PDA

View Full Version : pulled a code for too lean....



RossA4
06-07-2008, 09:26 PM
so my car lately has not been hitting full boost pressure (10psi) its only been hitting about 5. so today i went and scanned the codes and it pulled for "car running lean" what would cause that? maf? o2 not getting the right reading? mods are 2.5 inch turbo back and k&n filter

biketsai
06-07-2008, 09:51 PM
check for a vacuum leak. Otherwise it could be the MAF

Squarrl
06-07-2008, 10:12 PM
try spraying the MAF with MAF cleaner oil from the K&N could have gotten on it giving a bad reading

RossA4
06-08-2008, 05:59 AM
cool thanks guys.

Nebone
06-08-2008, 09:21 AM
You need to pull the MAF element out and spray this metal plate inside. Probably won't help as you need a new one. Limp mode got you.

RossA4
06-08-2008, 10:48 AM
what do i spray it with?

Nebone
06-08-2008, 10:55 AM
Mass Air FLow sensor cleaner found at autozone.

RossA4
06-08-2008, 10:57 AM
cool thanks....

RossA4
06-08-2008, 11:52 AM
i cleared the codes and checked my o2 sensor.. it was loose on the down pipe so im thinking that has a little to do with it... if it was not raining id clean my maf... ill do that tomorrow

aaronamerica
06-08-2008, 01:43 PM
what is your vacuum reading at idle

RossA4
06-08-2008, 10:39 PM
vacuum at idle is -20

Nebone
06-09-2008, 12:15 PM
It will be the MAF for sure. What happens is, the sensor becomes contaminated and does not measure accuratly, thus is undermeasures. More air comes in than the computer fuels for. This is detected by the O2 sensor and you get a code. Sometimes it cannot correct to a point and it will put you in safe mode so you don't melt a piston.

RossA4
06-09-2008, 12:39 PM
hey man thanks a ton!!! where should i get a new maf from?

Nebone
06-09-2008, 01:31 PM
MJM Autohaus (www.mjmautohaus.com)