PDA

View Full Version : Purchasing 2nd ECU for 2.8 30v, am I crazy?



mattyt
01-16-2009, 01:40 PM
Hi, all,

I have a 1998 A4 Avant Quattro 2.8 30v Tiptronic, and I'd like to have SpeedTuningUSA.com do the "flash" on it. I see that I can get another ECU for ~$100:

http://www.automotix.net/usedautoparts/1998-audi-a4-engine_computer-inventory.html

I would have Automotix ship it to Oliver at SpeedTuning, flash it, then have Oliver ship it to me.

Anyone have any experience with Automotix? I emailed them to double-check that the ones for $91.90 are correct for my car, but is there any way to tell for sure from the information provided? If there is something wrong with the ECU, will it harm my car to install it?

Are these dumb questions? Am I crazy? :)

Thanks in advance :)

-Matt

biketsai
01-16-2009, 01:55 PM
You have to make sure it is the same ECU box code.

akielb
01-16-2009, 02:39 PM
Pop open the ECU box and write down the #'s - then go on ebay and search for that #. You can usually find 2.8 ECU's for dirt cheap since not many people have uses for them(vs a 1.8T ECU).

Like HERE (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/98-99-00-01-Audi-A4-2-8-Auto-ECU-Engine-Computer_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp3286Q2em20Q2el 1116QQitemZ370125543700QQptZMotorsQ5fCarQ5fTruckQ5 fPartsQ5fAccessories) you could offer the guy $50 and see if he takes it. verify your ECU # first though.

mattyt
01-16-2009, 02:52 PM
Thanks, akielb. :) I've never tried to find the the ECU #, is there a "HOW-TO" somewhere? I did a quick Google search but haven't found anything yet.

Seerlah
01-16-2009, 03:16 PM
^ Simple open the ECU box and look at the serial number on the ECU. He is saying this just to confirm you do not order the wrong one. My browser is giving me problems, but you can find the link on this page for DIY: http://www.audidiy.com/b5a4.html


Thanks, akielb. :) I've never tried to find the the ECU #, is there a "HOW-TO" somewhere? I did a quick Google search but haven't found anything yet.

dougyfresh
01-16-2009, 03:20 PM
You have to make sure it is the same ECU box code.

second. as long as its the same box code it should work fine.



I have three 3ECUs for my B6. Two are spares sitting in a box (one stock and one stg1 flashed) just because.

mattyt
01-16-2009, 03:24 PM
Thanks, y'all, should be enough to get me going. :)

jskinny
01-16-2009, 05:53 PM
also check out ebay for the speedtuning chipping. I was looking the other day and you can bid or do buy it now for like 150 plus 20 shipping or something like that. I think its 250 on their website.

maxspeed
01-16-2009, 07:13 PM
revo tuning did wonders for my friends 24v vr6, i know its apples to apples but just my .02