PDA

View Full Version : Key remote not working?



RoadRage
09-18-2008, 09:23 AM
Both of my keys do not work. I thought it might be the batteries, so I switched them all out, still nothing.

I looked in the manual and found this:

"Synchronizing the system

If you cannot lock or unlock the vehicle using the remote, then the system must be synchronized.

To synchronize, press the remote control. button. Then, within one minute, lock or unlock the door lock.

The system is now functional."

Bull shit. First of all, what the fuck are they talking about? The remote has 3 buttons. I tried to follow this, as I understand it, and it didn't do anything.

I must be doing it wrong. How do you "synchronize the system?" In english please.

FYI: The period between control and button, is in the manual. [confused]

crono35
09-18-2008, 10:16 AM
I think what you do is press the lock/unlock button, then use the key to manually lock or unlock the door.

Here's what I remember doing:

1.) insert key into (locked) door.
2.) press unlock button.
3.) turn key, unlock door.

Of course, make sure the battery in the remote is still fine before doing this.

RoadRage
09-18-2008, 11:40 AM
Ok, I just tried what you suggested.

1. Key into locked door
2. pushed and released unlock button
3. turned key to unlock door.

nothing happened.

So I tried pushing and holding the unlock button as I turned the key to unlock the door. Still nothing. I also tried doing this with the door unlocked and pushing the lock button while locking the door. That didn't do anything either. I checked the batteries again. They're brand new and installed correctly.

I don't get this. Everything was working fine a few days ago.

Any other suggestions?

crono35
09-18-2008, 01:21 PM
you can try using this method, if you have another keY:

http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=227670&highlight=program+key

B5A4Kevin
09-18-2008, 05:40 PM
if you have vag-com and can access central locking/comfort module, you can program your remotes using adaptation channel 21.

If not, the way i always manually program b5-b7s is as follows
1)roll down window just in case
2)insert unprogrammed key fob into driver's door lock
3)manually lock doors. let key return to center.
4)hold unlock for 2 seconds. turn key to unlock position. return to center. hold unlock for 2 more seconds.
5)remove key from door lock. get in vehicle. key on engine off. hold unlock for 2 more seconds. turn key off. press unlock (2 more seconds). remove key. remote is now programmed.

it sounds like a lot of steps and it is actually too many. but when you get used to doing it for a while, the entire process takes about 10 seconds. this method is not official. it is a variation. it has way too many button pressings. however it makes sure that the vehicle gets the remote signal correctly and it always works for me. if this still doesnt work, open both remotes (as if to replace battery) and check for any corrosion. "none" is pretty much the only passing grade. if your remote has been dunked in the pool or a lake or something, and you dont let it dry before pressing the buttons it WILL short out and you will need to buy a new fob portion. i accidentally went swimming with my remote in my pocket but once i realized it, i hopped out, quickly dismantled it and let air dry for 10 minutes. went to the car after the pool and it still worked fine. only had to reprogram because i took it apart. hope this helps. peace.

RoadRage
09-18-2008, 05:53 PM
In response to crono35's post:

I just tried that method. Same results, nothing happened.

Is it possible that both my keys just crapped out at the same time? It doesn't seem likely, but recently everything on my car has been failing, so it wouldn't surprise me.

RoadRage
09-18-2008, 06:11 PM
b5a4Kevin:
Ok, I just tried your method, several times, with both my keys. Didn't work at all.

What do you mean when you say, "get in vehicle. key on engine off."

Are you saying put the key in the ignition and turn it to the 1 or 2 spot. because I tried it by just putting it in the ignition, turning it to the 1 spot, and turning it to the 2 spot. No results with any of that.

I took apart both keys earlier today to replace the batteries. I didn't find any corrosion or anything that looked broken or damaged.

I don't have vag-com. Anyone in the Park Ridge, IL area with vag-com? Please PM me.

crono35
09-18-2008, 06:55 PM
hm, maybe your receiver is failing? Try clicking the remotes near the rear right window (I think that's where the antenna for the receiver is). If the signal is weak then being closer to it may help. Long shot, but only takes a second.

98 a4
09-19-2008, 08:17 AM
hey wut kind of battery does the remote take because my remote only works when i'm about a foot away from the vehicle...so i'm going to change the batt and hopfully it'll work better

RoadRage
09-19-2008, 08:50 AM
The remotes take 2 cr1620 batteries. I found them at a jewelery store. They charged me $6.95 each.

Back to my problem.

I've tried all these suggestions. I've been searching the bentley tech forums. Nothing is working.

I also pulled up my back seat, but I didn't see anything under the seat that looked like a receiver. All that's under the seat is a bunch of wires running along a channel. I read that some of the models have the receiver in the trunk by the right rear tail light. Is this the case on a 99.5? What does the receiver look like?

crono35
09-19-2008, 09:34 AM
did you replace the batteries in both remotes at once?

RoadRage
09-19-2008, 03:40 PM
No, I only replaced the batteries in one of the remotes. Both remotes weren't working before I replaced the batteries.

wilwil19
02-01-2009, 05:41 AM
hi u have to unluk the door with ur key then but the key into ign bositon 2 then bress open on the remote all in 30sec thats all

anguswritt
02-04-2009, 06:05 AM
It could be your reciever which is located under the back seat, sort of in the middle. I just so happen to have one from a 99.5 a4 lying around if you would like a new one[up]

jbrentd
02-04-2009, 06:59 AM
Is there any way to test the receiver? I've tried just about every way there is to reprogram the remote without any luck.

spyder101
02-08-2009, 04:12 PM
FYI....this is for everyone who want's to know how to properly program remotes for B5 A4/S4.

1. roll down drivers side window

2.stick valet or flip portion of key into ignition cylinder and turn ignition on

3.stand next to the drivers door and with the secondary key(s) (and all remotes), lock the drivers door using the lock cylnder and pull the key out

4.Press the unlock button on remote number 1 only once. When pressed, you should see the side marker light flash.

5.Wait 15 seconds and then press the unlock button from the same remote again. You will now see the locking rod pop up on the door. Key 1 is now coded.

6.If you have more than 1 key, continue as follws

7.leave everything the way it is..I.E. key in igntion, window rolled down etc..

8.Lock the door again, using lock cylinder, pull the key out and with the second remote, press the unlock button 2 times. You will now see the side marker light flash 2 times. Wait 15 seconds again and then press the unlock button from the same remote one time. Locking rod should pop up.

9. repeat steps for 3 keys...example is with 3rd key, press the unlock button 3 times so on and so forth.

hopes this clears things up for everyone