 kit it is a good starter kit and allows alot of room to upgrade in the future.

djtr
06-16-2009, 06:09 AM
Nice. :)

Im just looking for a walk through or a photolog and list of parts used to I can chose what direction Im gonna go with it. Either the easy k04 or Elim route or the more fun t3/t4 hybrid route :)

mike-2ptzero
06-16-2009, 09:35 AM
Nice. :)

Im just looking for a walk through or a photolog and list of parts used to I can chose what direction Im gonna go with it. Either the easy k04 or Elim route or the more fun t3/t4 hybrid route :)

Nice thing about the elim kits is that they are just a little more money then a K04 kit and look just as stock.

Another option vs a T3/T4 is a GT2871r with a T3 exhuast housing. Then if you the person wants to upgrade from there all they have to do is swap out the turbo and maybe change the turbo inlet hose depending on if they go with a turbo with a much larger inlet.

Seerlah
06-16-2009, 09:57 AM
^You should also add that it would be better to go top side manifold as the side mounted ones will leave larger turbo applications congested, if one was to ever want to upgrade.

djtr
06-16-2009, 10:40 AM
hmmm....so top mount manifold and a disco potatoe.....interesting......

Seerlah
06-16-2009, 10:50 AM
It saves the trouble of purchasing a new exhaust manifold later. That is like $350+ for a side mounted one or $460 (SPA) for the top mounted one and no need to upgrade later. If you are going the potatoe disco route, then purchase a block off plate for the wastegate flange. Or better yet, go GT2871R externally wastegated with the SPA manifold. You could even go GT2860R externally wastegated if you wanted to. The thing is to try and spend as less money as possible with high quality products.

mike-2ptzero
06-16-2009, 11:42 AM
Or spend a little money for a Full-race manifold which has a life time warranty, doesn't have issues with trying to use a oil drain line and is much lighter.

djwimbo
06-16-2009, 12:01 PM
I personally watched 1fstAvant put down a "boat load" of power on a T3/T4 50 trim

Click me for his dyno thread. (http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=225257)

djtr
06-16-2009, 12:05 PM
I would really like to find a descent price on a k04 and call it a day, but everything I find says it requires modification to install...... not for this build thanks, I have enough of that with my f150 LOL

20vpower
06-16-2009, 04:54 PM
no mod needed if swapping in a k04.

you can even run it on k03 software if you need to save up for k04 software.

all you need to install a k04 is a hardware kit (gaskets/nuts/washers)

but beware you may get tired of a k04 fast, i know i did.

now i have a t3t4 50trim, here is my build, if you want more info.

http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3395588

djtr
06-17-2009, 08:24 AM
Hey thats guys the ones talking in here have been great help with getting me started in the right direction. Iv got some good starting points here and hope to continue the conversation.

On a side note I would also like to thank the d1ck that already hit me with a negative -5 rep just for this post (my first on this forum by the way) thanks for the help, I'll be sure to keep an eye out for the time you need help.

djtr
06-17-2009, 08:25 AM
no mod needed if swapping in a k04.

you can even run it on k03 software if you need to save up for k04 software.

all you need to install a k04 is a hardware kit (gaskets/nuts/washers)

but beware you may get tired of a k04 fast, i know i did.

now i have a t3t4 50trim, here is my build, if you want more info.

http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3395588

Thanks man, checking it out now, if you wanna sell the k04 let me know ;)

lowandslow4now
06-17-2009, 08:30 AM
Hey thats guys the ones talking in here have been great help with getting me started in the right direction. Iv got some good starting points here and hope to continue the conversation.

On a side note I would also like to thank the d1ck that already hit me with a negative -5 rep just for this post (my first on this forum by the way) thanks for the help, I'll be sure to keep an eye out for the time you need help.

Hey everyone starts somewhere and its all about learning what works best for you.

djtr
06-17-2009, 08:53 AM
Hey everyone starts somewhere and its all about learning what works best for you.

Agreed :) Thats the idea of places like this enthusiast helping others find their groove! :D

Im almost wondering if doing a 2.7t swap and switching to a 6speed at the same time may be an option.

djwimbo
06-17-2009, 09:32 AM
Im almost wondering if doing a 2.7t swap and switching to a 6speed at the same time may be an option.

Don't do it. That'll hurt the wallet just as much as a big turbo 1.8T will.

As far as the K04 goes, do it if you want some power over stock/chipped power, but if you're looking for decent numbers, Don't waste your time.

A full K04 install with injectors, software and high flow manifold will make you 190-195awhp, where you can spend $400-500 more and get an eliminator turbo that will do 250+awhp.

djtr
06-17-2009, 01:09 PM
Don't do it. That'll hurt the wallet just as much as a big turbo 1.8T will.

As far as the K04 goes, do it if you want some power over stock/chipped power, but if you're looking for decent numbers, Don't waste your time.

A full K04 install with injectors, software and high flow manifold will make you 190-195awhp, where you can spend $400-500 more and get an eliminator turbo that will do 250+awhp.

true but the 6speed would be nice :) might have to swap that too