PDA

View Full Version : Boost problems. LOGS graphs and pics inside

j2da
09-06-2008, 03:04 PM
let me start by saying thanks in advance to anyone that reads any of this, i am no expert and im just trying my best to include all the info i can to help this shit get figured out. correct me in any place im wrong.

here we go, The problem is, when im WOT, towards redline i am not holding the boost i should be. because of this, it goes into soft limp mode after the pull because its not seeing enough boost. i have the GIAC chip and overall, the power comes on good, but falls on its face after about 1 second.[headbang]

No CEL, but this code shows with vag
17964/P1556 - Charge Pressure Control: Negative Deviation

From Ross-tech-
Possible Symptoms
* Reduced power output
* Limp mode
Possible Causes
* Boost Pressure too Low
* Hoses/Pipes incorrect connected, disconnected or leaking
* Charger Pressure Control defective
o VNT (variable nozzle turbo): nozzles stuck
* Solenoid Valve for Boost Pressure Control (N75) defective

i DO NOT have a boost leak, i tested it multiple times, each with no problems. i also have the ecs n75. the duty cycle seemed alright for that so i dont think thats the problem, but i will rule that out by getting a mbc and seeing if the issue goes away. but until then.

while doing the boost leak test i was looking around and found this
http://i397.photobucket.com/albums/pp59/bullzie08/wastegateactuator-1.jpg
where could this have came from?

j2da
09-06-2008, 03:09 PM
with the help of a friend, we also logged a 3rd gear pull. here are the results:

http://i397.photobucket.com/albums/pp59/bullzie08/logs.jpg

http://i397.photobucket.com/albums/pp59/bullzie08/boost.jpg
boost actually looks fairly decent in this graph but is tapering off more than it should. keep in mind the next pull it was already in limp mode for the lack of boost it saw.

http://i397.photobucket.com/albums/pp59/bullzie08/maf.jpg