PDA

View Full Version : MY BT build weekend.....didn't all go so well



fernando
03-29-2009, 04:10 PM
it all came apart quite easy, other than that pain in the ass coolant hose....
also not quite happy with the way my 034 TIP fits....it is jammed right against the fan housing, and the other thing that i think that will have to be changed will be the inlet flange on the turbo, its only 1/2 inch thick, have to use a reg clamp as if i use a T clamp its too wide, and even with the smaller clamps the hose comes off quite easy, i am sure that with the movement of the engine and vibration i will be sitting on the side of the road quite a few times putting the dam hose back
as an eliminator kit i thought that it would be a more direct fit and less fitment issues.....here are some pics of what i have done so far...

k03 VS GT2871R
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk31/crazy1469/DSCN4617.jpg
test pipe with the non-foulers
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk31/crazy1469/DSCN4619.jpg
my intake
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk31/crazy1469/DSCN4627.jpg
my home made heat shield...still need to work out some kinks
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk31/crazy1469/DSCN4628.jpg
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk31/crazy1469/DSCN4629.jpg
now this is one of the hoses that won't fit will have to be extended
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk31/crazy1469/DSCN4630.jpg
this is onother problem, FM pipe not sits right against the turbo so i guess that i will have to take it off and cut it and get a new hose for the different angle
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk31/crazy1469/DSCN4638.jpg

njtrackstar
03-29-2009, 04:16 PM
just installed the same turbo a few weeks ago. It all worth it in the end, pulls like a mother!

20vpower
03-29-2009, 04:28 PM
try not bolting the pcv line to the valve cover to try to get more play in it.

any other pics of the turbo > intercooler pipe ?

20vpower
03-29-2009, 04:29 PM
oh and you dont need tbolt clamp on the turbo inlet. regular clamp will do

njtrackstar
03-29-2009, 04:34 PM
try not bolting the pcv line to the valve cover to try to get more play in it.

any other pics of the turbo > intercooler pipe ?

Or if you do just go to any hardware store and get some rubber hose and make it work. ill take a picture tomorrow if you want of what mine looks like.

biketsai
03-29-2009, 04:52 PM
oh and you dont need tbolt clamp on the turbo inlet. regular clamp will do

X2, the TIP is only taking in air. My pancake valves etc wouldnt reach so I also got some random heater hoses at the local autostore.

audiFUEGO
03-29-2009, 05:10 PM
X2, the TIP is only taking in air. My pancake valves etc wouldnt reach so I also got some random heater hoses at the local autostore.

x3; x2...[:d]

fernando
03-29-2009, 06:47 PM
just installed the same turbo a few weeks ago. It all worth it in the end, pulls like a mother!

did u also have to replace the vacc lines from the nj valve???

jturnbull
03-29-2009, 07:42 PM
Where did you get that 2871r with a kkk housing like that?

fernando
03-29-2009, 07:46 PM
Where did you get that 2871r with a kkk housing like that?

from 034

jturnbull
03-29-2009, 07:49 PM
is that the one where you go to the eliminator kit for the 28rs and then there is a box where you can click to upgrade to the 2871r?

audiFUEGO
03-29-2009, 07:54 PM
did u also have to replace the vacc lines from the nj valve???

I pretty much replaced every vac line I could find when I swapped turbos. Your going to want fresh vac lines regardless.

fernando
03-29-2009, 07:55 PM
is that the one where you go to the eliminator kit for the 28rs and then there is a box where you can click to upgrade to the 2871r?

ya thats the one

jturnbull
03-29-2009, 08:02 PM
thanks bro

GetBoosted84
03-30-2009, 07:06 PM
Why not just not hook up the pancake valve? Run it into a catch can or just throw a filter on the crankcase hose and call it a day.

njm23
03-30-2009, 07:26 PM
Why not just not hook up the pancake valve? Run it into a catch can or just throw a filter on the crankcase hose and call it a day.

Because on a DD you would want a vacuum on the crankcase. That would not be the most ideal setup you put

GetBoosted84
03-30-2009, 07:31 PM
Because on a DD you would want a vacuum on the crankcase. That would not be the most ideal setup you put

That's a largely debated topic on many different forums (including the zine) and I haven't found any conclusive arguments one way or the other on the topic.

I did a lot of research before I opted to nix mine and the conclusion I found in my research was there was no conclusion.

djwimbo
03-30-2009, 07:52 PM
also not quite happy with the way my 034 TIP fits....it is jammed right against the fan housing...

It's an eliminator it's going to sit further forward than a "real" turbo will. Look at the build threads with the SPA, APR, ATP, etc manifolds. The stock manifold puts the turbo just about as far forward as it can go.

Good luck with the install, if you have problems let us know.

njm23
03-31-2009, 08:38 PM
That's a largely debated topic on many different forums (including the zine) and I haven't found any conclusive arguments one way or the other on the topic.

I did a lot of research before I opted to nix mine and the conclusion I found in my research was there was no conclusion.

All I can say is with no vacuum on the pcv system my car burned oil when sitting(idling) after like 5-10 minutes. Put a vacuum source in and no more burning oil. A lot of guys dont have a vacuum source and say they don't have issues but there car is not daily driven, and/or very little mileage when they are driven. idk..just my personal opinion and experience.

mike-2ptzero
04-01-2009, 06:51 AM
All I can say is with no vacuum on the pcv system my car burned oil when sitting(idling) after like 5-10 minutes. Put a vacuum source in and no more burning oil. A lot of guys dont have a vacuum source and say they don't have issues but there car is not daily driven, and/or very little mileage when they are driven. idk..just my personal opinion and experience.

You might have had too small of an outlet causing too much pressure build up in the crank case. This is why having the right size outlet on the catch can is important.

GetBoosted84
04-01-2009, 06:58 AM
Good point Mike. That can make a difference for sure.

njm23
04-01-2009, 08:54 PM
You might have had too small of an outlet causing too much pressure build up in the crank case. This is why having the right size outlet on the catch can is important.


Open hose (7/8" or something, w/e that plastic peice is) ran to the ground.. No pressure build up at all.. Not possible, at least I dont think it is.

mike-2ptzero
04-01-2009, 09:25 PM
Open hose (7/8" or something, w/e that plastic peice is) ran to the ground.. No pressure build up at all.. Not possible, at least I dont think it is.

I run three 2" outlets on my catch can, my old catch can had one 1" outlet and it wasn't enough to let out the pressure and would just spit oil everywhere when pushing more then 8k rpm.

http://www.034motorsport.com/gallery/d/21674-2/DSC_1089.JPG


I know guys that race honda's that run 5 lines from their crank case just to get all the pressure out.

fernando
04-02-2009, 03:09 AM
Guys i need to do some data log in my car, what software do i use???

turbo kraut
04-02-2009, 04:12 AM
vag com