PDA

View Full Version : ***Turbo assembly, compressor wheel question***



$teady$upreme
04-30-2008, 12:55 AM
My friend has the GT28RS kit from ATP, but he had bent the compressor wheel during an accident. He took the turbo out and the compressor wheel is caught on the edge of the housing. Moreover, the blades of the compressor wheel are bent. So anyhow, he took the bolts of cold side housing out and there is a nut which holds the compressor wheel. Wonder if there is specific procedure to take that nut out in order to take the compressor wheel off? And is there specific procedure to put the compressor wheel back in? ANd i read somewhere that when tighten all the bolts of the cold side housing, you have to do it like you do your wheels and better yet, have to tighten those bolts evenly, am i right?

He bought a new compressor wheel already, the exhaust side seems to be ok, everything seems straight.

Please let me know again, anything will help. Thank you very much in advance.

Oh, one my thing, for the wastegate, there are two nuts on the lever to do adjustment right? How do you know if it is properly adjusted?

dingguhlbary
04-30-2008, 01:22 AM
all i know is, turbos should be pretty precise since they spin like 132489071345 rpms. so just make sure youre doing it completely right. or just take to a place so if it breaks you can blame them.

but good luck man. sorry i cant be of any real help

$teady$upreme
04-30-2008, 03:56 AM
no problem, hopefully in the morning other guys can chime in~

317ssayzarc
04-30-2008, 04:33 AM
you need to balence it afterwards... and since it was damaged, possibly the chra was too...

k0mpresd
04-30-2008, 05:20 AM
where in the hell did he find a compressor wheel for a gt series?

i have searched high and low and have come up empty.

mike-2ptzero
04-30-2008, 06:58 AM
Really do need to send the turbo and new wheel to a turbo builder so they can put the new wheel on and have it balanced. The shop can also set the wg arm which needs to open at a set amount of pressure.

onemoremile
04-30-2008, 07:20 AM
Most shops just replace the entire CHRA. I've never heard of a shop rebuilding a GT series turbo. They are notorious for not being rebuildable.

317ssayzarc
04-30-2008, 09:26 AM
Really do need to send the turbo and new wheel to a turbo builder so they can put the new wheel on and have it balanced. The shop can also set the wg arm which needs to open at a set amount of pressure.

wg arm just gets set at 3 turns of preload, no need for someone to pay for that [up]