PDA

View Full Version : converting H1 to HID



AudiTumbo
09-12-2008, 12:40 PM
Hi.
I just bouhgt a convert-kit for my H1 lamps.

I have a question:

- it says "Please use a fuse of 20A". So there is a special fuse for headlights? How do I know which one it is? Normally there are 15's for headlamps, right?

Seerlah
09-12-2008, 01:14 PM
I had no idea Eurospec was H1. As far as I knew, they were H7. The fuse panel has a separate fuse designated for each headlamp (driver's side and passenger's side). They are basically saying to replace the fuse with a 20amp fuse (if it there is a 15amp fuse in there currently). But the coversion should be basically plug and play. [tangent: oh, you are the person whom has the aftermarket headlights w/the LEDs. I will go on assumption that those headlights use H1 bulbs].

You would cut a 1" hole in the back cover for the low beam of both headlights. The rubber groument from the HID kit will be placed there (the cable that has the bulbs attached). You place the bulb in the socket (for the low beam), making sure not to touch the bulb (wearing latex gloves is recommended). Run the cable that has the bulb through the 1" hole you cut out and place the rubber groument into the 1" cut out (if you can not get the connector to fit through the 1" cut out, you can try taking of the retaining clip of the connector and placing it back on when you get it through the 1" cut out. I myself used a dremel and made ~1" cut out so it was not perfect and there was no way the connector was going to fit through the hole. So, I cut the wires and then spliced them back on the other side then sealed it with heated shrinking tube). Then seal it good (the rubber groument) with silicone (I used waterproof window silicone for mine) as to avoid any moisture from entering the headlamp. After that, all should be plug and play. There will be only one place each wire and cable has a chance to being hooked up to. So, you can not get it wrong.

black/brown=negative
red/purple=posotive

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 03:41 AM
Thanx for the grate answer!

Yes, I'm the guy with the A5/S5 lights on my A4.
Yupp, originals had H7. These have H1.

So you say I don't have to switch the fuses to 20a?
In the "Installation manual" is says:

For H1, H7, 9006, please use a fuse of 20A. (Fuses of 20A a below will milt in turning on the lamp)

Seerlah
09-13-2008, 04:27 AM
If the instructions say to use a 20amp fuse, I would go on assumption that you should. I myself did not change it. I do not know if there is a 15amp or 20 amp fuse in there though (I will confirm which one later as I just got up and am rather lazy at the moment). Our stock headlights are 55 watts. I have a 55w HID kit (many people whom install HID kits go with the 35 watt). Really, I see no reason to replace the fuse. But if the instructions say so, I would take the precaution and do so.

*if you have a 35w HID kit, I really see no reason to increase the amperage of the fuse. but if you have a 55w, it may be more prudent to take the manufacturers advice.

Edit: Just checked and I have a 15 amp fuse. To increase it to 20 amp is like a 75 cents insurance for your headlights.

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 08:58 AM
*if you have a 35w HID kit, I really see no reason to increase the amperage of the fuse. but if you have a 55w, it may be more prudent to take the manufacturers advice.

It's 35w kit. (8000K bulbs)
Btw..where did you mont your Ballasts? Under the lights, or somewhere in the engine bay?

Seerlah
09-13-2008, 09:17 AM
If the ballast is slim enough, then place it right under the headlights (the OEM Valeo has a space underneath the headlights supposed to be designated for thier Xenon ballast). Just get some industrial strength velcro and place them there.

On my HID kit, the ballasts were huge. There was no way I could make it fit. I bought 3mm double sided sticky tape from Autozone (that is some strong tape) and placed a couple straps on each ballast. For the driver's side headlight, I placed it in that space next to the power steering fluid resevoir. Some say it is not good to place it there as the generated heat is not good for the ballast. I have had no problems as of yet and I have lifetime warranty on bulbs and ballast so not a big concern of mine. For the passenger's side, it was more tricky. Right under the where you would place the headlights, there is is like a plastic support (for I don't know what) on the chasis. I placed the ballast upside down (maybe 1/4 of the ballast at an angle would not completely fit under there) underneath there and used the 3mm double sided sticky tape to hold it in place. The tape is very strong, so there really is no worry on my part if it would come loose or not.

*note that I used as much sticky tape on the ballast as I could. I think it was maybe 3 strips per ballast. and if you choose to mount the ballast on the chasis, make sure to wipe the area down with rubbing alcohol and wipe it dry before applying sticky tape.

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 09:33 AM
Hi Seerlah.
First of all, thanx for your help! Very apriciated.

When I put the original A4 B5 HID's on my A4 some 4 years ago, there was a space for the ballast under the original lights.

These new A5/S5 lights for the A4, don't have the space under. Even if they had, these ballasts would never fit. I'll see what I do. I think I have a strong double side tape home.

Here is a picture of the HID kit and the ballast. And in the back, you can see my original lights, with the H7 HID.

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/2207/hidui9.jpg
P.S. The kit you see is a H4 kit, that I'm gonna install on my other car, but the H1 one, which is in my garage, looks exactly the same.

Seerlah
09-13-2008, 09:41 AM
I will take pics of mine in a few minutes (as to where I mounted them) as I have nothing to do really. Give me maybe 20 min.

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 09:44 AM
I will take pics of mine in a few minutes (as to where I mounted them) as I have nothing to do really. Give me maybe 20 min.

Okay! That would be great. Since I'm about to give it all a try in about 20 mins. The sun will go down in 1.5 hours here, and I'd like some sunlight to do this.

Seerlah
09-13-2008, 10:21 AM
I am uploading the photos now. But if you did not assemble the headlights yet, I would wait till tommorow (if sun is about to go down) to install. It will take time to make the 1" cut out (not to mention the cleaning of the debris of plastic left) and a couple minutes for the silicone to stiffen (important as to avoid water condensation inside headlights).

*pics to come in a few minutes. photobucket is slow

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 10:26 AM
I am uploading the photos now. But if you did not assemble the headlights yet, I would wait till tommorow (if sun is about to go down) to install.
I will do it in the garage and have some extra lighting with me. Wanna do it today, since I'm gonna drive all day to another town tomorrow, and want good lighs when I'll drive dutring the night.



*pics to come in a few minutes. photobucket is slow

Use imageshack :)

Seerlah
09-13-2008, 10:30 AM
Here are the pics (and please pardon the dirty engine bay):

For the driver's side
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee147/seerlah/PICT0345.jpg

For the passenger's side (it is actually mounted right under the housing designated for the headlight. I cleaned under there with rubbing alcohol and wiped it dry before placing it there)
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee147/seerlah/PICT0346.jpg

And a nice trick for that last bolt to make it stick to the tork bit (paper towel) when placing back. A nice extended magnet is also nice to have handy when doing this in case you drop the screw (which I did many times).
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee147/seerlah/PICT0347-2.jpg

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 12:38 PM
Thanx for the help man!

I was down in the garage and tried to mont these lights...
Well, the installation of the ballast will not be a problem.
But...a problem is this:

http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/9043/hidsz8.jpg

The hole is little to small for the bulb! I didn't dare to try to push it in there!

And now what? Do I have to pick the whole lamp apart in to pieces, and then file the whole??

Damn, I thought this was going to be easy :(

goody6691
09-13-2008, 01:17 PM
yeah, get back to us on that, i dont want to get the lights if i cant put hids in them.

Seerlah
09-13-2008, 03:17 PM
That is strange. I don't know how your headlights are, but if it calls for H1 it should fit with no problem.

You do not have to take apart the headlights. If it is the same size of the H1 bulb that is in there then there should be no fitment issue. Are you sure that the kit they sent you has H1 bulbs (they could have easily just sent you the wrong bulbs by mistake)?

An HID kit really is a simple. No filing should be needed and so forth. But again, I do not know those headlights so some clearer pictures would really help. More (clearer) pictures please.

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 05:00 PM
That is strange. I don't know how your headlights are, but if it calls for H1 it should fit with no problem.

You do not have to take apart the headlights. If it is the same size of the H1 bulb that is in there then there should be no fitment issue. Are you sure that the kit they sent you has H1 bulbs (they could have easily just sent you the wrong bulbs by mistake)?

An HID kit really is a simple. No filing should be needed and so forth. But again, I do not know those headlights so some clearer pictures would really help. More (clearer) pictures please.

I won't be home tomorrow, but the day after that I'll take some more pictures!

If the hole on the headlights would be 1mm wider, the bulb would fit.

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 05:09 PM
On this pic, you see that it says H1 on the headlight.
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/9043/hidsz8.jpg

Here is my HID kit:
http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/7637/hid1sv3.jpg

And then, here is my H1 8000K bulb. It clearly says H1 on the bulb:
http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/7315/hid2kg9.jpg

The bulb just doesn't fit in that hole as I told you above...
Why??
Shall I complain to the headlight maker, or try to fil a bigger hole somehow...?

Seerlah
09-13-2008, 05:30 PM
That is a strange situation. But yeah, if you feel that you could file the socket 1mm wider and not damage the structure of the headlight I say go for it [up].

I have the Valeo Eurospec headlights and had to do some modification to my headlights when I did the conversion (added HID at same time). The turn signal sockets were different (US spec and Euro spec) and I had ended up using the the ones from my US spec headlights. Even then, I had to dremel off some of it to make it fit properly, but it all worked out well.

I say go for it.

AudiTumbo
09-13-2008, 11:40 PM
That is a strange situation. But yeah, if you feel that you could file the socket 1mm wider and not damage the structure of the headlight I say go for it [up].

Question is, am I suppose to pick the whole thing apart, or try to file without picking it all apart?
I mean, maybe a vacuum cleaner next to it that sucks up the dust? Or is the risk to big that parts will fall into the headlight?

Seerlah
09-14-2008, 06:28 AM
Take whichever route you seem best fitting. This is where we find out how to make things work and DIY write ups derive from.

If the part that needs filing is thin and can be filed down in a matter of frustrating minutes to an hour, I would just go that route. Maybe use a dremel type device and see if there are metal bits to grind it down. Of course there will be metal debris that will fall into the headlight housing, but what you could do is get a powerfull vacuum like a shop vac and used compressed air to move any particles that decide to hug the walls of the inside of the headlights. Get those loose and let the shop vac do the cleaning. But of course, there is no guarantee that you will have it perfectly clean to how you would want it. Another more than likely would not notice the left over particles (there will be some left over) but you would.

If I were in your predicament, I would have taken the route I just suggested.


*disclaimer:I am not held responsible for the advice I just gave

AudiTumbo
09-15-2008, 12:35 PM
Alright. Today I found time to really try myself on finishing this project.

Here is the headlight, ready to be worked on:
http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/499/xenon0rh9.jpg

So, it actually turned out that the bulb did fit, if you turned it in a special way. :) We are really talking about 0.01 mm of space there....[:/]
But..I managed.

Here is the headlight with the bulb in place:
http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/1889/xenon1ni3.jpg

Then, the part that took most time, was first sawing and the drilling the whole in the plastic that coveres the bulb.
Here is is after little of filing:
http://img379.imageshack.us/img379/4533/xenon2aw2.jpg

And here is the bulb and the plastic on it's place:
http://img379.imageshack.us/img379/7369/xenon3pl6.jpg

Then, it was back to the garage and try to install the ballast also.
Before the work:
http://img65.imageshack.us/img65/2192/xenon4yq5.jpg

I bought a tape with glue on both sides, and the store said it was very strong. So I found this space on the headlight, and tried it out, and indeed, if you put the ballast there, it would fit!

The tape is on:
http://img379.imageshack.us/img379/5548/xenon5mc2.jpg

Then, it was time to put the ballast there. First, I tried to put it upside down, but it didn't work out, cause the bellast touched some things close to the bumper/radiator. So I put it with the connectors on top, and lowered it maybe 0.5-1cm and it was stuck perfectly :)

Ballast on place:
http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/7672/xenon6zf0.jpg

So..are we ready to try this if it all works? Hell yeah we are! :)
http://img65.imageshack.us/img65/5170/xenon7pg6.jpg

So..holding my breath.... And...

Woila!! [wrench][:d]
http://img353.imageshack.us/img353/2417/xenon8fk4.jpg

Looking good ;)
http://img65.imageshack.us/img65/3029/xenon9yc6.jpg

I wanna thank you Seerlah for all the tips!! [up][race]

Seerlah
09-15-2008, 01:06 PM
No problem, man. Looking good [up]. Might want to copy your last post to that thread you made so that if any others were interested, they would know how it worked out and how it looks. And DO NOT forget to place silicone around the rubber groument. Very important. Would not want those pretty headlights building water condensation.

al3x
09-15-2008, 01:23 PM
I actually had to make the hole wider on my angel eyes light in order for the H1 HID bulb to fit properly.

You said that you had to place the bulb in a special way, so I'm guessing you wasn't able to place it the same way as a stock H1 halogen bulb?

This is how much I had to extend the hole:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y70/al3x00/Bilen%20min/IMG_3444Medium.jpg

From:
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y70/al3x00/Bilen%20min/IMG_3418Medium.jpg

AudiTumbo
09-15-2008, 01:49 PM
You said that you had to place the bulb in a special way, so I'm guessing you wasn't able to place it the same way as a stock H1 halogen bulb?

Nah, it is in place now as thr original H1 bulb. I just had to turn the bulb like 10 degrees, and that way it fitted with, like I mentioned, 0.01 mm!

Damn, that's a big whole you drilled there :)

Btw... Angel eyes...?? On an Audi? You should be ashamed [:D]

al3x
09-15-2008, 01:52 PM
Nah, it is in place now as thr original H1 bulb. I just had to turn the bulb like 10 degrees, and that way it fitted with, like I mentioned, 0.01 mm!

Damn, that's a big whole you drilled there :)

Btw... Angel eyes...?? On an Audi? You should be ashamed [:D]
Yeah, had to make it that big for the xenon bulb to fit :S

And yes I know, angel eyes = BMW. But at the time I bought them they were the only headlights for the B5 that was black. And I needed black lights.

Probably gonna replace them with the same as you have :)

AudiTumbo
09-15-2008, 01:55 PM
Probably gonna replace them with the same as you have :)

There is a dark version of mine, you know that, don't u ? :)

goody6691
09-15-2008, 01:57 PM
ok, so glad it all worked out. looks like im gonna order these as soon as i get back from h2o. get a new set of hid bulbs, an hour of work and its on. looks great.

al3x
09-15-2008, 01:58 PM
There is a dark version of mine, you know that, don't u ? :)
Yup, I know ;)

Almost bought them when they first came out. But the price is still a bit high in my mind. 3000 norwegian kroner from Germany..

AudiTumbo
09-15-2008, 02:02 PM
And DO NOT forget to place silicone around the rubber groument. Very important. Would not want those pretty headlights building water condensation.

Is that really necessary? Cause the rubber-part has several layers to keep it all without leaks:

http://i34.tinypic.com/55nj0p.jpg

AudiTumbo
09-15-2008, 02:03 PM
Yup, I know ;)

Almost bought them when they first came out. But the price is still a bit high in my mind. 3000 norwegian kroner from Germany..
I payed over 4000 Swedish crones for mine. I have always been waiting for these lights to come to the B5 fl, so when they did, I didn't care about the price. It's worth every penny :)

Seerlah
09-15-2008, 02:42 PM
Is that really necessary? Cause the rubber-part has several layers to keep it all without leaks

The design of the groument is supposed to protect against water build up in the headlights, but if I were you I would do it just in case. I did it with mine. Better safe than sorry. That groument is not gauranteed to protect from moisture entering the headlights. Figure it like a $2 insurance.

But you don't have to if you don't want to. Just remember, I tried to give you a heads up.

SykoraA4
09-16-2008, 09:00 PM
this turned out really really nice. your car is bad ass, i love the look.

a418ts
12-29-2008, 06:45 PM
I actually had to make the hole wider on my angel eyes light in order for the H1 HID bulb to fit properly.




you said that you ahve angel eyes,
by any chance how did you wire yours up?
i have aftermarket halo headlights too but for some freaking reason i haven't wired them up and i ddont know how to be honest
lol
they have like a connecter, but idk where to connect it if my head light harness is already connected to my headlights..
it's like 4 wires, 2 white, 1 red, 1 black for each halo, it's two halos for every headlight.
some one please help!
lol
[confused]

collegedude10
02-21-2009, 09:13 PM
hey i just got these same lights for my B6. Im having the same problem you did with the HID bulb not fitting. could you be a little more specific on how it was that you got it in?

Tigu
02-24-2009, 10:20 AM
you need to grind the bulb hole bigger. it needs about 15 min and you´re done.
I have the angel eye versions of them and did the same thing.
the lens is actually pretty good for that money.

dbansal
05-16-2009, 09:02 AM
need a bit of help!!

I ordered the part4euro s5 style headlights for my b5 a4. However, it came with this 8 pin Din connector. I have no idea where to start. I have a 2001 A4. I can figure out how to get the HID and high beam to fit in and completely avoiding their wiring. No idea how to properly wire this. Any suggestions are appreciated!

Thanks!

dbansal
05-16-2009, 09:03 AM
btw tumbo, the connector on your headlight looks totally different then what came on mine.

dbansal
05-16-2009, 03:30 PM
any help guys?

DaveS4
06-20-2009, 01:53 PM
How do you make the LED's work? Does it have anything to do with the small 3-pin wire? I just got these lights and the LED's don't seem to work and I don't see anything to plug the 3-pin wire in to.

Alpha12
03-08-2010, 06:05 PM
Where did you order your headlights and HID kit so that they had the after face lift rectangular connector? All I can find are the ones with the stupid circular connector and i really dont want to have to rewire them

gablks4
06-29-2011, 10:13 PM
Can anyone else confirm that you can fit the H1 HID kit bulbs through the factory H1 halogen hole? I am thinking about getting these as my stock HID's are too dim....I don't want to get these if I can't fit an H1 HID kit into the housing without having to shave a bigger for the H1 HID bulb.