PDA

View Full Version : boost problem



quattroforte
04-29-2008, 11:40 AM
go to end

quattroforte
05-12-2008, 10:36 AM
I changed the turbo and I'm still not getting faster than 30mph on a hill... I'm getting probably around 4-5 psi. When I get it scanned it came up with p1338 misfire which was pointing to the cam sensor(a pin was not in the connector..I fixed it) and p4022(i think) which was for the 2nd o2. (i have a tp) Now I got the codes cleared and both of them came back. is that 4022 causing this? It seems like I should be getting more boost.

bob12312357
05-12-2008, 11:29 AM
Car is probably in limp mode and the timing is retarded more then our current President.

quattroforte
05-12-2008, 11:43 AM
Anybody?

Enclave
05-12-2008, 12:22 PM
If your still getting the code for the cam sensor isnt that a clue that you didnt fix it?

2nd o2 is only for emissions so it shouldnt be causing your problem.

quattroforte
05-13-2008, 04:34 AM
Well would that cause it to go into limp mode? And if the cel is on is it in limp mode? How do I know for shure? When I got the codes cleared it still ran the same.

quattroforte
05-14-2008, 09:25 AM
Is there any way to fix the cam sensor? Is there a way to test if they are bad? I looked at the bentley, but it just said check the voltage coming from the wires.

quattroforte
05-23-2008, 06:58 AM
Anybody?

quattroforte
06-04-2008, 08:09 AM
I changed the cam sensor--still same. I also gapped the plugs to 28 still same. Are these really this slow, or is there something else wrong?

quattroforte
06-04-2008, 09:03 AM
also I don't think I am getting more than 5psi of boost, sometimes if I am in third winding it out normally the boost will go up slowly and then come down slowly while my foot stays in the same position.

jlien08
06-04-2008, 10:05 AM
Whatever your problem is, I have the same problem. I can't figure it out for the life of me. I push the gas pedal to the floor, and I'm lucky if it doesn't die on me, and it accelerates VERY VERY VERY VERY slowly. I had replaced the gasket under the timing chain tensioner, and now it's all screwed up. I am getting the P1338 Cam sensor code. I thought maybe I moved the chain when adjusting the cam chain tensioner, but I really really don't think i moved it. I'm really confused[confused]

quattroforte
06-04-2008, 07:09 PM
I get that same code too, but mine drives fine (does not want to stall) it just drives slow up a hill.

quattroforte
06-16-2008, 07:10 AM
does anybody have any ideas? Maybe if somebody with a vagcom in the pittsburgh area would be nice enough to scan my car?

seanko04
06-16-2008, 01:35 PM
Well if your end O2 sennser is acting up maybe you should use a fouler then rest your battary and give it a shot

quattroforte
06-16-2008, 03:16 PM
I thought that someone said that wouldn't matter cause it's from the test pipe.

seanko04
06-16-2008, 05:15 PM
But if you have a CEL your ecu can go into limp mode?

quattroforte
06-17-2008, 04:29 AM
Were you asking or telling?

seanko04
06-17-2008, 01:04 PM
Were you asking or telling?

I was typing on my blackberry on the bus I hit the wrong button sorry but yeah, if he has a CEL then it can put his car in limp mode causeing the lack of boost. He should try the Fouler mod on his secondary O2 sensor and clear all his codes and unplug his battery from the car and give it another shot.

Ewok_Fetus
06-17-2008, 02:02 PM
Dude Sean... Don't know what you are talking about... Downstream o2 is just for monitoring cat... Has nothing to do with limp mode or anything...

quattroforte
06-17-2008, 06:02 PM
ok well I have the foulers just don't have em on yet, but the code for the cam sensor is still coming up(p1338) I changed it already, can't figure this out. Could a boost leak be causing this?

btw I'm only gettin like 2or 3 psi of boost all stock except strat dv.

quattroforte
07-17-2008, 07:55 AM
someone? I feel like I don't have any torque. could a boost leak or bad dv be causing this? I get the vibration noise sometimes from the dv. By the way I put in the foulers and the ce light went away by itself. is that right?

kextyn
07-17-2008, 08:03 AM
http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/17746/P1338/004920

quattroforte
07-18-2008, 10:00 AM
The ce light went off, is it supposed to go off by itself?

Seerlah
07-18-2008, 10:23 AM
You are in limp mode. To get out of it you need to reset your ECU via Vag Com. If you no longer have any CEL, that is a good thing correct? Find someone with a Vag Com, check for any codes (not all codes throw a CEL), clear any codes, and scan again to see what codes are left. Use the same link (http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/Category:Fault_Codes) posted in a prior post to see what, if any, codes you have represent. The link also has possible solutions and possible causes of the codes.

And what vibration noise are you referring to from your dv? Maybe tighten the clamps.

I just got my first CEL 2 days ago for P0420 and cleared it with that Autozone scanner (free). It has not come back for 2 days now, but I also need to do the fouler mod. But my mechanic is more than likely at his shop, not answering his phone, prepping his car for Waterfest.

quattroforte
07-18-2008, 10:32 AM
I can't get out of limp mode without a vagcom? yes, no cel is good, just wondered if they go away by themselves.
the noise I guess is dv surge(if thats the word) everything is stock on my car except for a strat hyperboost dv valve (bought used).

Seerlah
07-18-2008, 10:41 AM
You need to reset the ECU. You could post in the Regional Section under the Mid Atlantic (http://www.audizine.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=64) area to see if any with a Vag Com is willing to help you out.

[edit]I just did a search and you can reset it by pulling out the ECU or unhooking the ground cable of the battery for a couple minutes. But if you do that (unhook ground cable), you will lock your stereo and unless you have the code for it the dealer can charge you upwards to $75 for it. And unless you got the issue cleared of why you went into limp mode the first time remedied, the ECU can easily place you back there.

As far as the CEL going away by itself, if it did on yours I would assume so. I just never ran into that problem. I would clear the codes myself.

quattroforte
07-18-2008, 10:47 AM
So just the ground, no pos and for how long? I got the code for radio so that dont matter. Will it clear any stored codes?

Seerlah
07-18-2008, 10:50 AM
I am not sure it will remove any stored codes, but I believe it won't. But you can go to Autozone and use thier scanner for free to clear your codes if you still have any. Leave the negative terminal unhooked for a couple minutes (from what I read it says nothing about the pos). I would say at least 5 for good measure and 10 to be safe.

quattroforte
07-18-2008, 10:52 AM
So leave it off for 10m that will get me out of limp mode, correct?

Seerlah
07-18-2008, 10:55 AM
According to this thread, yep (http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=91224&highlight=resetting+ecu) [up]

quattroforte
07-18-2008, 10:58 AM
ok I will try it when I get home, and post the results. thanks.

quattroforte
07-20-2008, 07:25 PM
Well still pretty much the same, it seems smoother, but I think it's in my head. I'm tired of getting past by semi's on hills. still not getting anything past 5psi. ??

jlien08
07-20-2008, 07:58 PM
You should really bring your car in to a shop and have them check your timing. I'm about 80% sure that is your problem. I had the same code, same problems, felt the same no-torque driving, and the Cam shaft position sensor was not the culprit, the timing was.

quattroforte
07-21-2008, 04:18 AM
Well I guess it could have gotten off, the po of the engine said the tb and wp was changed (I can see that it was). I'll have to pull the front end off again and check it. (I should have checked it while the engine was out!!)

jlien08
07-21-2008, 09:57 AM
check the cam chain tensioner too!

quattroforte
08-11-2008, 10:06 AM
Will a code get thrown if the timing is off? Also I noticed there are 2 different timing belts, how would I know if the right one was put on?

quattroforte
03-07-2009, 09:16 PM
I just put a new K03 on and I get noise on boost, I think it might be the dentist drill noise.... it is still slow. Is it a bad turbo?
(Also timing was checked and ok.)