PDA

View Full Version : Rear Speaker Hook-Up Specific Question (I've read through 20+ threads already)



bigphil
06-07-2008, 11:37 AM
I'm having trouble understanding these wiring diagrams, but I think I need to spend more time with it. The rear deck setup has an amp attached to it, meaning there's a line level going back there. Is that a standard 12V supply going back there? Will I blow anything up if I try to tap an amp into that line? I can't find which fuse it connects to. Anyone know where I can find a connector to match that stock harness so I don't have to splice it? If it is as simple as it looks I'm thinking of building my own amp to run off the 12V supply, use the line in and run any speakers I choose (probably have to hack the rear deck).

I opened up a major can of worms... started with suspension now I am into the audio I don't know if my car will ever go back together [:/].

Squarrl
06-07-2008, 11:46 AM
So you are going to try and run a Home type unit in your car?

bigphil
06-07-2008, 11:53 AM
So you are going to try and run a Home type unit in your car?

No, I'm not an idiot. I don't need a 400W amp, so I figure for $50 in components and a simple schematic I can have a decent amp running. DIY audio was my other hobby before i got this damn audi lol. I might just Criagslist some old 2 channel though, I have enough on my plate.

Any idea on the fuse? theres no fuse in the stock amp, so I assume it's not a direct feed.

Burntaudi
06-07-2008, 12:09 PM
It would be dumb to try and tap into the power going to the stock amp. You need to run a wire from your battery back to the new amp. I'm not sure how powerful the stock amp is...but the factory speakers sounded better off my Alpine deck than the factory amp.

bigphil
06-07-2008, 12:22 PM
It would be dumb to try and tap into the power going to the stock amp. You need to run a wire from your battery back to the new amp. I'm not sure how powerful the stock amp is...but the factory speakers sounded better off my Alpine deck than the factory amp.


Why would it be dumb? As long as the power line coming in can handle it, it's no big deal. I think I'm just going to buy an old school 2ch and run with it.

Something like this:
http://cgi.ebay.ca/Old-School-Rockford-Fosgate-Punch-45_W0QQitemZ250256175459QQihZ015QQcategoryZ39732QQ ssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Only reason i'm considering this is because all of the connections are right there, it would be so easy. If it's one thing I hate it's running car wiring, no way I'm redoing my whole stereo harness right now.

Burntaudi
06-08-2008, 11:19 AM
Why would it be dumb? As long as the power line coming in can handle it, it's no big deal. I think I'm just going to buy an old school 2ch and run with it.

Something like this:
http://cgi.ebay.ca/Old-School-Rockford-Fosgate-Punch-45_W0QQitemZ250256175459QQihZ015QQcategoryZ39732QQ ssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Only reason i'm considering this is because all of the connections are right there, it would be so easy. If it's one thing I hate it's running car wiring, no way I'm redoing my whole stereo harness right now.
Clearly you haven't looked at the current wires. Their very thin and won't run enough juice even for a small amp. Like I already said the stock amp is a joke. It's so low powered I got better sound and volume from throwing in a Alpine deck and running deck power strait into the speakers.

It sounds like you have your mind made. I think your making a mistake though.

bigphil
06-08-2008, 05:23 PM
Clearly you haven't looked at the current wires. Their very thin and won't run enough juice even for a small amp. Like I already said the stock amp is a joke. It's so low powered I got better sound and volume from throwing in a Alpine deck and running deck power strait into the speakers.

It sounds like you have your mind made. I think your making a mistake though.

I did check it out. The wire is good enough for ~4Amps at 12volts, just under 50Watts total. The amp I'm going to run is 55Watts and I'm not going to be pushing it continuously to 4Amps. I'm just going to add a low fuse and run it like this for now. I'm not dying for decibels, if I keep popping fuses I will reconsider and run a bigger wire. As it stands right now the chip amp on that little board is rated to 45 watts believe it or not, I looked up the schematics. It's not that big of a jump. One thing I don't understand is why they dropped the gage, the wire coming from the box is twice as big and then at a connector behind the dash they reduce it, would have been good for 100Watts if they didn't do that.