PDA

View Full Version : just installed a k04..sounds like a fighter jet



4inchMAF
10-02-2008, 10:09 PM
it is SOOOO loud. ive had a 30R...t3/t4...etc.... never in my life have i heard a turbo so loud... what could this be?

onepoint8tee
10-02-2008, 10:20 PM
Thats what happens when a turbo the size of your nut pushes ~20+ psi :)

Did you get it new or used?

yung turbo
10-02-2008, 10:28 PM
what software are you running with it?

biketsai
10-02-2008, 10:28 PM
Is this a good thing or bad thing? lol

Syrus5o
10-02-2008, 10:32 PM
In my 20th I had a 71r and I heard the turbo more with my chipped ko3s. I think it's because of my external wastegate.

Militant-Grunt
10-02-2008, 11:04 PM
Did you prime the turbo? (Crank motor without starting car for a good minute before actually starting car?) This is done to lubricate the turbo which has no oil in it.

onepoint8tee
10-02-2008, 11:11 PM
The turbo isn't gunna get hurt on the first start if you don't "prime" it. I know many Audi and VW techs who don't advise that. When I worked at the dealer I asked a vw tech if he did that after a k03 install on a passat. He laughed in my face. There is literaly about 5 seconds that goes by without circulation if you don't prime it.

t1demont1
10-02-2008, 11:41 PM
if a motor can withstand it from being freshly built, i think a turbo can handle it too.

solowb5
10-03-2008, 06:14 AM
K04s are just loud. It was the loudest turbo I've ever ran and I love the sound it made.

thenofjboy
10-03-2008, 06:22 AM
What should the KO4 be boosting around? I thought i was supposed to be around 20 psi but i am boosting to only 17 or so. maybe i have a leak, ill have to check. i do have a RACE TEC FMIC & they confirmed i shouldnt see less than 1psi loss of boost if that.
No intentions of thread hijacking either :) thanks in advance

fikes
10-03-2008, 07:52 AM
What is your chip? K04 is capable of boosting up to 25psi depending on supporting mods. Its not really going to add much power but wont hurt.

docurley
10-03-2008, 08:10 AM
What map you running and yep check for leaks or may be the N75 is playing up.

My K04 will boost to around 24psi but I have pulled it in with my electronic boost controller as I only have a K03s map oh and like you I have a Racetec FMIC and yep these turbo's are loud...... love it.

solowb5
10-03-2008, 08:24 AM
actually the J31 will boost upto 28 psi

kingtr
10-03-2008, 09:41 AM
actually the J31 will boost upto 28 psi

Man, I always wonder when I see suggested numbers like these. I have 01 w/ GIAC FX K04 (Hammer file) and with my FMIC I see 18-19 spikes and hold 16-17. Car feels great and runs strong. These 20+ numbers always throw me off. Should I be anywhere near those numbers?

ModifiedA4
10-03-2008, 10:08 AM
to the OP: something is wrong.

destrolock
10-03-2008, 10:30 AM
Yea OP I would say something is wrong. You probably have a boost leak somewhere. I have a K04 and its pretty quiet even under full boost, (I have a hammer file). With a test pipe, I do notice the whine we all love when the turbo starts to spool at low RPM's, is that what you are talking about? If its making a FFFFFFSHHHHHHHHHHHHHH sound at full boost then yea you have a leak.

GetBoosted84
10-03-2008, 10:37 AM
4inchMAF, make sure your SAI is tied in correctly too. That thing is loud if you disconnect it from the hard line that runs between the k04 and the valve cover.

I had that issue a little while ago because I had a rip in that little plastic flex hose that runs from the hard line to the SAI.

solowb5
10-03-2008, 10:55 AM
I've boosted 25 psi on a upsolute file before. You just need to get a mbc/ebc and probally a diode if needed to dial it in better. Also runing a 2.5" I/C piping will probally rob a few psi from a k04. It really needs to be 2-2.25"

thenofjboy
10-03-2008, 11:00 AM
What is your chip? K04 is capable of boosting up to 25psi depending on supporting mods. Its not really going to add much power but wont hurt.

I have a GIAC chip on my 98 B5. most of time hit around 16-18. but before when i was running my chipped KO3, stock FPR and KO4 chip IIRC, i was spiking higher than i am now. I also remember being in 5th gear and flooring it and i would spike to around 20-21 but not in the same situation, i only hit aorund 15-16.
this sucks lol back to reading up on boost leaks..thought i was past this but here we go again. TIA for any help/advice.

GetBoosted84
10-03-2008, 11:08 AM
Man, I always wonder when I see suggested numbers like these. I have 01 w/ GIAC FX K04 (Hammer file) and with my FMIC I see 18-19 spikes and hold 16-17. Car feels great and runs strong. These 20+ numbers always throw me off. Should I be anywhere near those numbers?

19 psi is the spec boost for that file according to GIAC... you could run higher depending on your mods. I ran 20-21 psi through the k04 with my boost machine.

AE Performance
10-03-2008, 02:39 PM
I have a GIAC chip on my 98 B5. most of time hit around 16-18. but before when i was running my chipped KO3, stock FPR and KO4 chip IIRC, i was spiking higher than i am now. I also remember being in 5th gear and flooring it and i would spike to around 20-21 but not in the same situation, i only hit aorund 15-16.
this sucks lol back to reading up on boost leaks..thought i was past this but here we go again. TIA for any help/advice.

Sadly, sounds like a boost leak to me. Thats a big drop, and K04s are more than capable of pushing more than 15-16psi. May also be your DV if you havent serviced it in a while. It could be sticking.

thenofjboy
10-03-2008, 03:04 PM
Sadly, sounds like a boost leak to me. Thats a big drop, and K04s are more than capable of pushing more than 15-16psi. May also be your DV if you havent serviced it in a while. It could be sticking.

yeh i gota check all the hoses and read up on the N75 (havent read a while about that one :) but i have a Baily DV i got from AWE when i 1st got chipped and i have taken it apart n put a lil grease in there. buy maybe it is the DV, when i 1st drive its like its warming up. it whistles when i shift around 3K & then its warmed up i gues after a couple mins. but its been doing that for a while, i think but maybe its the dv. time to get under there......

GetBoosted84
10-04-2008, 03:31 PM
QUOTE from OverSpun, "yea. it sounds like an airplane.. that whirring noise.. my k03 does that too. no biggie." (Taken from this thread (http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18549))

Also, here is another guy who had the same "airplane" noise and it was a boost leak, http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18549

It's not the turbo.

boostedup
10-04-2008, 03:51 PM
my girls 225 TT with neuspeed p-chip and intake is LOUD, much louder than my chipped ko3sport. it's loud spooling AND loud releasing. (she also has a forge DV)

djwimbo
10-04-2008, 03:59 PM
yeh i gota check all the hoses and read up on the N75 (havent read a while about that one :) but i have a Baily DV i got from AWE when i 1st got chipped and i have taken it apart n put a lil grease in there. buy maybe it is the DV, when i 1st drive its like its warming up. it whistles when i shift around 3K & then its warmed up i gues after a couple mins. but its been doing that for a while, i think but maybe its the dv. time to get under there......

Do the Bailey's DV's have interchangeable springs? Make sure you have the correct spring in there.

On any of the GIAC K04 files we've done at the shop the cars will hit and hold 19-20psi, if not more.

One of our MK4 customers noticed a bit of a pressure drop after installing his FMIC, but it shouldn't be as significant as what you're experiencing.

thenofjboy
10-05-2008, 03:43 PM
Do the Bailey's DV's have interchangeable springs? Make sure you have the correct spring in there.

On any of the GIAC K04 files we've done at the shop the cars will hit and hold 19-20psi, if not more.

One of our MK4 customers noticed a bit of a pressure drop after installing his FMIC, but it shouldn't be as significant as what you're experiencing.


how was bas the significant drop-#'s? i have a RACE TEC but man my KO4 doest even spike to 19, i must have a leak or maybe a faulty N75. i really gota get to to the bottom of this. also, when i get on it boost builds up strong but IIRC it starts dropping rather fast in higher rpms. i know there is a huge torque spike with the KO4, which is great! today floored in 1st i hit 15-psi (low for the KO4!) and in 5th i hit around 15-17 (still low)
I also baily DV from AWE - the piston one i guess. theres no spring. i briefly looked all the vacuum hoses on my AEB engine, dv, the evil L; i gota look more throughly tonite. could it have anything to do with the chip and how it was put in by AWE a month or so ago? or my ECU? It took a long time for them to put the chip on the computer, they its because its a newer chip and a older computer..new technology on an older computer..something like that. I about to make that boost tester and pressurize my system - hope i can hear the leak over the sound of the compressor, might have to get a long hose!!
TIA :) [wrench]

michael66899
10-05-2008, 09:53 PM
^^ I'm having the same issues, no front mount here, but in first and second I will spike at 15 and it will drop to around 11 by 6000 rpm. Third it holds strong at 16-17 all the way up, and in 4th if I roll on it it will hit 17 and build to 20 by 5000 rpm. I don't know what the deal is, I'm going to do some logging tomorrow and check for boost leaks.

thenofjboy
10-06-2008, 01:16 PM
^^ I'm having the same issues, no front mount here, but in first and second I will spike at 15 and it will drop to around 11 by 6000 rpm. Third it holds strong at 16-17 all the way up, and in 4th if I roll on it it will hit 17 and build to 20 by 5000 rpm. I don't know what the deal is, I'm going to do some logging tomorrow and check for boost leaks.

yup sounds about the same for me. ANd from what this thread says above and what i read -we should be boosting to around 19-20. but unforuntatly i do not have anyway of logging -vagcom. I was goin to make a vid of my boost gauge going through all 5 gears..
Now i go tinker in the garage and look around. I read somwhere last nite about a possbile clogged/blocked CAT. They said to loosen the 3 bolts from the turbo to the CAt and drive around - & see if you boost better. The kid with the problem did this and he was able to acheive more boost. but i dont think this was theonly problem he was having....
i love boost but hate it when its not at its fullest

thenofjboy
10-08-2008, 02:26 PM
TTT

GetBoosted84
10-08-2008, 03:28 PM
TTT

lol, why are you bumping 4inchMAF's thread? Are you still having issues? Might be better for your cause to start a thread dedicated to your particular issue. Just my 2 cents.

thenofjboy
10-08-2008, 04:55 PM
point well taken hahah
last time i bumped it somone posted with a very similar problem :)

4inchMAF
10-10-2008, 12:25 AM
ive had a 3071r and that was LOUD. this is louder. its annoying to drive the car.

boost is VERY VERY erratic. the needle on the boost gauge is ALL over the place. i put a k03 back on and it was all back to normal.put the k04 back on and same stuff.... very frustrating.

oh. its on unitronic stage 1+ with all the bolt ons....
..and i bought it used on these classifieds...

GetBoosted84
10-10-2008, 06:41 AM
I tried to call you the other day after you called me but it went to VM to try to figure out what's going on with your setup.

audikid66
10-10-2008, 06:51 AM
i like my k04(mines got ported and polished hotside and larger compressor wheel)...when its cold out ill spike up to 23 lbs.. hold 20 then by like 5000 rpm im at around 15 then after that by redline ill be at like 12-13.. water/meth soon! then i can turn the boost up a lil bit and advamce some timing

4inchMAF
10-10-2008, 07:44 PM
i like my k04(mines got ported and polished hotside and larger compressor wheel)...when its cold out ill spike up to 23 lbs.. hold 20 then by like 5000 rpm im at around 15 then after that by redline ill be at like 12-13.. water/meth soon! then i can turn the boost up a lil bit and advamce some timing

thanks for the help... thats why my turbos doing this. [headbang]