PDA

View Full Version : installing gfb hybrid right now. how can i tell what setting its at?



derek2079
11-12-2004, 05:49 PM
im asuming the valve at the top the smallest one is where you would twist to adjust the setting on it. basically when i researched this it said to have it on the loosest setting so i assume that is just the least screwed in. does anyone know i am installing right now. and i am asking this question after searching the boards. thx

Chard
11-12-2004, 05:56 PM
unscrewed is the loosest setting. I tried it on my car and this was too lose and it fluttered when it cycled. I would probably leave it at 50-75% unscrewed.

derek2079
11-12-2004, 06:33 PM
k thx. also does it matter what hose i plug onto what knob. i dont know which one is which. and i know that some people prefer to have their dv's installed backwards.

derek2079
11-12-2004, 07:05 PM
ok nm i found out which way it goes on because there is only one way it will go on. so now i am trying to get the smallest line on and its not going. i am afraid to use grease or some kind of lube because of the fact that i dont want to mess anything up. does anyone have any suggestions? maybe just put a lil water on it? that seems safe enough

derek2079
11-12-2004, 07:07 PM
hmm petroleum jelly seems safe?

derek2079
11-12-2004, 09:56 PM
im not liking the gfb hybrid i boost all around like 2 psi lower than my 710n. its about as loose as it can go. is there somthing maybe wrong with the settings of it?

littlewhite
11-12-2004, 10:09 PM
Yea, u dont want to be too loose or it just flutter everytime like Garuu wuupsshh. When i tried it, i set it so it was 4 clicks from the bpv side, so which means like 25% vent and 75% back in

derek2079
11-12-2004, 10:19 PM
i have my gfb bov pretty loose and pretty much i cant hear the woosh unless its in high rpm's or high boost. like 10-15 psi. is that how it should be?

littlewhite
11-12-2004, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by derek2079
i have my gfb bov pretty loose and pretty much i cant hear the woosh unless its in high rpm's or high boost. like 10-15 psi. is that how it should be?

shuold be able to hear sth around stock boost like 7psi. Did u have it set 100% bov or 1/2 adn 1/2 ? When i had it like i said, i set it 20-25% vent and the rests back in.

derek2079
11-12-2004, 11:27 PM
i fixed it thx black

Silvant
11-13-2004, 12:15 AM
hahahahahahahaaha....

littlewhite
11-13-2004, 12:20 AM
Originally posted by derek2079
i fixed it thx black

N.P. I tried it out for about a week since it was my friends. It was ok, but i did get it though.

marcini
11-13-2004, 11:47 PM
I just installed one myself today, and loving it, mad loud, but you gotta step on it a littel to hear the woosh

derek2079
11-14-2004, 12:31 AM
Originally posted by marcini
I just installed one myself today, and loving it, mad loud, but you gotta step on it a littel to hear the woosh its not nearly as loud as my friends wrx with his intake. i want an intake. in time =>

808a41.8t
11-14-2004, 03:17 AM
derek, you still have your ecu for sale? i remembered i pm'd you back about it, but your inbox was full. let me know. thanks

JMG
11-14-2004, 04:59 AM
LOL you shouldn't hear ANY woooosh.

98a4
11-14-2004, 11:32 AM
why shouldn't you?

littlewhite
11-14-2004, 12:04 PM
woosh? not going to hear any woosh unless u are chipped and or with an intake

or did u mean pssh pssh pshhhhhhh

derek2079
11-14-2004, 12:50 PM
i think chip was like the first thing i did when i got the car

derek2079
11-14-2004, 05:08 PM
Originally posted by 808a41.8t
derek, you still have your ecu for sale? i remembered i pm'd you back about it, but your inbox was full. let me know. thanks


yep still for sale email me or pm me


schmieg007@hotmail.com

ColumbiaDeath
11-14-2004, 07:52 PM
Whats the info on that ECU- i'm intereted [:D]

derek2079
11-14-2004, 09:16 PM
stock ecu 018 P for 2000 a4 1.8tqm

ColumbiaDeath
11-14-2004, 09:20 PM
Originally posted by derek2079
stock ecu 018 P for 2000 a4 1.8tqm
im assuming it wouldnt work for a 199.5 a4 1.8tqm ?

i dunno if the DBW and non-DBW stuff comes into play here...

derek2079
11-15-2004, 10:55 AM
it wont work if i hear otherwise ill let you know

EVIL-AUDI
11-15-2004, 10:58 AM
Remove your ECU and look at the #. It's not hard to do.

ColumbiaDeath
11-15-2004, 12:46 PM
Cool- thanks

JMG
11-25-2004, 03:36 PM
Originally posted by 98a4
why shouldn't you?

Because our turbos are closed systems.