PDA

View Full Version : Hit a speed bump, leaking oil!

Lugi20
06-25-2008, 08:16 PM
Alright, I hit a sadistically placed, ridiculously massive speed bump that was probably intended to slow down tanks circa WWII, and now I'm leaking oil... and I mean all of it.

The car is a 99' 2.8 V6 Quattro. Its tricklinking out at a relatively fast pace, the car was running and everything was fine after the speed bump, but as I was getting home the oil indicator started flashing. Looks like its coming out somewhere in front of the roll bar... where is the oil pan located on this car? I'm worried that I might have damaged the engine, but if its the oil pan I can live with that.

Anyone have shots from under the car that I could possibly look at and photoshop an arrow pointing to the damaged area? All help is greatly appreciated!

Poopie
06-25-2008, 08:17 PM
just take a look....its pretty obvious where the oil pan is.

Lugi20
06-25-2008, 08:43 PM
I'm not a car expert man, its really not obvious to me. Pretend you're explaining this to your wife.

I'd really like helpful information if anyone has some, I'm kind of in a bind thats why I turn to Audizine for help, not remarks on what I should or should not be able to recognize myself.

biketsai
06-25-2008, 08:57 PM
take off your skid plate and just look for a large pan that has many bolts around it. If it did break it, I would complain to the place that had the bump bc thats just dangerous.

JaVa
06-25-2008, 09:29 PM
if you have never gotten under your car, its not the one that is obvious!!! you have to take the skid plate off then you will see it. the other is the trans.

Oricle
06-25-2008, 10:07 PM
First option is jack it up. You'll see a big black piece of plastic covering the bottom area held in by multiple bolts?(took mine off so long ago I can't remember if they were bolts or not).