PDA

View Full Version : Transmission coding problems



cbass
10-21-2004, 09:39 PM
So I was trying to recode the tiptronic transmission in my 1998 A4 1.8T Quattro and when I went to hit the recode button and type in a new code, it just reverted back to the old code. The code I was trying was 00011 and it wasn't sticking. The code that was already there was 00010. Anybody have any ideas on how to fix this? Can I maybe reset the TCM somehow? If so, how do I do it?
Thanks!

4ingDrive
10-22-2004, 06:20 AM
I'd like to know as well. I also had the same problem with my 99.5

dparnas
10-22-2004, 01:21 PM
What is the reason you are trying to recode to ..11? Some model transmissions will not accept some codes, it just depends on the model. The only guarantee is that it will hold the code that it comes with. If you are trying to change it to one of the "sport" codes, try a different one and see if it holds. Same thing happens for trying to recode the windows/locks. Some cars will take certain codes and others won't.

cbass
10-22-2004, 02:07 PM
Yeah, I found out what it is... the early non-DBW cars will only code to 00000 or 00010. I don't know the differences specifically, but I can tell a difference between the two. Anybody know exactly what is different about the two?
Thanks!