PDA

View Full Version : Seafoam threw a Cyl. 6 missfire CEL. Normal?



4A Play
02-25-2009, 03:22 PM
So I threw a CEL today doing a oil change and then seafoaming my 30v, the local autozone cleared it right away for me.

Is it normal for seafoam to do that on the V6?

Thanks guys.

andyrew
02-25-2009, 03:32 PM
stiring up a bunch of crap in the combustion chamber and pouring liquid directly in the intake.. I wouldnt worry about it unless it comes back.

prey
02-25-2009, 03:34 PM
So I threw a CEL today doing a oil change and then seafoaming my 30v, the local autozone cleared it right away for me.

Is it normal for seafoam to do that on the V6?

Thanks guys.

Replace the plugs, the seafoam fouls them sometimes, wouldn't hurt since the plugs are pretty cheap..

slopoke
02-25-2009, 07:45 PM
yes my car did the same when i gave it a sea foam treatment, replaced the plugs the next day with ngk's and havent had any cel's since

v1nyd
02-25-2009, 08:10 PM
you're suppose to seafoam then do an oil change and tune up (spark plugs) and yes it will throw a CEL for a bit and should go away by itself w/o a clearing of codes

.Mad Hatter.
02-25-2009, 08:12 PM
motul engine cleaner>seafoam

4A Play
02-26-2009, 07:30 AM
Well I bought the seafoam at wal-mart and put in in the crank case in the parking lot, drove to school for class then back home (30 miles). At home I replaced the oil. Then sucked up 1/3 can into the vac lines and let her sit for 20 minutes then started the smoke show.

Is it a easy job to replace the plugs on the v6? On my last car you had to pull the UIM to replace the rear bank of plugs [down]

The tail pipe of my was covered in black goop after revving the motor and the smoke cleared up. I can only assume that was all the shit that the seafoam cleaned out.

Silverstreak98
02-26-2009, 07:49 AM
Well I bought the seafoam at wal-mart and put in in the crank case in the parking lot, drove to school for class then back home (30 miles). At home I replaced the oil. Then sucked up 1/3 can into the vac lines and let her sit for 20 minutes then started the smoke show.

Is it a easy job to replace the plugs on the v6? On my last car you had to pull the UIM to replace the rear bank of plugs [down]

The tail pipe of my was covered in black goop after revving the motor and the smoke cleared up. I can only assume that was all the shit that the seafoam cleaned out.

Ya plugs are pretty simple, very easy to get to. Just gotta take off the engine covers and get crackin [wrench]

Also you might need to unscrew to coolant reservoir and move it slightly to get to one of the plugs more easily.

spanker
02-26-2009, 05:35 PM
Check the plug gap as well.

4A Play
02-26-2009, 05:43 PM
Check the gap on the new plugs? Are they often not properly set?

.Mad Hatter.
02-26-2009, 05:57 PM
they are NEVER properly set...

4A Play
02-26-2009, 06:18 PM
Well shit, How do I know what to gap them to? Just the gap on the package?

.Mad Hatter.
02-26-2009, 06:20 PM
um, nope.

not sure about the v6 but the 1.8t is .28-.32

nova_ss672001
02-26-2009, 06:27 PM
if its SOHC then .040 use BKUR6ET-10
if ith DOHC thn .063 use BKR6EKUB

well those are the factory numbers for stock or OEM plugs...

4A Play
02-27-2009, 07:20 AM
Dohc would be the 30v right?

bob12312357
02-27-2009, 07:40 AM
Dohc would be the 30v right?
yup

4A Play
03-05-2009, 04:03 PM
So the crappy auto store told me to gap to .040. I guess they were looking at the 12v. I installed them gapped to .040 is it worth pulling the plugs to regap?