PDA

View Full Version : Boost gauge hot wire



Seerlah
05-01-2008, 02:45 PM
Where do you hook it up so that the light is not always on. I hooked it to where the AWE install directed and was thinking it would only turn on when I turn my light switch on. This is not the case. Am I the only one with this problem? That is just annoying. Is there a certain place I could plug into for power to have the gauge light only come on when I turn on the headlight switch? I have the 01 and I did not tap into the wires for vent switch lighting because I read threads of people having those lights short out because of doing that.

Here is where I hooked it up:

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee147/seerlah/awe.jpg

biketsai
05-01-2008, 02:47 PM
You should have tapped it into a wire from the fuse box that only comes on when your lights arre on or something

Mawhitey
05-01-2008, 03:00 PM
I am happy with mine illuminating when the car is on, as its what the dash does anyway, so it kinda matches.

Pick up from one of your centre console switches they light with the lights, its the little wire, the colour of which escapes me,( green grey rings a bell)

Seerlah
05-01-2008, 03:08 PM
I could tap into the wires that light the switch that opens and closes the vents (on the 01, those are illuminated), but I read that those lights tend to short out on people later on because of that. That is the only reason I did not tap into that wire.

And for the fuses, I was under the impression that the fuse box is just a circuit board and the fuses are the circuit breakers. Once the key is in the ignition, those are always continuous hot circuits so tapping into there would be useless. Guess I am wrong about how that works [edit: I am wrong about that]. I am about to go and read the manual and see which fuse to tap into, I just thought that was how it works. Update in couple minutes.

End thread: Thanks Biketsai, worked.

audinutt
05-01-2008, 05:10 PM
I have mine connected to the radio's illumination wire. works perfect! dims too!

-richard