PDA

View Full Version : SAFC Wiring



offroader1006
05-13-2008, 11:06 AM
i got my SAFC NEO wired in yesterday despite the tech support at Apexi telling me it wont work on a non-JDM car.

i made a diagram so i wouldnt F-up the install and figured i would share it for anyone who may do the same.

I used one of the coil signal wires for RPM, so i just set cyl # in the SAFC to 1.

I also put a toggle on the power to act as an anti-theft kill switch.

http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/a4ecu2.GIF

http://www.audizine.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=57775&cat=500

if you want to hook it up to come on when the key is turned on, the 15(ignition power) is located under the left side of the dash. Remove the knee bolster. Under the relays there is a row of downward facing nuts on a junction box, all of the wires are red except for the far left, its black with a yellow stripe. that is your ign power.

Poopie
05-13-2008, 01:23 PM
nice! are you using it for fueling?

creechsa4
05-13-2008, 02:26 PM
thanks offroader, thanks for the diagram. i may get a safc to fine tune my fuel curve.........

djwimbo
05-13-2008, 02:57 PM
Can you change the backlight so it's not blue?

offroader1006
05-14-2008, 05:21 AM
yes, i am using it on top of the PC-16. so 034's AFPR and this make it very easy.

the NEO allows a variety of colors, mine matches the red dash lights perfect.

djwimbo
05-14-2008, 08:44 AM
the NEO allows a variety of colors, mine matches the red dash lights perfect.

Lemme see, lemme see... [>_<]

gotaudi
05-14-2008, 09:29 PM
i got my SAFC NEO wired in yesterday despite the tech support at Apexi telling me it wont work on a non-JDM car.

i made a diagram so i wouldnt F-up the install and figured i would share it for anyone who may do the same.

I used one of the coil signal wires for RPM, so i just set cyl # in the SAFC to 1.

I also put a toggle on the power to act as an anti-theft kill switch.

http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/9933/a4ecu2zz0.png

if you want to hook it up to come on when the key is turned on, the 15(ignition power) is located under the left side of the dash. Remove the knee bolster. Under the relays there is a row of downward facing nuts on a junction box, all of the wires are red except for the far left, its black with a yellow stripe. that is your ign power.

very nice... How did you figure out the wiring? I have the Apexi AVC-r on my 2001 A4 and have everything hooked up but the throttle position sensor (TPS) I see you indicate pin 75 for the TPS do you know if it is the same for the 2001? I have asked many people and no one seems to know.

Poopie
05-14-2008, 09:39 PM
very nice... How did you figure out the wiring? I have the Apexi AVC-r on my 2001 A4 and have everything hooked up but the throttle position sensor (TPS) I see you indicate pin 75 for the TPS do you know if it is the same for the 2001? I have asked many people and no one seems to know.
might be different since his is pc-16 meaning its DBC.

offroader1006
05-15-2008, 11:10 AM
very nice... How did you figure out the wiring? I have the Apexi AVC-r on my 2001 A4 and have everything hooked up but the throttle position sensor (TPS) I see you indicate pin 75 for the TPS do you know if it is the same for the 2001? I have asked many people and no one seems to know.

do you know how to access the pins?

if so, back probe it and see if your voltage changes when you hit the gas.

we have two TPS outputs. one wire is the 0-5 the other is 5-0. since it has two potentiometers. it shouldnt be hard to find, you don't need to have the motor running.

and i will add pics tonight, sorry i have been busy driving the car.

Ado
05-15-2008, 11:46 PM
i have a Apexi SAFC ver2 sitting in my room and in the install they never ask you to wire in the throttle signal. wtf

offroader1006
05-16-2008, 05:39 AM
idk if the SAFCII has the throttle settings. i thought it did. but i may be wrong.

Ado
05-16-2008, 09:47 AM
my bad. i dose. i was looking at the diagram on how to hook it up on apexis website and they dont use the throttle setting. if you Google in how to install it everybody uses the gray wire for throttle.

did you hood up the knock sensor?

offroader1006
05-16-2008, 12:59 PM
no knock sensor hookup on this. i wouldnt use it to take fuel away in any case though.

heres a cellphone pic, camera batteries are dead.

http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/435/safciy6.png

its not permanently mounted yet, i havent decided exactly where to put it.

Vreihenmotor6
05-18-2008, 07:04 PM
think you could give yourself enough extra fuel to run E85?

offroader1006
05-19-2008, 10:13 AM
yeah, i can give as much as my fuel pump/injectors could handle. and then i could upgrad pump and injectors, . . .

94jedi
05-19-2008, 12:21 PM
very nice OR!!! bitterchild did the same a while back with the SAFC v.2 but I could never get him to tell me the secret lol.

offroader1006
05-19-2008, 01:22 PM
hopefully the tweaked PC-16 file will run a GT series nicely.[:D][up]

Flash
05-25-2008, 01:25 PM
That's awesome that you figured it out. I wondered for a while why no one has done this.

I have a spare Neo now that I went power fc on my rx-7 and was considering using it on my 99 2.8 30v. Do you think it would be worth it? I know that with chips for 1.8t's and other turbos they also change timing slightly in addition to fuel, but do they mess with timing on NA chips?

My thinking is that if they don't, I can lean some fuel out myself with the NEO instead of paying 200 (speed tuning) or 400 (giac etc) for a little bit of performance and 1-3 mpg gain (as others have reported).

What do you think? Does anyone know what they actually change in chips for NA Audi engines?

offroader1006
05-27-2008, 06:34 AM
if you know what you are doing, then yes, you could pull some fuel for better economy.

i am waiting until i get a wideband installed before i start leaning anything out.

djwimbo
05-27-2008, 08:58 AM
http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/435/safciy6.png


That looks about as good as it could. Considering it's a "universal" unit. I was all against it until I found out you could change the backlight. This is why my GReddy FATT is hiding in the glove box. Though I was told I could change the backlight on that too, I just hid it away anyways.

Pulling fuel for economy is what the stock ECU is for. I wouldn't suggest it, but then again. Go for it, I'll be in the market soon to buy another car, so by all means blow it up and sell it to me for dirt cheap.

EDIT: if you know what you're doing, or at least an idea of the effects, go for it. I just wouldn't recommend it. You want MPG, buy a Jetta/Golf Diesel.

Flash
05-29-2008, 11:23 PM
if you know what you are doing, then yes, you could pull some fuel for better economy.

i am waiting until i get a wideband installed before i start leaning anything out.

Yeah, I know what I'm doing. I have a NGK wideband on my RX-7 which I used with the NEO. What I don't have experience with is modern engines where people send their ECU's somewhere and have new software added.

I know that with turbo's they modify timing a bit. What I don't know is if they do anything timing with an non-turbo 2.8 chip, ie do they do anything that I can't achieve hooking up my Neo and tuning myself? Anyone know?

Not like it's a really big deal to send my ECU to speedtuning for around 200, but I hate down time and relying on someone else.

Flash
05-30-2008, 12:02 AM
Pulling fuel for economy is what the stock ECU is for. I wouldn't suggest it, but then again. Go for it, I'll be in the market soon to buy another car, so by all means blow it up and sell it to me for dirt cheap.

EDIT: if you know what you're doing, or at least an idea of the effects, go for it. I just wouldn't recommend it. You want MPG, buy a Jetta/Golf Diesel.

Admittedly, If I send my ECU to speedtuning or mess with the tune myself, I'm doing it for some performance, I just saw that others posted that they got a 1-3 mpg gain. That says to me that they achieved it with leaning out the fuel a bit as the factory tune on pretty much all cars can be fine tuned. And yes, I know what I'm doing. I've rebuilt and installed a few engines on my last 3 RX-7s, so it's highly unlikely I would sell any of my cars to you as they are all still running. That and I've refused sales to kids or immature people who I think would kill themselves at the wheel.

What I was asking for was people experienced with tuning A4's and what chip flashers are actually modifying on NA engines, not for people who obviously don't know anything. Blowing up a non-turbo car by leaning out the fuel is far more difficult than a high-power turbo car. That's assuming you actually know what detonation is. Besides as I've stated before, I have a wide-band and I've tuned turbo cars before. I asked a specific question directed to the original poster, and instead an adolescent chimes in to tell me I'm going to blow up my car?

94jedi
05-30-2008, 07:48 AM
hopefully the tweaked PC-16 file will run a GT series nicely.[:D][up]

that's exactly what bitterchild did. he ran the pc-16 file tweaked w/ a GT28R & APR mani.

offroader1006
05-30-2008, 08:24 AM
i got a P&P mani waiting for a GT to mate with[:D]

djwimbo
05-30-2008, 08:25 AM
What I was asking for was people experienced with tuning A4's and what chip flashers are actually modifying on NA engines, not for people who obviously don't know anything. Blowing up a non-turbo car by leaning out the fuel is far more difficult than a high-power turbo car. That's assuming you actually know what detonation is. Besides as I've stated before, I have a wide-band and I've tuned turbo cars before. I asked a specific question directed to the original poster, and instead an adolescent chimes in to tell me I'm going to blow up my car?

That was a bit of sarcasm, I'm sorry it came across that way.
With that said, if you're confident in what you're doing, then do it. Tuning is one of the things that I'm leaving to the professionals for now. I don't have the resources to repair whatever I fubar at this point. Whether I understand detonation, spark knock, EGT's and AFR's has nothing to do with it.

I helped tune my roommate's Vette, I still don't know what I'm doing, but that ended up being a damn nice tune after some tweaks.

as far as the N/A tweaks they'll modify the ignition curve and the fuel map. They're just limited to specific applications, and limited by the number of companies that offer them.

offroader1006
11-20-2008, 10:23 AM
update on this:

i finally had the time and correct weather to dyno tune with the SAFC.

and i couldnt figure out which sensor number to assign for our MAF's.

without knowing that, the safc doesnt know the equation our car's use for voltage-afr. so you cannot change the output voltage correctly.

finally got ahold of someone at apexi that didnt run when i told them it was on a german car, and they informed me 16 in and 16 out are the correct MAF sensor numbers.

it works like a charm now.

breada4
02-29-2012, 07:47 PM
hey do u still got the 44cc file for sale

SS92
03-01-2012, 05:19 AM
hey do u still got the 44cc file for sale

Necro Bump. This thread is 4 years old mang.

offroader1006
03-15-2012, 11:44 AM
yes i do.