PDA

View Full Version : 02 A6 VS 03 RS6 tranny



mdma2004
10-06-2008, 10:25 PM
Hi everyone, I have a 02 A6 2.7T with Tiptronic tranny
I heard from quite a few people that my tranny will not hold out too long if my car is gonna be stage 3
My biggest dilemma is How does the same tranny which is by audi specs
5speed HP24 automatic with tiptronic and DSP hold out RS6's 450 Hp, or what would i have to do, to work like the one in the RS6's
thanks everyone...

Scotty@Advanced
10-17-2008, 02:13 PM
Hi everyone, I have a 02 A6 2.7T with Tiptronic tranny
I heard from quite a few people that my tranny will not hold out too long if my car is gonna be stage 3
My biggest dilemma is How does the same tranny which is by audi specs
5speed HP24 automatic with tiptronic and DSP hold out RS6's 450 Hp, or what would i have to do, to work like the one in the RS6's
thanks everyone...

Your car has the 5HP19, the 5HP24 was used on the V8 cars.
Best option is to have your transmission modified by the people that do that stuff.

RS-MAD
10-30-2008, 02:25 AM
Apparently the RS6 uses a special bellhousing and wont interchange with the 5HP24 from A6/S6 V8's, unless someone who knows 100% can clarify this as being false?

Scotty@Advanced
10-30-2008, 09:27 AM
That is correct the RS6 transmission will not bolt up to an non RS6 engine without extensive modification. The RS6 torque converter is alot larger than the V6/V8 torque converter, meaning a larger bell housing on the RS6.

RS-MAD
10-30-2008, 02:37 PM
Would it be then that the RS6 uses the W12 bellhousing and torque convertor?

Scotty@Advanced
10-31-2008, 08:12 AM
Would it be then that the RS6 uses the W12 bellhousing and torque convertor?


That is the rumor, but isn't the W12 a 6 speed? I havn't had an opportunity to get a W12 trans or anything at the shop.

RS-MAD
11-01-2008, 03:55 AM
There was a 5HP24 used on the W12 and also the 6HP32 from what I can find on the internet.

mdma2004
11-24-2008, 06:32 PM
wow, i dont think im gonna do that much work, cause gettin that tranny modified is very expensive, might as well sell the A6, and get the RS6, cause it will be cheaper to buy one, other than makin an A6 look and run like the RS6...
ive talked to the techs at audi also, yeah, that tranny will not fit period, just cause of the layout underneath the car, and it will not fit that engine, they didnt specify why or anything, but they said there is a website, that builds trannys for A6...too expensive