PDA

View Full Version : removing front seats, but what about the airbags?



Eurotuned_A4
04-04-2008, 05:03 PM
Ok, i searched the forums to try and find my answer but i had no luck. I'm going to be getting some new front seats for my car, and while my A4 is already taken apart a lot on the inside im going to take the seats out as well.

Now, i know how to take the seats out...that wont be a problem. BUT, when i get my new seats what about the airbags? after i unplug my old seats for the new ones, will it be fine that way? will this make my light stay on? I coudln't find my answer, so i hope someone could help me out.

Eurotuned_A4
04-04-2008, 05:30 PM
bump, trying to get something done today

SoFresh
04-04-2008, 05:40 PM
off topic... but what do you mean your car is all taken apart? if you need any help, let me know

Eurotuned_A4
04-04-2008, 05:50 PM
door panels are all off, entire center console is apart because of when i had to send my trim out. I dont need help though. its easy stuff to remove/install....just not sure about this airbag light stuff.

SoFresh
04-04-2008, 06:47 PM
did you go with the red carbon trim?

Eurotuned_A4
04-04-2008, 07:08 PM
yeah i did. im hoping that it will be here next week right around the time the seats get here so i can finally have my a4 back. i havent driven it for over 1.5 months.

ct1.8t4me
04-04-2008, 07:56 PM
The light will stay on if you remove the seat airbags. I believe there is a resistor that you can put in place that will fool the airbag controller into thinking that everything is OK. Maybe check the resistance of your seat airbags with an ohmmeter will give you the answer.

ct1.8t4me
04-04-2008, 07:57 PM
I just did a quick search and found this: http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=193526&highlight=seat+airbag+resistor

A4_2.8tuner
04-04-2008, 08:04 PM
sorry to get OT, but what seats did ya end up going with Robert?

Eurotuned_A4
04-04-2008, 08:22 PM
Thanks ct1.8t4me, none of that came up under what i searched. i guess that makes sense sicne i didnt know to look under resistor or anything. i just searched under seat install.

i ended up getting some corbeau trs in black microsuede Brian. you ever get your new seats? I was going to get some recaro speeds...but the difference in price isnt worth it imo. the fact that i would of had to spin the knobs on the recaros to adjust vs. corbeaus lever makes no sense especially when recaro is much more expensive. I went to superior auto trim and tried some seats out recaros and corbeaus. the corbeaus i liked a lot, and they wont burn my pockets too deep. i just couldnt justify the price differences....and there is no way im rdy to drop the cash for some recaro sport toplines or anything that expensive.....id rather rebuild my engine and go gt3071 or bigger. Im hoping to have them by next friday. i just know that i need some seats because every time i get in my a4 the seats feel like crap compared to my b6 s4.

Eurotuned_A4
04-04-2008, 09:10 PM
kk, now i understand i need a resistor. does anyone know what ohm i need exactly. I have read 4.7 ohm....but then have even seen 2.5, and between 3-5 ohms from searching. is there a difference for ndbw cars vs. dbw cars and what resistance i need?

Eurotuned_A4
04-04-2008, 09:21 PM
delete...double post

mike-2ptzero
04-04-2008, 11:18 PM
kk, now i understand i need a resistor. does anyone know what ohm i need exactly. I have read 4.7 ohm....but then have even seen 2.5, and between 3-5 ohms from searching. is there a difference for ndbw cars vs. dbw cars and what resistance i need?

It all depends on the year of your car. The ndbw cars seem to need 5 ohm while the dbw cars need 2.5 ohm. My car is a 2000 and I had to use 2.5 ohms to keep the air bags lights from coming on.

Eurotuned_A4
04-04-2008, 11:23 PM
ill have to take the seats out tomorrow and get some 5 ohm resistors and start the car up to see if the light comes on. can i just stick the resistor in the plug like the in the link that ct1.8t4me posted above, or do i need to cut some wires and do it that way?

mike-2ptzero
04-04-2008, 11:40 PM
just loop it in the ends of the plug

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
04-04-2008, 11:49 PM
please take lots of pics rob i would like to see the final product

Eurotuned_A4
04-05-2008, 11:38 AM
well radio shack by my house doesnt have any 5 ohm, or 2.5 ohm resistors so im just going to order some. But im finding stuff like 15 Ohm, 1/2W 5% Carbon Film Resistor and other items where its not 1/2W, but 1W. which am i looking for, or does it even matter? i know i need 5 ohm, but not sure what if the number corresponding to W(which im assuming is watt) matters.

edit...btw mike i was searching audiworld and found what you did. you said "For the 5 ohm resistor you can find one that is close to 5 ohm or buy a pack of 10 ohm's and put 2 of them together (parallel) by just putting them right next to each other and twisting the wires at each end together. Do that for each front seat." this somehow brings it to 5ohm?

A4_2.8tuner
04-05-2008, 04:00 PM
yeah i got the new seats. Corbea LG1 in black microsuede with black harnesses. i LOVE them. got a good deal too with the sponsorship =]

Eurotuned_A4
04-05-2008, 04:32 PM
yeah i was looking at thsoe seats as well as the cr1......i just dont like the high wear patches that are on the side of them. for some reason, it reminds me of like patches on pants...lol. maybe im really picky, but if they made those seats without those high wear patches i would get them.

mike-2ptzero
04-05-2008, 05:15 PM
well radio shack by my house doesnt have any 5 ohm, or 2.5 ohm resistors so im just going to order some. But im finding stuff like 15 Ohm, 1/2W 5% Carbon Film Resistor and other items where its not 1/2W, but 1W. which am i looking for, or does it even matter? i know i need 5 ohm, but not sure what if the number corresponding to W(which im assuming is watt) matters.

edit...btw mike i was searching audiworld and found what you did. you said "For the 5 ohm resistor you can find one that is close to 5 ohm or buy a pack of 10 ohm's and put 2 of them together (parallel) by just putting them right next to each other and twisting the wires at each end together. Do that for each front seat." this somehow brings it to 5ohm?

Correct. If you put 2 resistors in parrellel the resistance drops by the avg of the 2 since there is 2 paths now.

So if all you can find is 10 omh 1w resistors, you just put 2 of them together to get 5omh and if you need 2.5 you just put 4 of them together.

Eurotuned_A4
04-05-2008, 08:28 PM
so what if i got 10 ohm 1/2w and not 10ohm 1w.......is this a problem? i thought i saw on audiworld that someone used 1/2w

mike-2ptzero
04-06-2008, 08:07 AM
so what if i got 10 ohm 1/2w and not 10ohm 1w.......is this a problem? i thought i saw on audiworld that someone used 1/2w

You can try that.

F16HTON
04-06-2008, 08:17 AM
so what if i got 10 ohm 1/2w and not 10ohm 1w.......is this a problem? i thought i saw on audiworld that someone used 1/2w

1 watt ressitors will be fine, that is just the power rating of the resistor. since 1 watt is greater than 1/2 watt you will have no issues.

Eurotuned_A4
04-06-2008, 10:28 AM
haha alright. i figured i would be fine. just every time i mess with electrical stuff i feel like im going to short something or fry something. thanks guys.

A4Shizzle
04-10-2008, 07:41 PM
You'll probably have to clear your codes after you install it. I fixed my seat connection a few weeks ago and it never went out until I cleared them today.

Tiluleshpingen
04-10-2008, 10:07 PM
Thanks ct1.8t4me, none of that came up under what i searched. i guess that makes sense sicne i didnt know to look under resistor or anything. i just searched under seat install.

i ended up getting some corbeau trs in black microsuede Brian. you ever get your new seats? I was going to get some recaro speeds...but the difference in price isnt worth it imo. the fact that i would of had to spin the knobs on the recaros to adjust vs. corbeaus lever makes no sense especially when recaro is much more expensive. I went to superior auto trim and tried some seats out recaros and corbeaus. the corbeaus i liked a lot, and they wont burn my pockets too deep. i just couldnt justify the price differences....and there is no way im rdy to drop the cash for some recaro sport toplines or anything that expensive.....id rather rebuild my engine and go gt3071 or bigger. Im hoping to have them by next friday. i just know that i need some seats because every time i get in my a4 the seats feel like crap compared to my b6 s4.

am getting Corbeau's also do need the railings or wuts the deal?

mike-2ptzero
04-11-2008, 06:15 AM
You'll probably have to clear your codes after you install it. I fixed my seat connection a few weeks ago and it never went out until I cleared them today.

Yes, but only if you turn the key on before installing the resistors or if the resistance isn't correct.

Eurotuned_A4
04-11-2008, 08:52 AM
am getting Corbeau's also do need the railings or wuts the deal?

you mean the sliders and brackets? yeah you will need them. the bolts that came with mine were too short though. i had to run to home depot for ones that were 1/4" longer.

A4_2.8tuner
04-11-2008, 09:28 AM
you mean the sliders and brackets? yeah you will need them. the bolts that came with mine were too short though. i had to run to home depot for ones that were 1/4" longer.

hah thats funny, i had to do the exact same thing with mine!

Eurotuned_A4
04-11-2008, 10:05 AM
lol damn. looks like ill need to let corbeau know what the deal is then. the just need to extend their bracket out a little more when they manufacture them, or provide longer bolts.

Tiluleshpingen
04-11-2008, 10:52 AM
you mean the sliders and brackets? yeah you will need them. the bolts that came with mine were too short though. i had to run to home depot for ones that were 1/4" longer.

thank you for the info and sorry if i thread jacked

Russell2686
04-22-2008, 04:47 PM
ok so my cars airbag connector has 4 holes and 3 wires going to it....in this pic the connector shows only 2 holes. Should i put the resistor in the 2 holes closest to each other? The 3 wires go to pins 1 2 and 3 i think.

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b79/mlab601/CAR-ShoulderHarnessSafetyBar-Sta-7.jpg

Eurotuned_A4
04-22-2008, 05:20 PM
i have no clue. mine only had 2 holes like the picture above

Russell2686
04-22-2008, 06:09 PM
i have no clue. mine only had 2 holes like the picture above

hmm weird

mike-2ptzero
04-22-2008, 07:07 PM
ok so my cars airbag connector has 4 holes and 3 wires going to it....in this pic the connector shows only 2 holes. Should i put the resistor in the 2 holes closest to each other? The 3 wires go to pins 1 2 and 3 i think.

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b79/mlab601/CAR-ShoulderHarnessSafetyBar-Sta-7.jpg

Sure you are looking at the right plug, because there are 2 plugs under the stock seats.

If it is the right plug, the 2 air bag wires should be the same color.

Russell2686
04-22-2008, 07:30 PM
Sure you are looking at the right plug, because there are 2 plugs under the stock seats.

If it is the right plug, the 2 air bag wires should be the same color.

well on the passenger seat i had 2 plugs, one for the heated seats and the other being the air bag.

driver side i had 3 plugs: airbag, heat and seatbelt. So im pretty sure i had the right plug but it has 3 wires going to it. hmm

Ill have to take a picture tomorrow.

Eurotuned_A4
04-22-2008, 10:27 PM
it should be yellow/purple just liek the one in the picture. all the ones i found while searching were that way anyways.

Russell2686
04-23-2008, 03:20 PM
ok this is what i have:

seat bottom
http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f106/Russell2686/CIMG0973.jpg
2 connectors
http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f106/Russell2686/CIMG0979.jpg

airbag connector
http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f106/Russell2686/CIMG0980.jpg
http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f106/Russell2686/CIMG0981.jpg

Eurotuned_A4
04-23-2008, 03:32 PM
thats wierd. i havent seen that when i was searching. I would think its the side with the 2 wires though. try that and see if it removes the airbag light once you clear it

Russell2686
04-23-2008, 03:36 PM
yeah thats what i was thinking today to try the 2 next to each other. ill give that a try as soon as i clear the code thanks

Eurotuned_A4
04-23-2008, 03:38 PM
once im back home ill look at the colors of my wires. they should be the same as your anyways..for the airbag that is.

Russell2686
04-23-2008, 04:24 PM
alright cool that would be great