PDA

View Full Version : Couple 1.8t GIAC & flashloader questions



pimptastic
06-28-2008, 11:11 AM
I know, I know, the title screams newb, but I searched I swear. I just picked up a used GIAC x-chip ecu. Is the Xchip offered in 93 oct only, or also 91? Also I was told this ECU has 3 programs, race, stock and Xchip, however all the searching I have done has show ecu's have 5 programs? Think this one really has 5, or can you buy one with only 3? Since there is no immobilizer to worry about, I should be able to just plug this thing in, right?

thanks, I can't wait for this thing to be chipped, a couple years back I had a 1.8t jetta wagon, chipped, lightened flywheel, IC, TIP, LIP, suspension, etc and It was alot of fun, I can't wait to get my avant up to par.

Ewok_Fetus
06-28-2008, 11:17 AM
You can have as many programs as you want on your GIAC... So it could have three, could have less, could have more... GIAC X is meant for 93 but can adapt up to 98 octane from what I have read... I have X and I love it... Haven't run anything but 93 or 92 since I got it... Still pulls strong...

Seerlah
06-28-2008, 11:48 AM
You can purchase up to 5 options. The original owner just bought those 3. You have pump (91,93), race, stock, valet, and security. I beleive you change the options via the cruise control stalk (don't quote me on that). As for installing it, you should be able to solder it onto your ecu, change your dv, change plugs and gap at .028", and drive. Also aquiring a boost gauge is recommended though.

pimptastic
06-28-2008, 12:05 PM
Thanks guys, Its a full ECU so I don't have to have anything soldered. Boost guage is on its way, and I'll pick up a new DV soon. Just curious, what change the plugs? To colder? Whats the reasoning behind that?

Seerlah
06-28-2008, 12:21 PM
You don't need to change to colder plugs, you just can't use the stock Bosch F7LTCR. NGK BKR6E seems to be the preferance of choice. While other run with NGK BKR7E which is colder. Some run the 7E in summer and 6E in winter. But really should not matter. The BKR7E is a colder plug. I myself run Bosch F6DTC which is colder and don't need gapping. If you get the NGK, make sure you change them roughly every 10k miles. The F6DTC can go to around 25k.

And if you need a dv, I have a 710n. Just pay for shipping.

speedydragon
06-28-2008, 02:09 PM
You can purchase up to 5 options. The original owner just bought those 3. You have pump (91,93), race, stock, valet, and security. I beleive you change the options via the cruise control stalk (don't quote me on that). As for installing it, you should be able to solder it onto your ecu, change your dv, change plugs and gap at .028", and drive. Also aquiring a boost gauge is recommended though.

Cruise control change is only for APR. GIAC change is through the flash loader. Search on AWE's site

audiness
06-28-2008, 02:56 PM
you need the GIAC flashloader to switch between programs.
If you already have a vag-com, you can download the flashloader from GIAC's website

Seerlah
06-28-2008, 03:16 PM
Or try and find deals (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/GIAC-Flashloader_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ33597QQihZ0 08QQitemZ180258635648QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW) when they come by.

mike-2ptzero
06-29-2008, 08:17 AM
The GIAC Xchip is good for 91-95 octane.

pimptastic
06-29-2008, 12:51 PM
The GIAC Xchip is good for 91-95 octane.


Cool thanks, so I assume its only sold one way and will adapt to the fuel going into it like a stock ECU. I use 93 so i'm ok either way anyhow.

thanks guys

Jeff

NUISANCE
07-02-2008, 12:22 AM
Also, just an FYI, you can switch programs while driving. I do it all the time.