PDA

View Full Version : help with d3 install



sotirakis
04-21-2008, 02:17 PM
alright guys... i've been researching for hours and am still lost. i have the metra wiring harness and i started out by connecting all of the wires with the matching wires on the d3 harness. plugged it all in and there was nothing. now i see people saying that they run separate illumination wires and ignition wires. can anyone help me out. i could use an overview of everything.

here's what i've done so far
1. connected the fronts with the white, gray/white, white/black, and gray
2. connected the rears with the green and purple rca's
3. connected the yellow power switch with the yellow battery wire
4. connected the blue antenna wire with the amplified antenna

thanks for the help

littleredwagen
04-21-2008, 02:33 PM
yes you need to find a seperate accessory wire for turn on.

eddier
04-21-2008, 03:06 PM
have you headed over to avic411.com ?

Speedymon
04-21-2008, 03:18 PM
You forgot the red wire to switched 12 volts.

sotirakis
04-21-2008, 08:33 PM
so if i run the red wire to a power source, such as the wipers, everything would work right? i tapped the illumination into the light switch.

also, which wire from the fuse is the one to tap into? i mean there are two wires per fuse. obviously one won't be protected by the fuse. is the one on the right or left the protected one?