PDA

View Full Version : S4 Cluster into A4 Vag Recoding Questions



getslideways
02-04-2009, 10:07 AM
So i have a quick question, after reading a few posts about CAN it be done, i want to try and clarify HOW it is done. i just want to make sure I am understanding this correctly. I purchased an S4 cluster for my 2000 A4 1.8tq Tiptronic to fix my dead pixel situation. And i just want to make sure I am getting the Vag re-coding process correct.

1. For the last digit i would use the "4" not the "2" right, because the turbo takes priority over the fact its a gas engine?

2. Then is there a sequence in which the recode has to happen? ex:
-Old cluster in, recode, swap cluster
-no cluster installed, recode, install cluster
-swap in new cluster, then recode
-or does it matter?

3. So, for stock settings (minus seatbelt warning) but just a properly working S4 cluster i believe i would want my final coding to be: 00244 does that seem right?

i just want to see if i am understanding this correctly, since the (<MY 2000) comments are throwing me off a little

thanks

This was posted up in another thread and this is what i am basing my questions and coding off of


* ??xxx: Options (< MY 1999)
o +01 = Brake Pad Warning active
o +02 = Seatbelt Warning active
o +04 = Washer Fluid Warning active
o +16 = Navigation active

* ??xxx: Options (MY 2000 >)
o +00 = No Options or Navigation III
o +02 = Seatbelt Warning active
o +16 = Navigation I & II

* xx?xx: Country (< MY 1999)
o 0 = Germany (D)
o 1 = Europe (EU)
o 2 = USA (US)
o 3 = Canada (CDN)
o 4 = Great Britain (GB)
o 5 = Japan (JP)
o 6 = Saudi Arabia (SA)
o 7 = Australia (AUS)

* xx?xx: Country (MY 2000 >)
o 0 = Germany (D)
o 1 = Rest of World (Left Hand Drive - RoW)
o 2 = USA (US)
o 3 = Canada (CDN)
o 4 = Great Britain (GB)
o 5 = Japan (Left Hand Drive - JP)
o 6 = Saudi Arabia (SA)
o 7 = Australia (AUS)
o 8 = Rest of World (Right Hand Drive - RoW)
o 9 = Japan (Right Hand Drive - JP)

* xxx?x: Cylinder
o 4 = 4-Cylinder
o 6 = 6-Cylinder
o 8 = 8-Cylinder

* xxxx?: Engine
o 0 = TDI-Engine
o 2 = 4-Cylinder and 6-Cylinder Gasoline-Engine
o 3 = 8-Cylinder Gasoline-Engine
o 4 = Turbo-Engine (from MY 2000)

biketsai
02-04-2009, 04:37 PM
bump, id like to know this as well

onemoremile
02-09-2009, 10:38 AM
The replacement cluster has to be installed for vag-com to read it. Install then recode.

The last digit is to make the tach work correctly. I put a v6 cluster into my 1.8t and it read 4k rpm when the engine was turning 6k. Code it as a V8 and it will read half the actual rpm.

Holvinator
02-10-2009, 12:23 AM
I have also plan on installing a S4 cluster on my 1.8t 2001 A4. My certified Audi,VW Mechanic said that it needs to get programed otherwise it will read the specs of an S4 enstead of a A4. Dont' know how he does it,but I will ask him and get back to you, but it can be done without any problems.

By the way, in Shoka.com they sell any used clusters for $220 I believe it was. I email them few months ago. and they give you 6 months warranty on any of their used parts

biketsai
02-10-2009, 07:33 AM
Yea I'm just worried about mileage issues.

f15046
02-26-2009, 10:16 PM
I did this tonight. Swapped my A4 cluster for an S4 cluster. It worked great. Recoded the cluster with vagcom so the RPM's would read right.,

f15046
02-26-2009, 11:12 PM
Here's a crappy Iphone pic of the S4 cluster installed.
http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee294/f15046/IMG_0549.jpg

biketsai
02-26-2009, 11:31 PM
Looks nice! What did you do about mileage?

oneohone
02-26-2009, 11:38 PM
*Bump, I need to know aswell!

f15046
02-27-2009, 07:39 AM
The pic I posted is before I recoded with vagcom to correct the RPM's. There is nothing you can do about mileage. This cluster was within 10,000miles of my original cluster.

biketsai
02-27-2009, 07:56 AM
Ah

Militant-Grunt
02-27-2009, 08:15 AM
This is easy, I had a V6 2.8 cluster in my old A4 (my original cluster died), just recopy the code in the original cluster to the new, thats all you have to do.

biketsai
02-27-2009, 08:20 AM
Yea, I guess the only problem I face now is mileage.

Euro-Tuner
02-27-2009, 08:27 AM
are you really idling at 600rpm?

black99.5a4
02-27-2009, 09:09 AM
Yea, I guess the only problem I face now is mileage.

you cant reprogram the mileage unless the cluster has under 60 miles.. so either deal with it or move on and not get the s4 cluster.

Militant-Grunt
02-27-2009, 09:13 AM
Yea, I guess the only problem I face now is mileage.

With my old car what I would do is keep track of the mileage done on the new cluster and just mentally add it to the original mileage. During inspections I would provide the added mileage

f15046
02-27-2009, 03:36 PM
So far the only problems are the cluster lights are staying lit up even when the headlights are off (they turn off when you turn the key off), and the "miles left to empty" is still displaying 75 miles left when i have 3/4 of a tank.
So any suggestions?

walky_talky20
02-28-2009, 09:41 PM
In the S4 the speedo backlights do indeed run all the time. My buddy almost got himself in trouble with this. He reached for the turn signal and bumped his headlight switch off accidently. He was in town (street lights) and had no idea his headlights weren't on. He was wondering why the POLICE CAR in the other lane was flashing him. Good times.

Not sure about the fuel miles though.

Dallas09
02-28-2009, 10:50 PM
My A4 cluster is always backlit, I always thought this was normal for America... I guess not? Ive always wanted to turn this off, could someone give me their code for the module so I could compare it to mine if anyone has it handy.. id like to see if a different country code will turn it off.

RyanSweeney
03-17-2009, 08:26 PM
Do you guys know if you can (easily) swap an S4 cluster into a 1999 (pre-facelift) A4?

markcm
06-27-2009, 11:19 PM
Do you guys know if you can (easily) swap an S4 cluster into a 1999 (pre-facelift) A4?

I'd have to say no. I just bought a 2001 S4 cluster for my 99.5 A4 and found that of the three connectors on the back, only 2 were the same. It looks like the center connector on the 2000+ models have about twice as many pins.

I did plug the two outer connectors in (green and blue) but the center Red connector (red on my 99's harness) did not match the larger grey connector on the cluster. About half the gauges seemed to work but it's not a clean swap. I googled to see if there were DIY's for adapting but couldn't find any, bummer!

If anybody has a DIY for adapting, please let me know otherwise there will be a nice low mile fully functional 2001 s4 cluster on the market soon (all good pixels).

biketsai
06-27-2009, 11:21 PM
I'd have to say no. I just bought a 2001 S4 cluster for my 99.5 A4 and found that of the three connectors on the back, only 2 were the same. It looks like the center connector on the 2000+ models have about twice as many pins.

I did plug the two outer connectors in (green and blue) but the center Red connector (red on my 99's harness) did not match the larger grey connector on the cluster. About half the gauges seemed to work but it's not a clean swap. I googled to see if there were DIY's for adapting but couldn't find any, bummer!

If anybody has a DIY for adapting, please let me know otherwise there will be a nice low mile fully functional 2001 s4 cluster on the market soon (all good pixels).

That is unfortunate, its just so sexy!

sixfiveoh
06-28-2009, 02:17 PM
If anybody has a DIY for adapting, please let me know otherwise there will be a nice low mile fully functional 2001 s4 cluster on the market soon (all good pixels).

How low mileage are we talkin?

[:D]

markcm
06-28-2009, 03:28 PM
How low mileage are we talkin?

[:D]

Hey sixfiveoh, I just bought the home link visor from you[:)]

The cluster I have has 61.6k on it; I'm pretty bummed because I just replaced my engine with a 61k Mile motor so it's a perfect match there but the center connector doesn't match up.

Yes, these look freaking great. I put it in and drooled for a moment but without the center connector it just doesn't work completely.

Here's a few shots to drool on:
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_aaXkHrqk8vI/SkfszCgzQqI/AAAAAAAAENU/Yyv0dvRDsZQ/s400/S4%20gaugeCluster-2001.JPGhttp://lh4.ggpht.com/_aaXkHrqk8vI/SkfszhMOPrI/AAAAAAAAENY/Sk-b9ox_WMA/s400/S4%20gaugeCluster-2002.JPG
And here are the back sides so you can see the difference of the harness connectors. This is the S4 (2001):
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_aaXkHrqk8vI/Skfs0k6pu-I/AAAAAAAAENg/jy8DtuwAC3Y/s400/S4%20gaugeCluster-2003.JPG
And here is the 1999.5 A4:
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_aaXkHrqk8vI/Skfs0BX_sDI/AAAAAAAAENc/mdq-AmyhWLE/s400/99.5%20A4%20gauge%20cluster.JPG

Using the Bentley, I made an adpater harness for the center connector (Red 32pin on year 2000, Black 20 pin on pre 2000) and also mapped out the blue and green connectors for both but have not yet completed the adaption of the bule/green connectors. I found that most all the pins match for the blue/green for both years, the biggest acception is the K-line which is moved from one to the other.

I've given this cluster to a friend with a 2000 although I did document the pin-out and have the red 32-pin to Black 20-pin adapter that I could share; if anyone wants to follow up the last few steps let me know.

fred2ka4
06-28-2009, 03:38 PM
Not to thread jack but I have a cluster question as well that involves vag recoding. How would I delete an immobilizer in my cluster since our cars did not come with it but the cluster I got from Docurley did and the car with the key under it keeps flashing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/interiorchange042.jpg

biketsai
06-28-2009, 05:14 PM
Not to thread jack but I have a cluster question as well that involves vag recoding. How would I delete an immobilizer in my cluster since our cars did not come with it but the cluster I got from Docurley did and the car with the key under it keeps flashing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/interiorchange042.jpg

I think K0mpressed knows some way of deleting the immobilizer. Not sure if it has to deal with the cluster though, id still message him.

fred2ka4
06-28-2009, 08:43 PM
I think K0mpressed knows some way of deleting the immobilizer. Not sure if it has to deal with the cluster though, id still message him.

Thanks, I'll do that ...... [up]

Sick Guy
07-31-2009, 12:39 AM
So program this for a V8 then to fix this? 00243 or 00244

lorge1989
03-16-2012, 09:38 AM
Bump from the dead. Just did this last night. Recoded so the correct RPMs are shown but my cluster won't turn off, even after the key has been removed and the doors locked. Anyone having similar issues? I have a hunch it might be the ignition switch.

biketsai
03-16-2012, 09:40 AM
Plug your A4 cluster back in and see if it still does it.

lorge1989
03-16-2012, 11:21 AM
Yeah, I did that and the old cluster works fine, except for all the dead pixels.

markcm
03-17-2012, 09:46 AM
Bump from the dead. Just did this last night. Recoded so the correct RPMs are shown but my cluster won't turn off, even after the key has been removed and the doors locked. Anyone having similar issues? I have a hunch it might be the ignition switch.

what year is your A4? if it is pre 2000 they are not fully compatible.

mobilesuit818
03-18-2012, 02:30 AM
All you 2000+ b5ers are so dang lucky...

I have a 99 and would love to install a s4 cluster....

Im going to cry now

lorge1989
03-18-2012, 11:14 AM
It is a 2000 A4. I think it might be an issue with the cluster itself.

bobdiggitydog
07-08-2012, 10:12 PM
For folks with pre-face lifts. I have a pre-face lift A4 and I am really interested in the S4 cluster. From my searches, it appears that the cluster from 1998-1999.5 can be converted to 2000.

this guide here (http://forums.audiworld.com/showthread.php?t=2797763) shows the detailed differences in the A4 clusters. Now, correct me if I'm wrong, but if the pre facelift model was rewired to fit the 2000 model, then the s4 cluster plugs should physically fit. You would still have immobilizer issues though, I'm sure. Although, there seems to be a tiny window were they were made without immobilizers (Not sure on that one)

I few points I noticed from the guide (http://forums.audiworld.com/showthread.php?t=2797763):

* "In regards to immobilizer on some early 2001 clusters this feature can not be disabled in the instrument cluster the little car key will flash some people cover it with electrical tape, but it will beep at start up for 3 seconds."

* "Also Can Bus was introduced in some early 2000+ models which meant that vehicle in 1998-1999 didn't have can-bus and some clusters from 2001-2001.5 didn't work the tachometer or speedometer was not functional."


Cluster 2 for 1998-1999.5 (pink) is about half way down the page.

Anyone care to chime in on that? Or am I completely off?

lorge1989
03-01-2013, 09:42 PM
Another bump still cannot figure this out!