PDA

View Full Version : tip shiftkit?



arorem
09-12-2008, 08:08 AM
My search didnt yeild much, is there any company out there that makes a affordable shift kit for a tiptronic, or is that something that a chip will take care of by upping the line pressures or something? I would like it to be able to shift faster than what it does. I was thinking of putting in a 5 speed, but my funds wont allow it at the moment. Thanks in advance.

Seerlah
09-12-2008, 08:23 AM
I would suggest to just go with a GIAC tip chip. There are many people whom feel that it does not make a difference, but there are others whom have stronger cases on how it shifts quicker and smoother. If you can not afford a manual swap at the moment, but would like to have the gears shift more quickly and steadily, I would suggest the GIAC tip chip. At $350, it seems worth it.

AudiRacerS4
09-12-2008, 09:48 AM
tip chip is a waste dont buy it...if you want to shift faster look into the IPT transmission kits. I have it and love it, but if money is a problem just upgrade your valve body and it will shift faster and smoother

karmad
09-12-2008, 10:28 AM
tip chip is a waste dont buy it...if you want to shift faster look into the IPT transmission kits. I have it and love it, but if money is a problem just upgrade your valve body and it will shift faster and s
moother

Hey did u upgrade ur valve body and how much difference are we talking?

and is IPT better than level ten

Naudi_Mat
09-12-2008, 12:47 PM
Hey did u upgrade ur valve body and how much difference are we talking?

and is IPT better than level ten

Also interesed in this

arorem
09-12-2008, 03:23 PM
this does sound very interesting...

A4 Effort
09-12-2008, 03:43 PM
If you don't have the funds for a manual, then you certainly won't have the funds for an IPT kit. If you don't plan on laying down a lot of power in the future, then imo, the IPT kit, valve body upgrade, or level ten tranny for that matter, is a waste. If you want a band-aid on your shifting problems until you can afford a manual, then just get a tip-chip.

I like my tip-chip and once i get my supercharger installed, i'm sure i will love it even more.

ShawFM
09-12-2008, 06:09 PM
tip chip is a waste dont buy it...if you want to shift faster look into the IPT transmission kits. I have it and love it, but if money is a problem just upgrade your valve body and it will shift faster and smoother

2nd on the tip chip.
I have the L 10 valve body and it made a huge difference in the speed of the shifts. Yes the valve bodies cost more than the tip chip but they are well worth the money. As opposed to a waste of money.

20A4Audi1.8t01
09-12-2008, 06:45 PM
curious about this too!

biketsai
09-12-2008, 07:01 PM
How mmuch was the valve body and install difficulty? Does it also allow for more hP?

speedydragon
09-12-2008, 07:23 PM
Bump for more info. I may be joining the BT club soon :D

karmad
09-12-2008, 10:55 PM
Bump for more info. I may be joining the BT club soon :D


If i dont find a k04 i might join u

biketsai
09-12-2008, 11:00 PM
I actually did alot of research on this back a couple months ago, just a little lazy to write it. I believe the torque converter will allow you to have a higher stall speed and have allow for more TQ and I think they go for like $900 IIRC. Most people get the TC and the Valvebody at the same time.

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 06:35 AM
How mmuch was the valve body and install difficulty? Does it also allow for more hP?

The install was a little more difficult than a trans fluid & filter change.
You have to drop the pan then the valve body. Which, when you are working on your back, is heavy. Other than the 20 something torx screws, 2 connectors, and the additional trans fluid it is not difficult. It was about an 8 liter fill once the VB was dropped.
L 10 said yes the car would handle more hp. The shifts are far better than they ever where without the VB and with or without the GIAC tip chip.
As I said in a previous post (a few years ago) the tip chip will change the shift times electronically some times but mechanically the shifts are still slow. The VB mechanically makes the shifts happen faster all the time.

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 06:47 AM
I actually did alot of research on this back a couple months ago, just a little lazy to write it. I believe the torque converter will allow you to have a higher stall speed and have allow for more TQ and I think they go for like $900 IIRC. Most people get the TC and the Valvebody at the same time.

When I spoke with L10 (http://www.levelten.com/store/audi.htm) and IPT (http://www.importperformancetrans.com/volkswagonauto.shtml) they said stall speed can only be changed about 100 rpm's any more than that and the TCU will throw error code.

20A4Audi1.8t01
09-13-2008, 06:52 AM
they only do quattro trannys??

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 06:54 AM
they only do quattro trannys??

No the VB and the torque converters should be the same for fwd or Q

20A4Audi1.8t01
09-13-2008, 07:12 AM
ok good!

biketsai
09-13-2008, 07:21 AM
The install was a little more difficult than a trans fluid & filter change.
You have to drop the pan then the valve body. Which, when you are working on your back, is heavy. Other than the 20 something torx screws, 2 connectors, and the additional trans fluid it is not difficult. It was about an 8 liter fill once the VB was dropped.
L 10 said yes the car would handle more hp. The shifts are far better than they ever where without the VB and with or without the GIAC tip chip.
As I said in a previous post (a few years ago) the tip chip will change the shift times electronically some times but mechanically the shifts are still slow. The VB mechanically makes the shifts happen faster all the time.
How much was the VB? Isnt there like a core charge?
I have access to a lift and all, any est on install time?

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 10:29 AM
How much was the VB? Isnt there like a core charge?
I have access to a lift and all, any est on install time?

Core was $500
Link to L10 was in previous post, but they are about $1k IPT is $675 (http://www.importperformancetrans.com/inventory.cgi?action=description&item_id=4WwTSiFy8XPQ8DDqzYfLKODceniwkL)
Working on my back it took about 4 hours maybe a little more. From pulling into the garage to pulling out again for a test drive.
I kept the trans fluid in the freezer prior to install, it gave me a little more working time before it reached 40 C but not a whole lot more.

L10 (http://www.levelten.com/store/audi.htm)and IPT (http://www.importperformancetrans.com/volkswagonauto.shtml)

biketsai
09-13-2008, 10:31 AM
Core was $500
Link to L10 was in previous post, but they are about $1k IPT is about $800
Working on my back it took about 4 hours maybe a little more. From pulling into the garage to pulling out again for a test drive.
I kept the trans fluid in the freezer prior to install, it gave me a little more working time before it reached 40 C but not a whole lot more.

L10 (http://www.levelten.com/store/audi.htm)and IPT (http://www.importperformancetrans.com/volkswagonauto.shtml)

What do they rate the TQ at?

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 10:39 AM
What do they rate the TQ at?

They don't. But they have some that they have built for torque levels that we could only dream of achieving from a wild build up of our engines.

biketsai
09-13-2008, 10:57 AM
They don't. But they have some that they have built for torque levels that we could only dream of achieving from a wild build up of our engines.

Hmm, I might just have to do a VB install then. What do you think about the torque converter? Honestly, i really only wanna go as big as a GT2871R elim. and hopefully make somewhere around 270awhp

audinutt
09-13-2008, 11:43 AM
Has anyone tried recoding their tip transmission module to turn off the Dynamic shift programming?
I've had mine off and it made the care a pleasure to drive.
It's how audi SHOULD of shipped these cars to us.

-richard

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 11:57 AM
Has anyone tried recoding their tip transmission module to turn off the Dynamic shift programming?
I've had mine off and it made the care a pleasure to drive.
It's how audi SHOULD of shipped these cars to us.

-richard
Mine has been recoded to 00032. Which was far better then the 00022. No auto upshift until I shift, or downshift when the torque surge hits. But it does downshift when slowing or coming to a stop.

biketsai
09-13-2008, 12:18 PM
Mine has been recoded to 00032. Which was far better then the 00022. No auto upshift until I shift, or downshift when the torque surge hits. But it does downshift when slowing or coming to a stop.

DO you think having it in that mode really helps? I normally put it into tip mode and shift it myself when it gets close to 6k. I woudlnt wanna forget to shift it or have it bounce off the rev limiter at 6k would I?

biketsai
09-13-2008, 12:19 PM
Has anyone tried recoding their tip transmission module to turn off the Dynamic shift programming?
I've had mine off and it made the care a pleasure to drive.
It's how audi SHOULD of shipped these cars to us.

-richard

Driving it is funner lkike this?

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 12:34 PM
DO you think having it in that mode really helps? I normally put it into tip mode and shift it myself when it gets close to 6k. I woudlnt wanna forget to shift it or have it bounce off the rev limiter at 6k would I?

It really does help. Prior to the coding change
- 00022 coding in tip mode on the highway- hit the gas (not floored) boost spikes to about 22psi when the engine hit the torque surge at about 3500rpm's the trans would always downshift from 5th to 4th or even 3rd to reduce torque.
- 00032 coding in tip mode on the highway- hit the gas it stays in 5th even when floored it will not auto downshift. (something to think about if you rely on your car to auto downshift when in tip mode) Now the car just pulls really hard.
Oh it will bounce off the rev limiter with this mod.

biketsai
09-13-2008, 01:03 PM
It really does help. Prior to the coding change
- 00022 coding in tip mode on the highway- hit the gas (not floored) boost spikes to about 22psi when the engine hit the torque surge at about 3500rpm's the trans would always downshift from 5th to 4th or even 3rd to reduce torque.
- 00032 coding in tip mode on the highway- hit the gas it stays in 5th even when floored it will not auto downshift. (something to think about if you rely on your car to auto downshift when in tip mode) Now the car just pulls really hard.
Oh it will bounce off the rev limiter with this mod.

Ill give this a try. I normally havent had problems with it downshifting for me while being in Tip mode.

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 01:19 PM
Ill give this a try. I normally havent had problems with it downshifting for me while being in Tip mode.

It may just be the difference of how the torque comes on k04 v's the t28.
The k04 is lower and abrupt, v's t28 higher rpm's and more linear.

JaVa
09-13-2008, 02:01 PM
It really does help. Prior to the coding change
- 00022 coding in tip mode on the highway- hit the gas (not floored) boost spikes to about 22psi when the engine hit the torque surge at about 3500rpm's the trans would always downshift from 5th to 4th or even 3rd to reduce torque.
- 00032 coding in tip mode on the highway- hit the gas it stays in 5th even when floored it will not auto downshift. (something to think about if you rely on your car to auto downshift when in tip mode) Now the car just pulls really hard.
Oh it will bounce off the rev limiter with this mod.

is it any different if you just leave it in D?

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 02:05 PM
is it any different if you just leave it in D?

For the recoding - Not that I have noticed.
For the Tip Chip - Not that I have noticed.
For the L10 VB - Yes very noticible. Very fast shifts under full throttle acceleration, faster shifts at all times.

karmad
09-13-2008, 02:37 PM
For the recoding - Not that I have noticed.
For the Tip Chip - Not that I have noticed.
For the L10 VB - Yes very noticible. Very fast shifts under full throttle acceleration, faster shifts at all times.

So would just upgrading VB be worth my while or should i just do it all, i only have a k03 and am waiting for k04 but if i cant find a k04 i want to go bigger will the vb play a nice role in bigger or do i need to l10 or ipt my tranny`

ShawFM
09-13-2008, 02:55 PM
So would just upgrading VB be worth my while or should i just do it all, i only have a k03 and am waiting for k04 but if i cant find a k04 i want to go bigger will the vb play a nice role in bigger or do i need to l10 or ipt my tranny`

There are a few people that come to mind that have kept their trans stock and modded the car t28 and beyond. My original trans (while still CPO'd) died at 70k miles while still stock. I didn't want to take a chance on screwing up a virtually new trans when I added the full MTM k04 setup. If the tranny was original I may have just driven the car until I smoked the trans and then changed it. But now after having the VB I would say add the Level Ten or IPT VB. It was well worth the money spent. The VB and if you pull the trans or the engine add the torque converter will help the trans handle more power. The tip chip I was disappointed with it.

speedydragon
09-13-2008, 08:47 PM
It really does help. Prior to the coding change
- 00022 coding in tip mode on the highway- hit the gas (not floored) boost spikes to about 22psi when the engine hit the torque surge at about 3500rpm's the trans would always downshift from 5th to 4th or even 3rd to reduce torque.
- 00032 coding in tip mode on the highway- hit the gas it stays in 5th even when floored it will not auto downshift. (something to think about if you rely on your car to auto downshift when in tip mode) Now the car just pulls really hard.
Oh it will bounce off the rev limiter with this mod.

your car shouldn't be down shifting by itself in tip unless you hit the little button thingy after you've floored it.

biketsai
09-14-2008, 01:17 AM
Ill probably give IPT a call and see what all the VB will do for me. I really wanna go 30 series =]

ShawFM
09-14-2008, 04:59 AM
your car shouldn't be down shifting by itself in tip unless you hit the little button thingy after you've floored it.

It will also downshift if the TCU sees a torque level exceeded. I've thought about switching to a TCU from a different engine to see if it would allow greater torque levels but never did.