PDA

View Full Version : Turbo Talk!!



Seerlah
04-28-2008, 07:47 AM
From reading threads on these forums, I was lead to believe that our little 1.8 liter engines are capable of much more horse power from turbo/fuel/tune upgrades. I just went to a shop that does tuning and said that it can not be done. That to jump from 150 or 170 hp to 300-400 is unfeasable. And yes, I do search. From what I have learned is this:

GT28rs and up are considered to be the official big turbos (full and not eliminator)

For the GT28rs you will need:Exhaust manifold, Turbo, Clutch, Suspension, Custom Intake, MAF(not for 01+), Fuel Injectors (440cc/630cc), MBC/EBC, Exhaust, Mounts, FMIC, AFPR, Fuel Pump (Walbro255), and a Tune. Capable of 400chp

GT2871: Same setup as GT28rs and is capable of 400-450chp. "The .63/.64 A/R or the .82/.86 A/R. The .63 and .82 are T3 flanged, and the .64 and .86 are T25 flange. T3 flows better. With the .82 you will have more lag, but more topend power. You also will not have to swap out rods. With the .63 you will have much faster spool (20+psi before 4k), but you will have to swap out rods."-quoted from different forum

GT3071r: Rods must be replaced and 630cc injectors are used. Except now you will use a different manifold which is the tubular or log used for larger applications. "Cast log styles spool quicker but can be restictive at topend. Equal length tubular manifolds don't spool as quick but are beasts on the topend."-quoted from different forum

GT3076r: Same setup as the GT3071r

I learn that the GT3076r is the largest one want to go for a street car. Anything larger is purely a track car. Is the info I put down correct? What more is needed before you actually start to enter the territory of the engine build? What is the whp for each setup as I am convinced the shop person was wrong? Maybe it is just an Audi 1.8t thing (not bragging of these little headaches, just saying maybe they work different than other cars when it comes to tunes and can surprise the crap out of people of what they are capable of)

And so I can add this thread to my list of subscriptions, can someone explain the best t-series turbo set up for my car as she is stock (with stock internals)?

Thanks!

BONFIRE074
04-28-2008, 07:57 AM
some good info here [up]

Seerlah
04-28-2008, 08:01 AM
But other than prices, what am I missing? The shop tuner said it can not be done which got me kinda mad as if all the things I searched was a bunch of bullsh*t.

mike-2ptzero
04-28-2008, 08:07 AM
The shop person wasn't wrong(in his own mind), he just doesn't know jack about the 1.8t market. Maybe he just meant that you couldn't go from 150-170chp to 300-400chp by just having him retune your car.

I guess you were doing some reading on AF.

Seerlah
04-28-2008, 08:16 AM
I guess you were doing some reading on AF.

Yes I have. I actually came accross your name (I believe it was referring to you) to ask when I want to go BT. That is the first forum I joined when I first got my car (owned for about 4 months now)

Russell2686
04-28-2008, 08:16 AM
But other than prices, what am I missing? The shop tuner said it can not be done which got me kinda mad as if all the things I searched was a bunch of bullsh*t.

Soooo your gonna believe the guy at the shop over endless amounts of real world info on this forum?

pipe7284
04-28-2008, 08:19 AM
the best set up to go with without upgrading rods or getting into a big project is a gt2871r. get the ATP or 034 high flow mani, and supporting mods. you will be looking at around 300 whp, save for daily driver and fast enough for your satisfaction.
Like Mike said, this 1.8T have ALOT of potential. Something i underestimated until i met alot of people here. Mike, Poopie, 94jedi, Kompresd, and many more in the list. I new that a 2871 was not gonna be enough and wanted to go all out and decided to go with the gt3076r with rods, main bearings, rod bearings, piston rings replaced. there is plenty of information in this site that you can find very usefull. There is alos a thread that talks about each set up each memeber has and theyr comments on that set up.

Seerlah
04-28-2008, 08:24 AM
Soooo your gonna believe the guy at the shop over endless amounts of real world info on this forum?

Nope, as I stated I thought he was wrong and it got me kinda mad as if I did not know what I was talking about. Which I really don't as I do not know mechanics of a car, but was right with the info I told him. I think he thought he was hot sh*t because his shop deals with Porches and such.


as I am convinced the shop person was wrong

Seerlah
04-28-2008, 08:55 AM
the best set up to go with without upgrading rods or getting into a big project is a gt2871r. get the ATP or 034 high flow mani, and supporting mods. you will be looking at around 300 whp, save for daily driver and fast enough for your satisfaction.
Like Mike said, this 1.8T have ALOT of potential. Something i underestimated until i met alot of people here. Mike, Poopie, 94jedi, Kompresd, and many more in the list. I new that a 2871 was not gonna be enough and wanted to go all out and decided to go with the gt3076r with rods, main bearings, rod bearings, piston rings replaced. there is plenty of information in this site that you can find very usefull. There is alos a thread that talks about each set up each memeber has and theyr comments on that set up.


Do you know the safe psi to run with EBC/MBC before I have to worry?

pipe7284
04-28-2008, 08:57 AM
people ussually run it ~20 to ~22psi, Safe I would say ~18 psi.

Seerlah
04-28-2008, 09:01 AM
Thanks!

creechsa4
04-28-2008, 09:18 AM
i also can't applaud the 1.8t motors enough... I think the world of audi/vw blocks, long lasting & pretty stout. the 1.8t heads out of the box flow more than vw 16v ported & polished heads. so most decent size turbos you can run will be much fun! i'm saying this even though i have though i work on my audi's 24/7, keep upgradin stuff...

317ssayzarc
04-28-2008, 09:20 AM
personally i would never run more than 20psi on a .64 28rs without doing rods... you CAN break rods and make windows in your block with a 28rs on pump...

Seerlah
04-28-2008, 09:35 AM
Ok, how much boost max for the gt28rs?

AudiA4_20T
04-28-2008, 09:40 AM
Also, you dont need a different manifold for the 3071R other than a T3 or T25 flanged log manifold, same manifold as if you were to run a full 28RS or full 2871R as long as the 3071R is T25

mike-2ptzero
04-28-2008, 10:00 AM
Yes I have. I actually came accross your name (I believe it was referring to you) to ask when I want to go BT. That is the first forum I joined when I first got my car (owned for about 4 months now)

Yeah that would be me. [:D]




Also, you dont need a different manifold for the 3071R other than a T3 or T25 flanged log manifold, same manifold as if you were to run a full 28RS or full 2871R as long as the 3071R is T25


Very true, but I think for the T25 flanged GT3071r to get really good power it would need to be the one with the largest exhaust a/r other wise the housing will just be a huge flow restriction at the top end. If going GT3071r its just better to do it right the first time and go with a T3 flange setup.

Beemer832
04-28-2008, 10:08 AM
if anyone is interested, i just came upon this link..

http://www.ssautochrome.com/level.itml/icOid/1360

pretty decent prices if they are actually any good.

-josh

djwimbo
04-28-2008, 10:16 AM
if anyone is interested, i just came upon this link..

http://www.ssautochrome.com/level.itml/icOid/1360

pretty decent prices if they are actually any good.

-josh

I don't know about SSAutoChrome when it comes to the VAG stuff, but when I used to be into Twin Turbo Camaro's and such their manifolds were junk. They stole the design from another company, and sold it as their own, w/ shitty welds and poor materials.
Just an FYI. Feel free to try their stuff, but be warned.

Beemer832
04-28-2008, 10:19 AM
o well thanks for the info. i just found it just trying to see the difference between a t25 and t3 style manifolds and i saw they did Audi stuff so i took a look. I'll be steered clear of them :)

-josh

sean1.8t
04-28-2008, 02:53 PM
personally i would never run more than 20psi on a .64 28rs without doing rods... you CAN break rods and make windows in your block with a 28rs on pump...

i run my 28rs at ~21-22 psi daily on 91 octane and WMI. my car is logged and tweaked vigorously though..

and, i am at ~5000ft

mike-2ptzero
04-28-2008, 03:09 PM
i run my 28rs at ~21-22 psi daily on 91 octane and WMI. my car is logged and tweaked vigorously though..

and, i am at ~5000ft

Well that 5000 ft means the power you make is about 18% less then the same setup at sea level, so you really dont have to worry about making more power then the stock parts can handle at this point.

CO AVANT
04-29-2008, 08:05 AM
true to a certain extent Mike. Drive up to 10000ft on a 85deg summer day and you'll see how high the engine temps can get...not to mention trying to stay in the power band with BAT's. [>_<]

sean1.8t
04-29-2008, 09:04 AM
Well that 5000 ft means the power you make is about 18% less then the same setup at sea level, so you really dont have to worry about making more power then the stock parts can handle at this point.

i know. that's why i posted it [;)]

1hotA4
04-29-2008, 10:32 AM
Im running 18 psi daily on my Gt28Rs setup. Ill probably end up doing rods, bearings, and pistons by the end of the year so i can hold more boost. Anyone have suggestions where to get good parts from?
Thanks!

317ssayzarc
04-29-2008, 01:26 PM
pm me and we can discuss...

1hotA4
04-30-2008, 03:46 AM
pm me and we can discuss...

who are you talking to?

317ssayzarc
04-30-2008, 04:33 AM
you [;)]

pipe7284
04-30-2008, 06:46 AM
^^^owned

mike-2ptzero
04-30-2008, 06:54 AM
Boy that just put a mark of death to this thread.[O_O]

1hotA4
04-30-2008, 07:34 AM
Why do people talk in caps locks? That kinda makes me mad... hahah

mike-2ptzero
04-30-2008, 07:36 AM
Why do people talk in caps locks? That kinda makes me mad... hahah

Its usually because they type with 1-2 fingers so they dont know how to use the SHIFT buttons.[>_<]


well i guess it would look stupid if they typed it all in lower case letters now wouldn't it.[;)]

1hotA4
04-30-2008, 07:41 AM
Its usually because they type with 1-2 fingers so they dont know how to use the SHIFT buttons.[>_<]

well i know some peoples works require them to type in caps locks for reports and stuff like that, some of my girlfriends are that way. But Damn thats a big ass post in all caps locks. It makes it seem like he is yelling it out. And apparently there stuff isnt to good anyways...... [rolleyes]

mike-2ptzero
04-30-2008, 07:42 AM
well i know some peoples works require them to type in caps locks for reports and stuff like that, some of my girlfriends are that way. But Damn thats a big ass post in all caps locks. It makes it seem like he is yelling it out. And apparently there stuff isnt to good anyways...... [rolleyes]

Well doesn't matter anyway, its gone now.

1hotA4
04-30-2008, 07:42 AM
where the Fuck did it go? someone deleted it?

mike-2ptzero
04-30-2008, 07:45 AM
where the Fuck did it go? someone deleted it?

Yes a mod did since the person was advertising their products and they are not a advertiser on this forum. Funny thing is that I never see any of the "ebay" posts get deleted and we know those sellers aren't advertisers either.

1hotA4
04-30-2008, 07:48 AM
Oh gotcha.. that makes sense! What do you do for a living Mike your always on this thing? (If you dont mind me asking)

onemoremile
04-30-2008, 07:49 AM
Yes a mod did since the person was advertising their products and they are not a advertiser on this forum.

bingo. it seems to happen a lot...

mike-2ptzero
04-30-2008, 07:52 AM
bingo. it seems to happen a lot...

Yes, just not to the Ebay posts.[confused]


Oh gotcha.. that makes sense! What do you do for a living Mike your always on this thing? (If you dont mind me asking)

I am a stay at home dad, raising my 17 month old son. I also do something else but if I say what it will just get deleted too since I am on the "censored" list.[;)]

1hotA4
04-30-2008, 08:09 AM
Your a professional stripper? hahah

mike-2ptzero
04-30-2008, 08:17 AM
Your a professional stripper? hahah

LOL. Well I do show/sell parts, just not parts of ME[>_<]


If my car is stripped does that make me a professional stripper? [;)]

1hotA4
04-30-2008, 08:28 AM
well if your car is being stripped i want the motor! hahah That thing is a beast!

mike-2ptzero
04-30-2008, 08:53 AM
well if your car is being stripped i want the motor! hahah That thing is a beast!

Well its just being stripped of weight since I plan on aiming for 9's this year.

1hotA4
04-30-2008, 09:12 AM
holy crap....If you lived closer i could build some carbon fiber parts for you...=) i made a 4lb hood for my brothers VW golf.