PDA

View Full Version : Racetec power distribution???



fred2ka4
09-17-2008, 05:14 PM
Well I finally got my used battery and Racetec bar situated so I thought I would post up a few pictures as I made a little alteration to the Racetec bar and wanted to get your opinions as to what you guys think.

I should have a definite answer as to the price for the bars and if you are interested please post up on the thread in the chatter box sections as having all the interest in one place will make it easier for me to see if it is worth doing or not.

Thanks and let me know what you think.


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/Racetec002.jpg


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/Racetec003.jpg


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/Racetec001.jpg


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/Racetec004.jpg

karmad
09-17-2008, 05:58 PM
Wat does it do

fred2ka4
09-17-2008, 06:19 PM
Wat does it do

It was my way of solving a problem for me but might be useful information if others decide to switch to an Optima battery that is reversed. The cables were not long enough to reach to where the positive post is now so I came up with this solution. I ran a 4 gauge cable from the positive battery terminal to a distribution block. The other cables were then connected to the new block.

Some people like to use butt connectors but I had the distribution block and I don't like connectors on larger cables as they tend to come loose. This way I can tighten them when needed and it's easy to take off as well. Here are a few more pics with one of my favorite functions. The car is off and you can see that the voltage is at 12.4 volts via the L.E.D. display. It charges at about 14.2 volts and it turns off automatically after 15 seconds.


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/Racetec008.jpg


http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j91/fred2ka4/Racetec008.jpg

zrowcool
09-17-2008, 08:56 PM
I have those same battery terminals. be careful with the ground wire for the voltmeter. mine shorted out and pretty much disintegrated. i had it installed just the way you do. i guess the amperage was too high being direct to ground. i would suggest a chassis ground

Militant-Grunt
09-17-2008, 08:58 PM
Did you notice any difference in the feel of the car?

fred2ka4
09-18-2008, 07:44 AM
Did you notice any difference in the feel of the car?

I'm not sure what you mean. Are you confusing this with a ground kit where everything is ground at one location? If so this is not the same and there is no difference as it is just an easier way way for me to route power to the battery.

And I think it looks cool to ......... [cool] [>_<]

boostedup
09-18-2008, 03:40 PM
I'm not sure what you mean. Are you confusing this with a ground kit where everything is ground at one location? If so this is not the same and there is no difference as it is just an easier way way for me to route power to the battery.

And I think it looks cool to ......... [cool] [>_<]



i think he's asking about your strut tower bar, is that custom made?

mike-2ptzero
09-18-2008, 04:13 PM
i think he's asking about your strut tower bar, is that custom made?

it is an old Racetec strut bar that they no longer make. Fred is looking at having another shop make some more at a lower price.

fred2ka4
09-18-2008, 04:15 PM
i think he's asking about your strut tower bar, is that custom made?

The bar really tightened up the front end and the car is a lot more responsive. The bar has been discontinued but I am having a local fabricator make more if anyone is interested. On a side note I feel the bar helped when I got hit to lesson the damage, so structural integrity was increased as well but I have no other way to prove this other than my own experience.

Just click on the link and post up if you are interested and I will include you in the GB.

http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=235261

fred2ka4
09-19-2008, 08:26 AM
Also just in case you guys didn't know, this bar is made form mechanical seamless tubing so it is very strong but very light weight as well, (about 6-7 lbs)

If this had been made of regular scheduled 40 tubing material, it would probably weigh about 40 lbs.


http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=235261