PDA

View Full Version : One remote died



klausc
04-05-2008, 11:37 AM
Fortunately, I have a spare. I had assumed batteries, 7 years of daily use...
So I stopped by radio shack and bought 2. Silly remote still does not work. Did I loose the programming? Or did the remote just die?
This is the 2 button remote for 2001.

Thanks,
Klaus

klausc
04-05-2008, 09:14 PM
My wife would like her remote back and I only have until tomorrow to check it out. Do these things fall apart? The craftsmanship on the remote looks pretty good.
I do not suspect that the battery running down would have changed the frequency, so it should not need to be reprogrammed.

Thanks

Burntaudi
04-05-2008, 09:22 PM
You need reprogram both keys. http://www.audiworld.com/tech/misc13.shtml

NakedDave8
04-05-2008, 11:40 PM
I replaced the batteries in my remote and was confused as hell as to why it wouldn't work. Then I just put the key into the door, turned it to lock the doors and then turned it to unlock them. I put the key into the ignition and started the car and the remote worked fine after that....I dunno if you wanna give that a shot but it seemed to work for me.

klausc
04-06-2008, 08:40 AM
You need reprogram both keys. http://www.audiworld.com/tech/misc13.shtmlSimply amazing!! A simple re-program worked!
Many thanks, again.

Klaus

Bic-Ball
04-06-2008, 09:45 AM
i guess youre screwed if you only have 1 fob? :(

klausc
04-06-2008, 09:57 AM
i guess youre screwed if you only have 1 fob? :(Or you have a "valet" key to turn the ignition on.
Klaus

Bic-Ball
04-06-2008, 10:02 AM
"You will need BOTH of your "switchblade" keys"

klausc
04-06-2008, 10:16 AM
Wouldn't that mean that the remotes are always transmitting? Makes no sense to me.

As it happened, after I got the remote to work the one in the car stopped working. So I had to reprogram that one also. Probably because I hit the unlock button 2X during the first try.

Klaus

Burntaudi
04-06-2008, 01:19 PM
Simply amazing!! A simple re-program worked!
Many thanks, again.

Klaus
Glad to help.

TheReflex79
04-08-2008, 06:14 AM
So what would I have to do if I just got a '98 A4, with both remotes, and a valet key. Both remotes can be used in the ignition, same with the valet key...but both remotes are unable to open/lock the car. Any ideas?

klausc
04-08-2008, 08:27 AM
So what would I have to do if I just got a '98 A4, with both remotes, and a valet key. Both remotes can be used in the ignition, same with the valet key...but both remotes are unable to open/lock the car. Any ideas?Do what I just did. Turn the ignition on, engine off. and follow this:


http://www.audiworld.com/tech/misc13.shtml