PDA

View Full Version : Upgraded HID Bulbs



rocky.ca
09-24-2008, 11:10 AM
hey guys, I've been searching around but cant find some sort of concrete answer to my question. I have stock HID's in my 2000 A4 1.8t and in my opinion they arent blue enough, I am under the impression that they are 4300k. I want to go to 6000k, is there any way that i can just buy 2 H7 HID bulbs that are 6000k and throw them into the stock setup? If this is the case, where would a good place be to pick them up, online only, and what would the brightest / best bulb available.

DuviVr6
09-24-2008, 11:29 AM
I am sure you can get some D2S or D2R whatever the case is and use them with your ballast! and you will be golden no work to be done!

go to here and look at the buls they are $30!

http://www.ddmtuning.com/hidkihidbuhi.html

Jared71482
09-24-2008, 12:15 PM
Get Philips Ultinon D2S bulbs only. Anything else wont last long.

datacrime
09-24-2008, 12:46 PM
Hey,

I sell HID bulbs and Ballasts kits in Toronto... I have all kinds in stock... If your interested in picking them up locally and not having to get them shipped in PM me.

Thanks

Seerlah
09-24-2008, 01:09 PM
You should be able to just swap bulb temperatures to whatever you want. If you have an HID kit (and not Xenon), then just get 6000k H7 bulbs and plug them in.

rocky.ca
09-24-2008, 02:58 PM
im not sure if i have HID's or XENONs. im pretty sure they are the same thing, correct me if i am wrong. I have whatever comes stock with audis.

Seerlah
09-24-2008, 03:55 PM
They are different type of bulbs. If you have OEM Xenon, they are different from the plug in HID aftermarket kit.

Halogen uses H7 bulbs
OEM Xenon/HID uses D2S bulbs (still uses H7 for the high beam)

As another stated, get quality so you do not have to worry about bulbs again. Get the Phillips one and you can choose the temperature (not cheap, but quality is top notch). Just make sure it uses D2S and not an H7 from an HID kit the previous owner installed.

rocky.ca
09-24-2008, 04:02 PM
they are stock xeons... ds2 i beleive. everything is oem, my car has every single option from the factory :) thanks for the help guys, my questions are all answered :)