PDA

View Full Version : Key Fob Question



NorCal1.8T
10-14-2008, 09:51 PM
Somebody is selling a cut key fob in my area, but they dont know what year it is. My car is an '01. Now, im confused. If the key is already cut,that means i cant use it with my car right? So would i have to get a blank blade(where i can find one?) and then reprogram the remote?

http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x219/Norcal18T_2007/1f21481g2ZZZZZZZZZ8aac1dd2c47bb2211.jpg

T3hD0gg
10-14-2008, 09:53 PM
If it's already cut, then it's cut for their car. You will need to get a new key piece and have that cut for your car.

The key you have pictured is a B6 key though. I'm not sure if those will work on B5 because of the trunk button.

k0mpresd
10-14-2008, 09:55 PM
if it is that key in the picture it appears to be for a b6 car. since b5 cars do not have auto trunk openers. a 2 button remote is what you are looking for. also, you can find blank blades. or purchase a whole new top part of the remote that comes with a blank blade from a dealer. you can program the remote yourself if you have a 2nd key. and usa b5s dont have immo. :)

edit: ^ dude beat me to it.

NorCal1.8T
10-14-2008, 09:56 PM
ok got it thanks

k0mpresd
10-14-2008, 09:57 PM
it will probably work. but eh, you can find keys on ebay all day long for cheap. any style. might as well get the correct one.

NorCal1.8T
10-14-2008, 10:01 PM
can you guys help me find some, i tried ebay but im not finding anything

NorCal1.8T
10-14-2008, 10:07 PM
btw it says NAA on my spare key

Ado
10-14-2008, 10:11 PM
i have the same fob with the 3rd button on my B5 and it works well not the trunk button. you just have to get the right part number that works for the B5.

kingtr
10-14-2008, 10:19 PM
Pretty tough to find right one on Ebay... TONS of ones w/ trunk button, most of them cheaper than the one USED (w/ new blade) 2 button remote we "need."

NorCal1.8T
10-15-2008, 02:01 PM
any help?

audinutt
04-07-2013, 10:08 AM
In my experience if you use the app named voice commands everything works perfect.