PDA

View Full Version : programming transmitter key



JK35
05-03-2008, 03:41 PM
OK, WHAT do I need to do to get results with the search on AZ??? I have a transmitter key and I need to somehow program it/get it cut.
*Do you HAVE to go to the Stealership to get the key cut?

*How do you program this thing?

I tried searching for "transmitter key" "program transmitter key" "program keyless entry" + more, I keep getting ) RESULTS MATCH

If someone would point me in the right direction, I'd be forever greatful.\
thanks,
-Kyle[headbang]

revbjeff
05-03-2008, 04:00 PM
Try key fob

Stampy
05-03-2008, 04:18 PM
I believe a write up is over on Audiworld. You can get it cut for cheaper at a VW dealer

Seerlah
05-03-2008, 04:21 PM
http://audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=71439

As for getting the key cut, the stealership can do that. With the design of the key, I am not too sure if other places such as True Value can cut it for you. But is def worth a try. Save some bucks.

I remeber coming across a different write up though. Where no vag come was needed.<<<not too posotive though

Stampy
05-03-2008, 09:43 PM
Isn't it a thing where you unlock the driver door manually and like press the buttons when its in the lock? I remember I programmed my B5 like that. I forgot the exact process though

Kyle H
05-03-2008, 11:04 PM
Yes you can program it with one remote, but you have to have two keys. I only had one initially, so I bought my remote and key off ebay. Then took the key to the dealer to be cut. He asked if I wanted it programmed and I said no. Now once you have two keys follow these instructions:


1. Take your first key and insert it into the ignition. Turn it one click forward.

2. Roll down your window just in case. Step outside the car, and lock the car with the second key.

2b (optional, it might take a few times). Take key out of lock (it wouldn't program with the key in the lock for some reason)

3. With your key remote press the unlock button. The lights (my brake lights) should flash.

4. Now lock the car with the remote, and then unlock it. (it should unlock your doors).

5. Remove the key from the lock and the key from the ignition, and try it's function.



I couldn't get an uncut key, so I bought a a6 remote with a cut key ($15) and then just a blank blade ($20)
(the dealer cut it for $10 bucks), and followed these instructions to swap blades:

Swapping keyblades…

The keyblade is held in place with a small roll pin, flip out the keyblade halfway and you'll see it.
To separate the keyblade from the device, just hammer out the pin with an appropriately sized punch or nail.
After that, you should be able to pull the keyblade away from the device.
If you can remove the keyblade properly, you can figure out how to reinstall it onto a new remote on your own.
When reinstalling, just make sure the side of the keyblade with the logo “Huf” is facing the opposite side of the
panic button when flipped outward, or else the roll pin would not go in

http://www.audiforums.com/m_4743/tm.htm

That should work. [up]

Zoidbort
05-21-2008, 08:47 PM
I have 3 keys, the valet, carbon emergency, and the newer fob I bought off eBay. I programed the fob to open my doors etc but the cars immobilizer does not recognize the key fob blade and my car shuts off 2 secs after I start it. Do I have to get the stealership to reprogram it ($70) or can I use my VAG to do it? I had previously read that you need the original security code that came on the key chain when the car was 1st bought to use the VAG to reprogram it but I am the second owner and do not have that code. Any ideas or suggestions?