PDA

View Full Version : Broken Axle Bolt URGENT HELP



matt719
07-29-2008, 07:44 PM
So I'm torquing down my new axle bolt (to the tranny) at 30ft-lbs like the DIY says and it snaps. Part of the bolt is in the tranny and the rest came out. What do I do???!?!?!

black99.5a4
07-29-2008, 07:46 PM
get an easy out and a new bolt.

audiness
07-29-2008, 08:15 PM
worst case dril out the center and use an easy out.

matt719
07-29-2008, 08:40 PM
I guess I'll have to do some more research about easy outs.


I'm wondering what to do though... the first bolt I tried to torque turned FOREVER and then stripped. It wasn't that hard to turn, but it kept turning. Thinking I just slipped with the wrench, I started the second one. Same thing, turned a long time. Finally, snap! I'm so let down. I'm doing all of the control arms and both axles and it has been taking forever but I've overcome every feat I've faced yet. Torquing down these axle bolts seemed like the icing on the cake... but I guess not.

If worse comes to worse and I decide I can't do this myself, would I be able to drive about 10 miles (carefully) with 5 bolts in the axle? The 5 bolts might not be properly torqued but I don't know what to think since the bolts are breaking.. they are either very tight or I'm doing something wrong.

It sucks because I still have to do a lot of work before I can even get the wheel on to drive somewhere.

AudiA4_20T
07-29-2008, 09:19 PM
if the 5 bolts are tight enough you could probably drive forever and never notice

hiwords1
07-29-2008, 09:31 PM
this is just a suggestion but are you sure you weren't using 30N-m? it sounds like a stupid question but most people make little mistakes like that sometimes. i personally know someone who changed his axle on his 2.8 and he had no problem with the torque setting

matt719
07-29-2008, 09:48 PM
this is just a suggestion but are you sure you weren't using 30N-m? it sounds like a stupid question but most people make little mistakes like that sometimes. i personally know someone who changed his axle on his 2.8 and he had no problem with the torque setting

That's exactly what my first thought was since all of the torques supplied for the control arms are in metric but I rechecked the DIY and it says 30 ft-lbs. I guess it's entirely possible the DIY (on Audiworld) is wrong, but I'm thinking I may have messed something up. First of all, the bolts are not OEM or OE, and seem somewhat cheap. They aren't even the triple-square ones I took off the car; they are a 6 mm allen.

Another thought of something I may have done wrong was a put the axle into the hub before I torqued them down. First I hand tightened them on the transmission (the six) and then I put the axle in the hub and tightened the large axle bolt enough to keep the it in place so I didn't have to worry about it moving around. I'm wondering if that extra force working against me torquing the bolts down had something to do with it?

After I stripped the first bolt I took my torque wrench over to a lug to check to make sure it worked; it clicked instantly. When I was putting on the axle bolts I had several extensions and I was pull it up instead of pushing it down as I normally would like to. Not sure if this had anything to do with the wrench not clicking.

I just want to pinpoint what went wrong so it doesn't happen again!

MattzWarsteiner
07-29-2008, 10:54 PM
Sorry about the breakage, M.719.

According to the book, 30 FT/LBS is correct for the 8mm axle to transmission flange bolts. As long as the extension is just a plain straight one, it should not affect the torque wrench. A universal joint or angled or dogleg extensions will.

Best way to use the things is to pull steady, slow and firm til they click. If it turns into a major nightmare with the broken bolt, you can always pull the flange and take it to a machine shop. Best to replace the seal if you pull the flange. Its easy to get at with the flange off.

Hit your local library for the professional Chilton or Haynes Import manuals for good references on the job.

Oh, yah, I would DeF get another TQW to verify yours is on spec before cranking anymore bolts down. They are cheap enough to rent from a decent autoparts.