PDA

View Full Version : 3'' V-band gasket



prodrive
12-16-2008, 12:18 AM
I tightened my v-band clamp until I am afraid of tightening more but I still have small leak. Any body knows ,where can I find a gasket ? Can I do it by myself from copper sheet or a chrome steel gasket with mineral fibre in between ? which one is good.

pac1085
12-16-2008, 04:23 AM
I've never heard of a v-band gasket, but you can get better v-bands which seal up. Vibrant makes them for example. One flange is male and one is female, so they fit together with no leaks.

http://vibrantperformance.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1022_1035_1067_1125_1160&products_id=159&osCsid=1a5ff1510aef4c74ef15419d3ed4ff1c

Seerlah
12-16-2008, 04:50 AM
You can also try some RVT gasket sealant maker. They can handle the high temps.

prodrive
12-16-2008, 05:19 AM
I've never heard of a v-band gasket, but you can get better v-bands which seal up. Vibrant makes them for example. One flange is male and one is female, so they fit together with no leaks.

http://vibrantperformance.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=1022_1035_1067_1125_1160&products_id=159&osCsid=1a5ff1510aef4c74ef15419d3ed4ff1c

This vibrant clamp kit looks good but I already have my downpipe and V-band turbo exhaust side. It's PITA to change.
I know that IE had 3'' v-band gaskets back in the time but they don't have them anymore or back ordered. I don't know.


You can also try some RVT gasket sealant maker. They can handle the high temps.

I checked that out man ,they are good for until 600F,thanks anyway.

pac1085
12-16-2008, 05:21 AM
You can also try some RVT gasket sealant maker. They can handle the high temps.

rtv wont work on exhaust applications..heh