PDA

View Full Version : pay off my car or fix random stuff?

burner799
02-18-2009, 10:36 PM
I'm a student and my car has a busted ABS module, control arm going out on the left side, and ripped cv boot on the right.

what would you do in my situation, pay about a grand towards the 3500 you owe on the car or throw a suspension on there, do all upper front control arms and tie rods, and generally fix shit.....

JoshDub
02-18-2009, 10:41 PM
fix shit. you will be more happy, at least i would be.

Poopie
02-18-2009, 10:44 PM
fix shit. you will still owe 2500 afterwords either way it off and still drive what you would feel is a hoopty cause of its condition.

go bare minimum on what you need to fix. fix the cv boot cause its only $20, and replace the single control arm. then buy an abs module from ap specialties. then spend the rest on the paying off the loan.

20vpower
02-18-2009, 11:18 PM
damn you still owe 3500 on it??? im gonna have mine paid off in march [up]

im gonna say fix shit aswell.

burner799
02-18-2009, 11:39 PM
yea I bought it 3 years back on a 4 year loan. Got a year left I guess.

I might do vmaxx coilovers. what do you think justin?

a408
02-18-2009, 11:43 PM
buy my turbo. you will be happy[:D]

Blake260
02-19-2009, 06:53 AM
fix shit, no reason to spend lots of money at once toward a loan, only to have your car break even more later when you can pay it off in steps

20vpower
02-19-2009, 07:23 AM
vmaxx? i was thinking about it for 450... but then i convinced myself that i want stiffer and not just looks

somebody5788
02-19-2009, 05:59 PM
yea I bought it 3 years back on a 4 year loan. Got a year left I guess.

I might do vmaxx coilovers. what do you think justin?

You owe 1k less then a payed for my whole car...

Skidder
02-19-2009, 08:12 PM
If you depend on that car for a daily driver and plan on keeping it for a while, I guess you should fix it.

But it would depend on your loan rate... looking at it from a financial standpoint.

turbo kraut